We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again , and I told them”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
York & Albany Hotel
Ranked #667 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 12 August 2014

4 businessman for lunch on a Tuesday and the place is empty.
Reading the menu as we are cramped into the round table in the corner although there are only a couple of other tables with customers, Im thinking what am I going to eat !. Starter, ducks heart on toast is tasty but not worth £8.50 . Mains is a problem so little choice. A flat iron steak at £24 without anything is rejected by us all. 2 of us go for English lamb , but when it is served I see the look on the Hosts face - is this it ! And it's not cooked 2 x £50 , what a joke !
The desert menu is rejected by us all, and as we give verbal feedback to the staff as we leave , there is a look of disbief on their faces , yes thats right we won't be be returning again.
Mr R , how did you cover the rent on that place, but then again that's not my problem

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Pdw528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first time in this part of London and at the York and Albany the hotel is an amazing find with very polite and friendly staff! The room I stayed in was room 10 which was spacious and trendy very clean with a very cosy bed! The air con worked extremely well!! Which is a plus as most hotels blow a slightly warm air! .... The food in the bar was brilliant and very well priced... It is at a great location right on the corner of regents park... The only set back is the car parking!!! It's on street for 2 hours otherwise you need a residence permit so I would suggest using the zoos car park which is secure and discounted if you are visiting the zoo... I will be returning to the hotel very soon my new favourite place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemmah28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked the York and Albany on 22nd June for the evening of our wedding. We booked all the rooms apart from one as this had already been booked in advance..

The hotel was PERFECT, I got ready in the suite which has a separate entrance around the corner, it was big and extremely clean. The bathroom was also spotless. All our guests complimented what a gorgeous boutique hotel it was and they would all be recommending it again. All the rooms were great, no complaint of loud noise etc.

The staff were exceptional, we all had drinks when we arrived back after our wedding (at a different venue) at about 2am. They couldn’t have been more helpful!

Breakfast was also perfect, a good selection and very polite and efficient staff.

We can’t wait to stay here again! Thank you again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahG872014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for our anniversary and were upgraded to a suite - room 4 with complimentary prosecco and fruit. This was a large room with a vaulted ceiling with huge antique mahogany wardrobes and drawers. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was fitted with a big walk in shower. The room faces onto a main junction by regents parks and with no double glazing the traffic was a constant noise - this was mainly a problem when there were sirens or hellicopters ! The windows also faced onto the seating area at the front of the bar which was noisy in the afternoon but quiet when we returned later in the evening.
I would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room but otherwise we were very impressed with the quality and decor.
The hotel reception is very difficult to find as it is round the back of the bar/restaurant and not signposted. The hotel reception staff were very helpful and friendly on check in and out. Unfortunately the same cannot be said regarding the bar staff - we were ignored in the evening when we wanted to order some cocktails then service was very slow.
The breakfast was delicious however we felt that again the service could have improved hence my rating of very good not excellent

Room Tip: Room 6 was a lovely suite however if you are a light sleeper i would recommend ear plugs to help wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktleo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We received dinner b&b as a gift and decided to take up the offer of the second night at a discounted rate. We would normally stay more central when visiting london but the location was actually very nice. The real positive with this hotel is the staff. Friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food was great as well. The issue with this hotel is the actual hotel. We were allocated room 6 on the second floor when we arrived on friday and although quite pokey initially we thought it was ok. Nothing special and certainly not worth the cost but ok, until..... came back from dinner at around 10ish, the noise was horrific, a constant very loud noise that sounded like a generator. After 30 mins I went to reception who told me it was from the kitchens and would stop in half an hour when they shut down. Not ideal but I lived in hope.... nearly an hour later we had heard the fans shut down but still so noisy!! Back to reception I went and we were moved at 11.30pm to a room along the corridor. Much bigger, no noise and very comfy bed but to be honest this hotel is supposed to be shabby chic. I would say cheap b&b.... will never return.... ever....

Room Tip: If you really want to stay and are offered room 6 refuse it unless you wear ear protectors to bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likesniceh0tels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We received this overnight stay/dinner as a chistmas gift from our daughter.
Had a room on second floor which was very clean & pleasant.
But on arrival air con not working, bathroom light not working.... Minor but still!!
Location was great & plenty of things to see & do.
Dinner was disappointing.... Our Menu was totally different to the usual menu, because of the voucher we had, so limited choice was available.
Starter far too salty, main was simple but tasted fine, dessert was not great.... The presentation surprisingly not that great, was surprised by that, location of our dining table was by the toilets downstairs .... Not the best!!
Ladies loos were not good... hand dryer not working had a large roll of tissue on side which was wet from other peoples use.... Dried hands on my dress! Tap wouldn't turn off & there was an unpleasant scent in there!!! no air fresheners deffo needs facilities attendance.
We literally sat by ourselves no other diners nearby..... Dining layout not great either. Constantly hear "service" shouted as kitchen was nearby.
Not the best meal we've had by far!
Bar area upstairs was fine, nice atmosphere, lovely cocktails, staff were friendly & helpful.
Room faced side of hotel, so the bin men early sat morning at 06.30am made so much noise (smashing glass) it was ridiculous!
Best thing was the lovely breakfast served, lovely weekend weather, and nice to spend time with my hubby & take a break from the "norm" !
Overall was a nice break but not sure if we'll go back
After all the expense our daughter paid for this treat, we felt a tad disappointed but made the most of our time.
Bexley, Kent, UK

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We received an overnight stay with dinner and breakfast as a present from our daughter and what a lovely present it was . The staff were superb they were so helpful and polite, the restaurant served excellent food with excellent service it was a very busy restaurant which shows that it has a deservedly good name
Our room on the second floor was well furnished and very comfortable
A big thank you to all the staff who made it a perfect weekend stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#471 of 1,077 in London
655 reviews
Camden Enterprise Hotel
#189 of 1,077 in London
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Corner House Hotel
#747 of 1,077 in London
431 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#33 of 1,077 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York & Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York & Albany Hotel

Address: 127 Parkway, London NW1 7PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#376 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £124 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — York & Albany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your York & Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York And Albany
The York & Albany Hotel London
York Albany London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing