We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and an inexpensive hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Ranked #40 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and an inexpensive hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Located a few blocks away from the V&A Museum, the Natural History Museum, the Science Museum, the Hyde Park and the South Kensingston Underground Station, this hostel provides a very nice atmosphere.
One of the great surprises I got once I arrived was the comfortable bed. And after a good night sleep, nothing is better than a free breakfast.
If you want to sleep in London for less than 25 Sterling per night, then this is a great option. Just be aware that you'll be sharing the bedroom.

Room Tip: Climbing all the way to the third floor is quite an accomplishment, so if you can't (or don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocecena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    152
    52
    15
    9
See reviews for
8
42
99
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I visited London the beginning of this month and I stayed in the Astor Hyde Park with a friend of mine for a week...Given I've never stayed at a hostel before we felt safer getting a private room (double bed) with ensuite washroom. They had a room for us to store our luggage before we had to check in which was nice, the rooms were well kept, someone came to clean them everyday. Breakfast was served everyday at certain hours which included toast with butter, nutella, jams, cereal, milk etc. Kitchens and lounge area were all kept clean. You can put your food in one bag and label it to leave in the fridge. Staff was very friendly, helped with any questions you had. Best thing about this hostel was the location. In a beautiful posh area of London, less than 10 minute walk from 2 tube stops, lots of great places to see around the area itself. The price was well worth what we got, it's no 5 star hotel but then again who stays in their room when they are in London...I would recommend this to any traveler on a budget but looking for a comfortable safe place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, friendly staff, amazing building, ensuite dorms, comfy beds, good kitchen, free wifi/movies/printing, great atmosphere and a better than average hostel breakfast. Should be rated much higher. Backpackers, stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great location - only a 15 minute walk from 2 tube stations. Near Hyde Park, Kensington gardens, the Science, Natural History and Victoria & Alberta museums as well as a large variety of shops, restaurants and pubs.

The hostel itself was large and spacious with 2 common rooms, which allowed us to choose between partying or having a quieter movie night. The kitchen was a good size and kept clean except for guests leaving their dishes unwashed, but that isn't the fault of the hostel. The floors were a bit sticky for a couple days after one particularly big party, but other than that I had no complaints about the cleanliness - the rooms and bathrooms were kept clean.

The 'lockers' under the beds were just metal cage drawers that could be locked in place which only works well for larger items, but secure safes were available in the office for very low price to keep really valuable items.

The hostel had free wifi, but we didn't get a signal in our room on the bottom floor - we had to go to the common rooms for internet. Breakfast was free and unlike some other hostels I've stayed at, they let you take as much as you want. The bed was comfortable although the room was fairly cold at times.

Altogether had a great stay; it's a great hostel to meet people and just hang out.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I moved to this hostel after experiencing problems in another London hostel. This one was wonderful. Clean and tidy, comfortable and best of all friendly and helpful staff - all for a very reasonable price indeed! It's in a great location near Imperial College, Royal Albert Hall and also Hyde park and Knitsbridge. I fully reccomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

I was incredibly nervous to stay here after reading the recent reviews, however, we had no problem! It was clean, not noisy and a great location to stay in. The kitchen downstairs was one of the best I had seen in a hostel, big and easy. Although the people working there left their dishes in the sink for ages, so unless how they expected the guests to clean and put theirs away. But there was Internet and a nice area downstairs for Breakfast and upstairs to chill out. We did get lucky having a room of 4 to ourselves so unsure what the other rooms are like because the place is huge. Definitely use a safe in the reception as we had friends who had something stolen from there rooms. They think it was the cleaners? There are a lot of people that work at the hostel, the service could be faster and the price could have been better even though we were there during the Olympics. Very steep. But overall, it was great!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semill11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

-Positives: The price for the location is the single greatest draw. Near Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, two Tube stations, and a variety of local restaurants and pubs. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean, considering it's a youth hostel. The staff was friendly.
-Neutrals: There was a breakfast available but I did not partake.
-Negatives: The internet in the common room (either the free WiFi or the pay-as-you-go consoles) was spotty at best. The pay-as-you-go is probably some sort of moneymaking scam, as I was able to access a total of three sites in 30 minutes, which cost me one pound. The only reason I used the pay-as-you-go was because I didn't want to talk the five flights of stairs up to my room, but after that I just kept my laptop with me and went to local (free) WiFi hotspots. Also, since it's a hostel expect lots of coming and going at all hours, with little regard for those already asleep. Additionally, not a lot of money is spent on "extras," or what really should be considered essentials. Example: of two washers and two dryers, one of each was working, for a total cost of three pounds. I went around the corner and got mine done for ten pounds total in less time than it would have taken to wait for the one set of machines. Finally, the locker/safe situation was not on par with the level of warning they provided regarding "safety." Had I been able to rent a lock (they were out, and my own standard-sized lock would not have fit) the locker under my bed would not have been able to be locked, as it was missing a key piece of equipment. The safes were also usually all booked up, which makes sense, unless you realize they have far too few safes for the number of guests.
-Overall: If you're looking for a cheap place to crash while exploring London, this is not a bad bet. Just realize you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tklempan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#233 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#341 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Astor Queensway Hostel
#100 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Pimlico
Astor Victoria Hostel
Astor Victoria Hostel
#54 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
The Walrus Hostel
#38 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hyde Park Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hyde Park Hostel

Property: Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Address: 191 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 837 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Still boasting its stunning original features, the newest addition to the Astor Family is a Victorian Town House on a quiet tree-lined boulevard. Helping Astor Hostels to win an Award for 3rd best hostel group in the World, this Hyde Park hotel is a striking building in one of London’s prettiest neighbourhoods. The best budget accommodation in walking distance of Kensington Gardens and The Serpentine.Next to the Royal Albert Hall, close to the New Kensington Palace Museum, Princess Diana Memorial and minutes walk from the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums. The hostel has a vibrant atmosphere, where you can relax peacefully upstairs or party hard downstairs! With 24-hour reception, free safes available, free Wi-Fi and a host of other amenities your stay is guaranteed to be great. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Astor Hyde Park Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hyde Park Hotel London
Astor Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing