We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyde Park Economy Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyde Park Economy Apartments
Ranked #959 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is in a great location and when walking down the street to collect the keys, it looks very impressive. The accomodation on the inside is less than impressive. We had a studio apartment for 2 nights. We were in number 11 and were on the 3rd floor at the front of the building.

The windows have no secondary glazing so you can hear the traffic noise, people shouting and everything else that maybe going on outside the window! The walls are paper thin so we could hear the TV from the people in the rooms around us along with the rumble of peoples voices whilst they were talking. The people above us sounded like they were moving the furniture around all night so we could hear the scraping of furniture on the laminate floors. All in all we didn't sleep very well and were glad to get home to get some rest!

There is no lift so being on the 3rd floor meant a trek up 6 flights of stairs to our appartment carrying all of our bags. The room was clean but felt cramped. The sheets did not fit the bed properly and the double bed was actually made up of 2 single divan bases which didn't quite fit together properly.

The toaster looked like a death trap and none of the electrical equipment had been PAT tested! The TV didn't work properly and there was no light bulb in the side light

The wifi was ok if you were the only person on it and it would drop out frequently. The security certificates had also run out which meant that some of our devices would not connect to the wi-fi.

The room we were booked in was badged as normally being £400 for the period we wanted to stay, if we had paid full price we would have been asking for our money back!

So great location, in walking distance of Bayswater tube and just across the road from Hyde park but if you want to sleep I suggest you go somewhere else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geckolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    59
    73
    56
    86
See reviews for
83
98
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

When I showed up to the street where the apartment was, I was floored. It's a gorgeous area right next to the park with lots of things to do just around the corner. But once I had to lug my 2 heavy suitcases up 4 floors (no elevator, just long staircases) I was a little less thrilled.

I have a double studio, which consists of everything I need (kitchenette, bed, table and chairs and a (tiny) bathroom). But the room is really hot, which made sleeping uncomfortable. Also, my biggest complaint about this place - the walls are PAPER thin. I was kept up all night by a girl with a hacking cough next door. And you can pretty much hear every conversation going on in the surrounding rooms. There is also a faint moldy smell throughout the place that I can't quite place.

The room itself is also just grim looking - they definitely didn't try to make the place seem like home.

I'm loving this area, but I would definitely not stay in this apartment building ever again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank KiraAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I booked for a one night stay at the Hyde Park Economy Apartments last minute. It looked decent and was a reasonable price. Upon arrival at the given address we were confused to be at what seemed to be a block of flats. After asking passers by and in another hotel we eventually figured out that you had to check in at the reception which was in a building at the other end of the street. Whilst checking in, the nice lady behind reception informed us that we had been 'upgraded' to the huge ''deluxe'' suite. We soon found out that it was far from deluxe. The entrance and the stairway were quite impressive but to say the room was disappointing is an understatement. As we walked in we were hit with the odour of dodgy drainage which lingered thoughout our stay. The balcony door didnt shut properly. The walls were paper thin which we found out at 9am when the cleaners stood outside our room having a good old gossip for about 2 hours. Shower drain was blocked causing the basin to flood after just 2minutes of running water. Fridge door didnt shut. Grubby balcony. Just grim! My advice is to spend the extra money and stay in somewhere abit more pleasant!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

There is super market, restaurant, gift shop, station and bus station around the hotel. And room is commodious, but toilet is tight. There is no shampoo, only 2 soaps. The room is hot though I didn't anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank S I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mty
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great place for a trip with friends, we stayed in the basement, which was clean and very neat. It was a nice stay. The location is great since it's less than 5 min from the tube station.***** Front desk in another address...not very far away

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ella_esc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Absolutely disgusting, ok so it's basic I wasn't expecting Buckingham palace however the room was filthy. The room looked like it hadn't had a good clean for a long time, I had someone else's ball of hair stuck to my bed socks, there was so much mould in the bathroom including the taps and what made me nearly throw up was there was no plug hole and you could see the thick build up of mould. The water didn't come out of the shower head as it was thick with black mould, have they heard of bleach? The bed was comfortable however when I woke up in the morning the sheets had detached from the mattress and there were huge bodily fluid stains all over the mattress. I would not recommend staying here, you feel like you are staying in a bed sit and the pictures are so mis leading.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandar seri begawan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the apartment for 3 days. Lovely apartment with bedrooms upstairs, while the kitchen and toilet sharing same floor at downstairs.
The apartment area is very close by to Queensway tube station and also walking distance to bus stop and the big bus city tour (its in front of the Thistle Hotel). Its cheaper if you buy the big bus city tour ticket online than buy from the counter. money exchange, cafe and groceries stores are very close by the apartment. We were more than happy.

The little downside was our cabbie did not stop at the registration apartment (no 55), but straight send us to the apartment (no 13). Secondly the dryer machine at the basement was not working properly as i have to waited for almost an hour to dry up our clothes.. The rest was very good!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank khails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Berjaya Eden Park London Hotel
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#519 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
MStay 39 Studios
#615 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Troy Hotel
#588 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Economy Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Economy Apartments

Property: Hyde Park Economy Apartments
Address: 11-13 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #959 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Economy Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyde Park Economy Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Economy Apartments Hotel London
Hyde Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing