We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Ranked #334 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

5 mins from the train. Very nice, very clean air conditioned room with fridge, and microwave. Top class breakfast. Price reasonable too. Will definitely use again and would recommend. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JQWallrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observations
We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    474
    196
    97
    134
See reviews for
143
478
172
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I like this hotel - 5 min walk from paddington, very close to other stations. Hotel is super clean, great breakfast. The stuff is very friendly. Free decent Internet. I'll continue to come to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observations
We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As I found out, because they have an unsecured website, my card details were compromised and I was the victim of credit card fraud.

About 2 weeks after I stayed, thieves maxed out my company credit card.

Having only used the card on the the likes of Amazon and John Lewis previously, the hotel's website stood out as the weak link in the chain Oh... and the fact that their website is unsecured.

Gross negligence on their part.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheOtherJamesBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Shaftesbury Metropolis for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused.
It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on dm@shaftesburymetropolitan.com as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
02077237723
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are small - not unusual for London - but well maintained and clean. The ones below stairs tend to be claustrophobic for me. Memo to management: when the white towels are tending to brown it is time to get rid of them and get a new set. All in all, its ok for the price; excellent wifi experience, very pleasant and helpful staff and altogether a good value.

Room Tip: Avoid a room below ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAS4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
Our bedrooms are much bigger than average London room with all the amenities. However, please do let us know about your future stay & we will try to upgrade your room to higher category, which are much bigger in size.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gutpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Staff was excellent, responding to any need or query in a very kind and proactive way. Hotel located in a very central area, close to tube sand train station, in a beautiful street. The wifi was free and worked very well. We received an upgrade in the room, which made our stay very comfortable and an overall very good value for money.

Room Tip: Club rooms are somewhat more comfortable than standard rooms. Make sure to select whether you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your wonderful review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stays with us. Thank you for your positive comments about the Hotel.
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here with my colleagues from work. Reception was nice and check in was easy. However rooms were rather disastrous...

Despite all paying the same price, the 5 rooms were all different sizes, the smallest was a ridiculous size, literally a foot either side of the bed. See pictures. The air conditioning was not working in one of the rooms upon arrival, and another one of my colleagues requested a room change due to a strong damp smell.

My room was a family room, spacious, but unfortunately also had a damp smell. It was downstairs on basement level, out of both windows you could see the railings and entrance to the hotel above. There was some sort of generator outside which was whirling constantly - very noisy and irritating.

The bed was comfortable, though pillows were big and chunky. I would have had a nice sleep in my double bed, however I could hear scratching and scurrying noises above my head and in the corners of the ceiling - it sounded very much like RATS! Because of this I changed into the single bed and slept as close to the wall as possible.

A noisy, smelly, and scary room for the night I'm afraid, and no better for my colleagues.

Don't let the modern interior entice you into this masked hotel!

Spend your money elsewhere. This hotel doesn't deserve London prices.

Room Tip: Don't go in the basement on the ground floor unless you want the noise of a generator all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauralovesulots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Shaftesbury Metropolis for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. Our rooms are indeed different in sizes as they are different categories. Your room was upgraded to club triple and it is more than 25 sq. meter which big enough to keep 3 guests.
Please accept my apologise that we unable to upgrade your all colleague’s as we were fully booked and were given exactly what they were booked for.
I am very sad to hear that you will not visiting us in future however, if you wish then please contact us directly and we will be more than happy to accommodate your needs

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Best things about this place that it is in central location and very good sleep friendly bed but other than that nothing much to write home about.. very costly comparing to other nearby hotels. But the front desk people are very helpful ..Only walking distance from

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovaitravelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff.
Our bedrooms are much bigger than average London room with all the amenities. However, please do let us know about your future stay & we will try to upgrade your room to higher category, which are much bigger in size.

We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#194 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
The Darlington Hyde Park
#203 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#397 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Property: Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#239 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing