We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad...you can do it!”
Review of Hostel 63

Hostel 63
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel 63
Ranked #612 of 948 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 7 September 2009

If you clean your room, if you take your sheets to a wash and dry, if you don't need to use the kitchen...nothing is impossible! there is a free internet point, the position is very good, in 5 minutes you are at the station of the metro.
You know, if you go to a London hostel you only to sleep...this hostel is cheep and you need nothing else.
I'm sorry for my english! enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieBloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

This was the worst hostel I went... broken showers with cold water, bedbugs infestation ( really really itching... ), dirty sofas in the common room... Even the photographies that you can see in the website it's a fake, the common room is not like the photos ( look the plants of the "common room" carefuly... it's photoshop! :S). Definitly, I will never come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caracono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hostel for one night in June 09. I booked this hostel based on location as we needed to be at a close by location early morning for a departing tour,

When we arrived at the hostel they informed us that we would actually be staying at another location nearby. This was not helpful as it was now further for us to walk in the morning. I am aware that some hostels and hotels own nearby accommodation that they use when they are fully booked - however this hostel had not stated this on its website or anywhere else.

The nearby location we had to stay at was not marked as Hostel 63 and was dark, grimy and just horribly feeling. The room had a dirty feel, all the floorboards in our room and the rooms next door squeaked whenever you walked on them, the floorboards on the stairs were uneven and also squeaked noisily. There was one toilet and one shower for the building. The TV room, kitchen, internet access etc was only available in the main building; a good 10 minutes walk away so was no use to us.

I would not recommend this hostel to anyone (unless you can guarantee you are in the main building - tho not sure if this is any better?) as I felt we were ripped off staying in a little dirty room away from the location we had actually booked for. The only good thing is that we were only staying one night and were out of there at 6.30am the next morning!

Would never stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I spent 2 nights there, on a solo trip. I'm 35, male. Pretty "accomodating" and not pretentious at all.
I was initially at a nearby little hotel with my partner, and having two more days to spend alone in London, just stepped in as it was very convenient.
Thumbs UP:
Price: cheap, 12pounds/nite.
Location: very good, 5 min walking distance to Portobello Mkt, Tube (Circle and Central lines).
Many shops, restaurants (excellent Morocco one).
Quiet street, no night noises.
24hrs open.
Free computer with internet access (a very old and slugghish one, but somewhat working).
Thumbs DOWN:
5 levels, no lift.
Owfully kept: dirty bathrooms and common room.
Very, very poor facilities: 3 shared toilets + 2 showers for the Whole dorms/building (I guess around 30/50 guest when full?), and almost none working: water pressure/tank so low, there was no water at all for showers, as per my experience, 3 times out of 4 tries. Always people lined up outside the bathroom (to discoveer we couldn't use it...).
No breakfast (despite advertised at their website).
Common kitchen very dirty, I would not cook/keep anything there.
No credit cards accepted, cash only, advanced payment + not possible to see the room before payment.
___
I have visited many hostels in Europe and US, it's my preferred choice since I was interrailing as a teen. Even knowing in big cities (London first) one cannot expect great hostels, this one's by far the worst for me. In particular, I pretend to find at least a working bathroom!
___
I would never suggest this place, unless really the last possibility, and for no more than one or two nights stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank proTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Albius_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Grobdron
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 948 in London
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel 63? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel 63

Address: 63 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #612 of 948 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing