We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value: chic decor, great space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcove Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alcove Apartments
Ranked #758 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing value: chic decor, great space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We are 9 time travelers to UK, previously hotel guests. This apartment was obviously decorated by someone with designer aspirations. Hidden washer and refrigerator, very sophisticated faucets at sinks, elegant tile--no Laura Ashley looks or chintz anywhere. For the money, the square feet available compared to hotel was a delightful surprise.
Noise minimal, a plane or two but not a big deal. We stayed during the heat wave and found it wonderfully cool, powerful fans provided helped. Very light with skylights and windows, no basement feeling. So much space! bedrooms widely separated so ideal for couples. Great washer, clothes dried quickly on rack with fan blowing. Wet room a puzzle, the shower rains over everything in the room and does not completely drain. Ask for extra towel to mop up floor. Be sure you understand the push button system for stove--maybe a laminated card?

If you are new to apartment rental note that there is NO phone. Great wifi so we booked taxis and restaurants that way. Nearby Hotel Lily has no pay phone, one near train station-40 p gets most calls. Very close to bus and tube. consider day pass at minimum and week pass if more than 3 days. We have left a copy of TIME OUT and really liked the Royal China restaurant for dim sum and dinner (recommended on check in).

Do write for ceremony of the keys at Tower of London, only 30 people a night for free tickets, in US need INternational reply coupon--very hard to get from local post office, check expiration dates, google International Reply Coupon for sad tales of problems getting them in US. Ceremony was awesome and we were treated as honored guests.
PS. People we talked to in England could not imagine a dryer like the ones we think are standard in US. The cottage with combined dryer and washer was not effective.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watersprite91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

The apartment was in a great location and was very nicely renovated. Quite spacious and had everything needed to make our stay comfortable. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and were able to dump our bags a bit earlier than check in time so that we could start seeing the sights. We enjoy walking and walked to Kensington Palace Oxford Street, Harrods and much more. But for those who want to train it West Brompton is just around the corner and an extra big block away is Earls Court, so it offers lots of alternatives. Supermarket, dining and other shops and food stalls all close by. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank widkyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

We sayed in the beautifully decorated Alcove basement apartment in June for five days. It had everything we could have needed from wine glasses to bath towels to cooking utensils, and was just around the corner from everything we needed: Grocery store, Dining, and the Underground. We were on a direct line to all the London main attactions, and easily negotiated the trains to and from Heathrow. The owners made sure we had everything we needed. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a special and elegant place that still felt like home!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We stayed in the basement apartment for 2 nights. We could not fault the apartment, which is clean and well furnished and has been cleverly developed to give excellent living space, kitchen/diner, 2 good bedrooms and bathroom and en suite wet room. We were greeted by the owner's son who showed us around the apartment and gave advice on available shops within walking distance. 5 minute walk to tube. We went to a concert at the Albert Hall and it was only a few stops away. Area is pleasant. We would definitely stay here again when visiting London, fantastic value when compared to hotels where you would get comparable standards and so much more space! We got a brilliant deal through Late Rooms which made our stay even better!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 71capilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We stayed in this apartment for a week in September, the apartment was very well presented, the owners also run a hotel Wimbledon and unlike some apartments we have stayed in before you could tell that this apartment was professionally run. The apartment was perfectly clean when we arrived, the furnishings looked new and well maintained, check in was very convenient and it was nice to know that if we had any problems we could call the hotel for support, having said that we didn’t need anything beyond the initial check in. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought into this apartment, the decoration is minimal and contemporary, large flat-screen Sony TV in lounge and bedroom, cables are hidden in the wall, LED lights throughout kept the kids entertained, glass roof in the kitchen, white leather sofa and dark wood floors all helped to make the apartment feel luxurious. There is plenty of light despite the fact that it is lower ground floor. The owners were very friendly and helpful, location was good, quiet side street but only 5 minutes walk to the nearest underground station and shops. Only thing I would have added would have been a drying machine, had to dry clothes on a rack next to the radiator. We paid £140 per night, considering that we would have needed at least two rooms at a hotel and in this part of London you would be paying around £100 per night for a decent room we felt that with the added kitchen and living room this was reasonable value for money. I Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this as an ideal base from which to explore London for family groups or couples who want a bit more space.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfrank66
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

This apparment is located in beautiful city of London in a rather quiet subsurb.
Pro's: New design and flooring, nice paintings, a lot of lights to play with, rather good beds, close to the metros, enough shops and stores close, freindly renters
Cons: rather sterile look and feel, cupware was insufficient and you could hear the planes fly by from 07:00 onwards rather good heating didnt work well. The appartment is located in the basement of the building though there is enough light in the kitchen.
The price/quality is rather poor, it's a big bang of bucks for a rather normal appartment without much 'soul'

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfrank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#451 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,165 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#626 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Boka Hotel
Boka Hotel
#734 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcove Apartments

Property: Alcove Apartments
Address: 21 Ongar Road, London SW6 1RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #758 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Number of rooms: 124

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing