We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drug den. Dive. Awful.”
Review of Hootananny

Hootananny
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hootananny
Ranked #415 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 20 April 2014

There is a man named Ricky from Ireland staying there who was keeping people up all night, talking loudly to people at 5am when they try to sleep. He tried to pressure me and another woman to snort coke with him and his delinquent friends. Funny that, as I saw a sign stating "quiet at 11" and "zero tolerance"? Also the living room is disgusting, battered settees covered in crumbs, everything stinks of old food, tobacco and whatever drug that man has taken. Get your act together.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

It was cheap and that was why I booked it. The location is rather off the beaten track and I ended up spending more on the tube to get to historic places. I found Hootananny Hostel to be overall dingy and unkempt. It seemed some people were just living there and did not really run into any other travelers. They did have free wifi and I was able to use the kitchen. If you really have very little money and just need to get out of the rain then I would consider this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickars c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I think this could be enough to avoid this place.When my friend and I have reported to the office the presence of bed bugs in our room(my friend has woke up full of red points all over right leg and both arms) they just cleaned the room with a vacuum and throwed away some quilts ,which is not enough to be sure they gone.not clean at all, no reception which means you need to arrive before 8pm (20.00).Much better hostels for the same price or even less.Loudly due to the pub downstairs.

Room Tip: I think room number one is larger than others.Female dorm near to kitchen so noisy and overheated, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Hootananny has great atmosphere and very friendly staff. I stayed in the 6-bed female only dorm. Fun paintings and colours on the walls. Beds reasonably comfortable, bedding quite tatty. A lot of noise from live gig in the pub underneath. Showers and toilets old and kind of run down, but clean. Common kitchen OK. Breakfast and lockers included in the price. It feels safe. Quite close to the tube. I think that young people especially will find it fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilome19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Not sure why this spot is getting such spotty reviews. I actually liked it a lot. Cheap, safe, great atmosphere. If you're going for a romantic getaway, this isn't the spot. But if you're traveling solo or with a friend, it's great. Right above a live music venue, so it's a bit noisey, but good for shows.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

this was the first time we have been here and we went for just one night. we were going to the brixton o2 which was only down the road. when we arrived the place had quite a few people doing the same. all of them were very nice and we all got on well. we then continued to go to the event with these people. after the event we all met back in the living room and continued to chat. the staff were all very nice including the manager who made us feel at home. Every person we came in contact with was very nice even the people staying for a long duration. The staff were even very flexable with when we needed to leave and said stay as long into the next day as we need

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anza_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Guys it is up to you!!!If you don't want to ruin your journey in London,which is so amazing,then avoid hootananny hostel.It is an old,dirty and noisy place.You cannot sleep until 3 in the morning because of the music playing downstairs.The rooms are quite good,but you don't have enough space anyway,because there aren't any wardrobe even if you are a longtermer.The toilet is old and dirty.The shower are too hot or cold.The most time they are cold.The breakfast in the morning is so poor that you cannot call it breakfast.I used to stay there for 3 month,as longtermer,and it was a nightmare!!!!!!the cleaner is never get in my room.Seriously,once a week I had to carry outside the rubbish by myself.We pay to get a room clean ,too.Sure the price is cheap,but it can't be otherwise.IT is really a bad place.When I got there the first days,they even get me wet linen.If you arrive after 8pm is a problem.,because the office is closed and in the bar downstairs often they are too busy to make your check in.I know people who stayed all night out because they got there at midnight and even if they rang the doorbell nobody answer to them!!!!!Of course they did not have their money back for that night.!!!You have just a little locker to put your valuables but I know several people who told me somebody open their locker(it is close just with a little key)and stole everything.It is never happen to me,but be aware!!!!About the zone ,you know,is not the ideal place to stay it's pretty dangerous,especially if you come back late in the night.It is full of weirdos!!!!I just don't want that other people have a bad experience like mine.!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Canary Heights
#310 of 923 in London
83 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Safestay
#19 of 923 in London
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hootananny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hootananny

Address: 95 Effra Road, London SW2 1DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 923 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £17 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hootananny 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hootananny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing