We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, but very good value for money”
Review of Sir John Cass Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sir John Cass Hall
Ranked #376 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very basic, but very good value for money”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

There aren't many places near central London that offer cheap accommodation that you wouldn't run a mile from, but Sir John Cass Hall is one of them. I stayed here for a week during the summer. The room accommodation was basic but comfortable and breakfast offered each morning was tasty and there was a good variety on offer. Broadband is offered in each room which is included in the price. The only thing I would say is really not good enough is the shower facilities. There aren't enough showers on each floor and the layout of the shower room isn't comfortable, there isn't much privacy and the shower head is at such an odd angle, it makes showering uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Marketing Officer at Sir John Cass Hall, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Elaine,

Thank you for your review and comments!

I am glad to read you found us a good value for your money! I apologize for the shower problem - I know it was an issue.

Since your stay in 2012 we have refurbished Sir John Cass Hall and one of the issues we have addressed was the shower/toilet one. We have now updated the number of available facilities and decreased the sharing ratio. Each toilet and each shower is an individual cell with access from the corridor which ensures great privacy and comfort. The showers are now bigger, with modern equipment and plenty of changing space.

With the refurbishment, in addition, we now have new shared spaces such as a TV room and a study area. We had a designer put a fresh new touch on the building and, I think, the whole feel of the building has changed for the better.
We still serve breakfast in the morning during the summer and it's as lovely as you can remember!

If you are ever again in need of accommodation in London, please don't overlook us. Even if now we have a brand new building we are still true to our charitable aim and try to offer affordable accommodation. Please feel free to get in touch and I'm sure we can offer you a discount as a former resident!

Thank you,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    0
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

i wouldn't recommend staying at sir john Cass halls, the rooms are very cramped, felt claustrophobic all the time, living in box rooms, constant noise from inside and outside, unable to sleep.
shared kitchen(you will leave with no pots and pans as they will be stolen)
1 shower shared between about 15 people which barely works
I had a very inspiring view of Tesco loading bay
they should knock this place down, its inhumane to live in these conditions.

this place was a massive contributor to having a major anxiety problem which lead me to leave university overall.

i would however recommend claredale house!, close to shoreditch/city and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Marketing Officer at Sir John Cass Hall, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hi Jim,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to read you didn't enjoyed Sir John Cass Hall. From your review I am guessing you were a student during the academic year and not a resident in our summer vacation bed & breakfast programme.

Unfortunately we couldn't knock the place down but since your stay here we have invested £3 million in a refurbishment.
The rooms are the same size but are now furnished in a more practical and modern way to ensure full value of the available space. Everything else is compensated by great shared available spaces such as the common room, the lounge, the study area and the TV room.
We have installed new doors and windows to reduce noise to a minimum.
The kitchens are still shared but now we provide lockers and have CCTV installed in order to prevent any theft. During the summer we usually provide all the pots & pans for residents, therefore theft is not a problem.
We have upgraded the number of showers and toilets available for residents. The sharing ratio has decreased considerably and the new layout provides great comfort and privacy.

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with us. We have addressed all the previous issues we had with our building with the complete refurbishment.

Thank you for recommending our sister halls Claredale House. It's good to hear our company has not disappointed you completely.

Thank you again,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

These are used as University halls of residence during the academic year and are let out to tourists over the summer. The location is a little out of central London but this is reflected in the price, rooms are a little dated and small but over all cosy and more than adequate. The bathroom facilities are shared and though kept clean during the week they leave somewhat to be desired over the weekends and bank holidays when the regular cleaners are off work.

The main problems with these halls is the noise. The building itself is poorly sound proofed and as such the noise really travels and in a place filled with people in their late teens and early twenties this can be a major problem, especially at about 4am many nights of the week. The office staff though generally courteous do little if anything to address these problems and verge on being completely uninterested.

If you do decide to stay here you may endure many a sleepless night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AirMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna B, Marketing Officer at Sir John Cass Hall, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Air Monkey,

Thank you for your review! I am glad to read you found our rooms cosy!

Since your stay in here we have refurbished the building and we took all the problems you mentioned into account.

We still function as a student hall during the academic year and a bed&breakfast in the summer.
The price is still affordable and reflected in the location within the London context.

We now have a permanent team of cleaning staff who service all the communal areas everyday, including week-ends and bank holidays. We also have an on-site maintenance person at all times, therefore any problem gets fixed quickly.

The showers and toilets are still shared but we have changed the layout and build in a few more clusters in order to decrease the sharing ratio. Each shower and toilet is an individual room with access from the corridor and all are fitted with new and modern equipment.

We know noise was a big problem before, therefore during the refurbishment we took special measurements to fix it. All the doors are now soundproof and we have replaced the windows to double-glazed ones to ensure a better protection from the outside.

During the summer we have a team of temporary staff comprised mainly of our previous students. I am sorry if they weren't very helpful in your case. The team changes each summer and we try our best to train them as good as possible but it's a big personality roulette as well.
I have to stay employing employing our students during the summer has its benefits as they are familiar with the area and the building and can provide great insight information for any traveller.

If you are ever in need of accommodation during the summer in London please give us a second chance. You will be amazed by all the changes we have made with the refurbishment. Please get in touch and I am sure we can offer you a discount as a former summer resident.

Thank you,

Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#586 of 1,069 in London
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Town Hall Hotel
#178 of 1,069 in London
1,363 reviews
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#603 of 1,069 in London
204 reviews
East End / East London
The Old Ship Inn
The Old Ship Inn
#143 of 558 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir John Cass Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir John Cass Hall

Property: Sir John Cass Hall
Address: 150 Well Street, London E9 7LQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir John Cass Hall is a stunning newly refurbished building based in Hackney, close to Victoria Park. The vibrant area of London Fields is just around the corner including the famous Broadway Market. The brilliant clubs and bars in Hoxton, Brick Lane and Dalston are nearby too as well as a local Cinema. There are loads of shops and other amenities. Cass is in an ideal location for easy access to the City of London and the Docklands. The bustling West End with its theatres, restaurants and museums is only 4.5Km (2.75 Miles) away and there is plenty of public transport available day and night to take you to wherever you need to get to. All of our 132 rooms have single beds and have their own mini-fridge and washbasin. You will also be able to receive wireless internet in your room which is included in the rent. You will find showers and toilets close to your room. We provide you with bed linen, towels and soap. A continental breakfast (cheese, ham, scrambled eggs, croissants, fresh fruit, porridge, etc.) Is included in the price but we also have well-equipped kitchens for you to cook for yourselves in the evenings if you wish to do so.There is a comfortable and welcoming TV room with Sky TV and a common room. Both have wireless internet.There is an on-site coin-operated launderette. We have a limited amount of car-parking spaces available on a first come first serve basis.During office hours the building is staffed by Maureen , along with dedicated Summer Vacation staff. Maintenance duties are carried out by Vernon.Staff are available in the evening and weekends and are there for you to check-in and help you with any emergencies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing