We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gordon - top notch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of York & Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
York & Albany
Ranked #624 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gordon - top notch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a two night break via voyage Privee - excellent hotel with exceptional service - check in restaurant staff stand out
Had dinner from a la carte menu - very busy in the restaurant but food and service excellent throughout -
Wine Sommelier in depth knowledge and spent some time recommending lovely wines to suit our budgets
Great vibe - very cool - must return some time soon

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedd w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    79
    54
    36
    24
See reviews for
35
151
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Highly recommend this hotel. First of all, the breakfast. The phrase "Have breakfast like a king and dinner like a pauper" springs to mind. Thankfully breakfast was included in our price but even if it's extra, you should treat yourself. Everything about it was fabulous and delicious and the surroundings (the bar/lounge) were beautiful too. We didn't eat anything in the York and Albany apart from breakfast (we hardly were hungry enough to eat any other meals anyway!) but the standard of the breakfast menu is certainly what you would expect from a first-rate eaterie.

The location of the York and Albany is also excellent. We used Camden tube station but Regents Park, the zoo and the tranquility of Primrose Hill are also on your doorstep.

The room itself was gorgeous - no tea/coffee making facilities (all the more reason to get yourself down to that amazing breakfast!) but there was sparkling and still water. Great bed linen, towels and robes. Very good shower. The cleaning lady was helpful and efficient.

Likewise for the rest of the staff who were all more than happy to help and make us feel welcome.

Most people aren't going to come to London to stay in their hotel but it's still a treat to stay somewhere like this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patandalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed here with my hubby & 5yr old son over Halloween. We had a great time, room was lovely, with really comfortable beds, very good quality bedding & furnishings with lovely fluffy bathrobes. the staff couldn't do enough to make us welcome and breakfast was delicious! I would definitely stay here again.
Hotel is located close to London zoo and a very short walk to Camden tube station.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is located close to both Regent's Park & Camden Town High Street. The hotel itself is a lovely old building. Given that the hotel is on a busy road we were surprised at how quiet it was in our bedroom. Quirky is a good way to describe it. Although we didn't have dinner, we did have a fantastic breakfast. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We'd stay here again definitely.

Room Tip: I'd suggest that being on the top floor probably means your room will a little quieter than tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForestPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is in an old building - they have kept lots of the quirky old features like the sloping door frames and old wooden floors but it has some superb modern features making it just perfect. The service is superb. We were made to feel genuinely special. You wont be disappointed by the food either. The bar is lovely to sit in and relax in the evening. Location good too. I would definitely recommend.
PS Just remembered - we didnt use them but there are DVD's you can borrow to play in your room, a little library of books and some games for the children. Thoughtful.

Room Tip: I have only stayed here this once so I dont know if this is the best room or not ! Room 8 - looks be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a special meal, for my partner's birthday at the end of a memorable trip to the UK. It lived up to our expectations. Attentive service. An attractive room. Inventive food.

Not sure how oftem Mr. Ramsay puts in an appearance here, but they're doing a great job anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runcible1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been a regular guest at The York & Albany over the years and can honestly say that the service is excellent.
The staff are so attentive, paying attention to personal details and requests.
The rooms are always exquisite and beautifully furnished and the hotel have always made a special fuss over birthdays, anniversaries as well as looking after me so wonderfully.
An absolute pleasure to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 8&9 have stunning views overlooking Regents Park. Room 4 feels like a private home with it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#436 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Thistle Euston
Thistle Euston
#250 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,948 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Camden
St Christopher's Inn Camden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York & Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York & Albany

Property: York & Albany
Address: 127 Parkway, London NW1 7PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#363 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — York & Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your York & Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York And Albany
The York & Albany Hotel London
York Albany London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing