We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best accommodations in London”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular views from the upper deck dining area; seats up to 12.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the upper deck dining area; seats up to 12.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: Not a bad view to wake up to, when you open the electric curtains Tower Bridge Houseboat: The Harpy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Spectacular views from the upper deck dining area; seats up to 12.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: Not a bad view to wake up to, when you open the electric curtains
Tower Bridge Houseboat: The Harpy
The Harpy in the Legoland model of London.
Night view from the deck. Classy neighbours: a luxury yacht moored between The Harpy & Tower Bridge
The Harpy Houseboat; 30m in front of New Concordia Wharf (1880; Listed Grade II) and China Wharf
Tower Bridge Houseboat: The Harpy from above.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: The Harpy from above at night.
The security gate entrance to The Harpy, with wifi controlled lock so you get your own code.
The brow bridge entrance. At high tide it's level; at low tide it has a bit of a slope.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: the brow bridge.
The brow bridge lands onto a wide area of the landside lower deck.
The original 1904 vent cowls, cast iron and teak hull access covers and fire buckets, all restored.
The entrance hall with eclectic art, oak hall cabinet with African fabric cover, and Turkish kilims
The oak stairs from the entrance hall. Captain Pugwash's boat and African fabric on the hall cabinet
Tower Bridge Houseboat: Time for a drink.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: The living room at night.
Tower Bridge Houseboat: massive sofa
The living area with Tower Bridge seen through the living room french doors onto the upper deck
The living area with Tower Bridge view from the sofa through the french doors. Large HD TV & SKY Q
The living area with Tower Bridge view from the sofa through the french doors onto the upper deck.
Victorian carved wood Prince of Wales feathers and a painting of toes.
Model of a London version of a Venetian water taxi on a Heals 1920's bureau with small video library
Tower Bridge Houseboat: The outside dining table seats eight on the upper deck.
Sunset behind Tower Bridge from the upper deck
Difficult to get bored of the view of Tower Bridge at night.
More upper deck furniture.
Rear upper deck
Big HD TV and model of an American Corsair 1940's fighter above the stairs.
The dining area and study desk from the stairs
Dinner for 8 on a 1920's Heals oak dining table designed for Winston Churchill's house: Chartwell.
Dining table and sideboard at night
Heals oak desk, blue leather chair & 1930's Savoy Bar chair. Two sewing machine operators chairs
Dinner for 8 on a 1920's Heals oak dining table designed for Winston Churchill's house: Chartwell.
Kitchen with six 1944 American Navy 'aluminum' chairs and a Conran circular beech kitchen table
60ft view from the kitchen to the dining/study/ living area.
All mod cons; Neff gas oven and hob, stainless steel extractor hood, zinc worktop, copper sink
Everything including the copper kitchen sink.
Neff gas hob and oven.
American Samsung fridge with chilled filtered water, and ice maker.
The kitchen table, 1950's Hygena kitchen unit and a sparkly tree.
Enamel cabin sign
The (1920's Heals four poster) bed with the best view in London?
The Heals 1920's oak four poster bed belonged to Daisy Fellowes, a socialite in the roaring twenties
Breakfast in bed
Cabin 1 ensuite Master bathroom. 8 blue fluffy towels, two bathmats and a yellow duck.
Captain Pugwash's cast iron tub bath in the ensuite bathroom to Cabin 1.
Cabin 1 ensuite Master bathroom. 8 blue fluffy towels, two bathmats and a yellow duck.
Sofa (can be used as a sofa bed) in Cabin 1.
Private lower deck terrace off Master Cabin 1.
Enamel cabin sign
Cabin 2: 5ft  Queen size double bed, bedside tables, touch dimmable bedside lights, three kilims
Cabin 2, with 5ft  Queen size double bed, wardrobe, bookcase small side cabinet and a river view
Enamel cabin sign
Cabin 3; 4ft 6in double bed, bedside tables, touch dimmable bedside lights, kilims and river view
Cabin 3. oak wardrobe and mirrored dressing table and leather stool.
Enamel cabin sign
Cabin 4; with twin bed option, oak desk, oak and leather stool, ships cabinet and Sony TV
Cain 4; a collection of old maps of the area; the earliest being 1720.
Cabin 4; Shown with a 5ft, Queen size double bed double but with the option of being twin bedded
Cabin 4. Stows detailed map of the area in 1740.
Tower Bridge Houseboat:  Bathroom door.
Enamel cabin sign
Bathroom for Cabins 2, 3 and 4.
A big basin in the bathroom for Cabins 2, 3 and 4.
A big yellow duck in the Bathroom for Cabins 2, 3 and 4.
Enamel cabin sign
Guest loo and basin for Cabins 2, 3 & 4.
Front lower riverside deck
The Harpy (on the far right), during the Queen's Diamond Jubilee Regatta in 2012.
The Queen's Diamond Jubillee Party on board.
Fireworks on Tower Bridge
You see all sorts of interesting things from the decks of The Harpy.
Watch the old and new world go by on the river.
China Wharf (now listed) from The Harpy. Nice bit of Post Modernism; always good on a sunny morning.
St Saviours Dock and footbridge to Butlers Wharf, seen from The Harpy at high tide.
Giancarlo and Sherman, our brilliant maintenance team, re-sealing the teak external dining furniture
The original (and for this photo at least, highly polished) ship's makers plate; 1904.
HMS Harpy in c. 1910 moored moored in front of Customs House, Lower Thames Street.
King George V on The Harpy in 1920
HMS Harpy in c. 1930 moored moored in front of Customs House, Lower Thames Street.
HMS Harpy in c. 1950, moored in front of Customs House, Lower Thames Street.
The original 1904 mooring of HMS Harpy by Customs House, removed to her current mooring in 1981
The Harpy towed away for her 2005 re-fit. She had another makeover and refresh in 2016/17.
Banksy woz 'ere.
Christmas lights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TKelly121
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodations in London ”
Reviewed 16 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Harpy is amazing. It was more impressive than we could have imagined. The view of the Tower Bridge is unmatched and the location is perfect for exploring the city. Top to bottom everything was great. The ship is spotless and makes you feel right at home. Everything you could need is provided and Andrew’s tour and hand book will guide you through all the ins and outs of your experience while aboard. Don’t even get me started about the beds. They are the most comfortable things in England. We missed almost all our morning activities as the beds wouldn’t let us leave. If there was anything better than sitting on the deck having a cup of tea looking at the bridge while David Bowie plays throughout the boat from the Sonos system I don’t know what it is. We will be back. Can’t thank you enough Andrew. Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2018
Thanks again Tom; you win the Best Reviewer award!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue m
emsworth hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A very very special place”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The Harpy is permanently moored at China Wharf on the Thames. From the moment we met the owner Andrew, we knew this was going to be a very special weekend on a very special boat. Andrew was so welcoming and took time to give us a tour of the boat explaining everything we might need to know on the way. We were provided with a lovely welcome pack and left to celebrate my 70th birthday with my family. All our expectations were exceeded, we had champagne on the deck, and the views of Tower Bridge, especially at night, are absolutely stunning. The four double cabins are very comfortable, however, ours was just fantastic. Electric operated curtains open up to a direct view of the Thames and The Tower of London. Saturday morning we were lucky enough to see Tower Bridge open to salute the Lord Mayor in the Queens Barge Gloriana arrive at the Naval establshment opposite us! The boat is so beautifully well equipped I cannot think of one thing that should be added to enhance a stay, it is comfortable, wonderful tv and hi fi system, the beds and linen top quality and obviously loved by its owners and now us. My son is planning a stay next year and all my friends are rushing to their computers to see if they too can enjoy, what for me was just the perfect weekend. Thank you so much Andrew, if I could give this review 6 stars I most certainly would. Sue

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Hi Sue,
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. You and your family were 6-star guests! Julie and I are delighted you all such a good time on board to celebrate your birthday, and look forward to seeing one or more of you again!
With very best wishes, A&J.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BattleDan
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

OMG!!! We booked The Harpy to celebrate a 70th birthday and this place made it a truly special weekend. Everything is catered for at such a high standard. How can you stay in something so peaceful yet have one of the most bustling backdrops. Thank you Andrew. We’re definitely coming back with friends next time and can’t wait!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Thank you for such a great review. Delighted you had such a good time.
Until the next time!
Best regards,
Andrew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna Mar...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 2 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Excellent & quirky, great views & stunning accomadation also very peaceful & quiet considering your moored up at Butlers wharf,would definitely recommend the Harpy houseboat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Hi Lorna,
Thank you so much for such a great review; much appreciated.
Best regards,
Andrew & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola B
1 review
“It's memorable, beautiful and unusual, a houseboat in a terrific London location”
Reviewed 28 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This "houseboat" is fixed on the south side of the River Thames, east of Tower Bridge, so it is very well placed for trips along the South Bank, to Tate Modern, Festival Hall, Golden Hind, Unicorn Theatre, Brunel Museum etc. The views are terrific, glamorous with lights reflecting on the water at night, by day one can watch river traffic, cormorants fishing, swans and ducks aplenty. The boat rises and falls with the tides, and rocks with the swell or the washes from passing craft: some people visiting us felt queasy. Accommodation is fantastic, the master bedroom with en-suite bathroom is gorgeous, the other bedrooms, while absolutely fine, are quite small. The kitchen is well equipped, the furnishing is really beautiful and quirky. We had little children with us, it was quite stressful being sure they were safe. We had to have rules about not going on deck, it would be easy enough for a child to climb the railings, or slide under, especially on the lower deck, and fall overboard if not watched.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danar70
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“That one review you never want to write.”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I've only been on Tripadvisor for about a year, but my dad much longer. He'd warned me from the start. 'Son there will be that one place you'd rate a 1 star just so other people will shy away from it, but you wont as you just couldn't'. Well the Harpy is it.

So lets paint the picture. I'm a Londoner, born and bread. Its hard to please a Londoner in London. I see it, do it, everyday, i'm based in the City of London. It never ceases to amaze me and therefore to be impressed it has to be out of this world.

Well back in May, by chance, I got to meet Andrew (the owner) on board. The fact of a 75th birthday, 40th birthday and a 50th wedding anniversary meant the need for a great place for various family and friends to meet and stay that had the flexibility for dialing in and out over a 2-3 day period. Could we make it work?

From the minute I stepped on board the thought was WOW how do I make this work. Andrew took time out of his day to show me every part of the boat, explain how things were and TBH I was sold before I got to see the master bedroom (which really does have the most impressive view in London). Going upstairs made things worse. Fully open planned, commanding views - This has to work.

Roll on to October and we are a day home reflecting on one of the best weekends away, EVER.

We were greeted on the day by Andrew, shown everything in full (inc the parking space), left the 70+ page manual that would explain everything so well you'd fail not to find even the rice cooker (should you want one) and told about the pass it on rule (see later).

By 5pm we felt like the place was home (i kid you not). First guests arriving and opening a lovely bottle we were gifted.

I could go on for hours but lets bring this back to the basics. What our guests thought over the weekend (no order). Amazing views, comfy beds, great TV, great sound system, fully equipped kitchen, space to chill, space to have fun, comfy, in town but still quiet to name but a few. Oh and amazing food (that's me not included in the package unless you want to hire me - im not a chef).

The con, its a houseboat it moves a bit. The Thames is tidal so it goes up and down (around 7m difference top to bottom) and the odd wave will make it bob a bit. None of our party felt sick at any point but its worth a thought. If you book and then moan about it, well its your own fault.

I already have family, friends and even clients asking how to book, when can we go back. A nightmare when you write this and know it will only boost people wanting to book from elsewhere.

PS - Pass it on. The family have a great thing that when you leave you pass something on to the next guest. Just think that bottle you didn't open or that thing that's in date but you don't want to carry away. Well just leave it for the next guest to enjoy rather than go to waste. We were left some beer, an amazing liqueur as well as some food in the fridge. In return we left some beer, cider, soft drink, nuts, brandy etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing