We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was "quite" good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Boltons
Ranked #494 of 1,064 Hotels in London
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It was "quite" good”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

3 nights and 4 days at this most convenient location 2 minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station. We took a room on the ground floor at the back of the house, which was very good and nice neutral decor. Size was reasonable, and equipped with all you would expect. There was also use of a safe, although it was loose in the wardrobe and not fitted. Flat screen TV, complimentary chocolates and 2 bottles of mineral water. Very quiet and peaceful so you get a good night's sleep.

Breakfast was included, and this was a buffet style hot and cold food. They were economical with their hot food and strangely kitchen staff would peer into the breakfast room literally every few minutes and replenish food with 1 or 2 extra pieces if anything was lacking, although choice and quantity was not great especially if you arrive later i.e. from 9am onwards. I don't think I would have paid the extra £10 per person if breakfast was not included in the room price - you probably would get a better breakfast elsewhere I would imagine.

On the second evening I told reception the temperature of the shower was tepid and not hot enough, this was never fixed throughout our stay nor any update was provided, which was disappointing. Showering was not a great experience, I got so cold, bath was so narrow and you could only have the shower head a certain angle to avoid spraying all over the bathroom as it had a very short shower screen (you know the type).

All in all fairly good value and if they fixed the shower for me, and if they reviewed breakfast it is a pretty sweet place to stay and I would consider coming here again.

Room Tip: Typical Georgian style house so attic rooms are smaller with lower ceilings. A room at the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0w_it_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    421
    184
    61
    23
See reviews for
148
353
155
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I am pretty sure that this was the smallest room I ever slep it. The ceiling was low as well.
There was no way to move in the room without hitting the bed: about 60% of the space was occupied from it. Good thing is that the bed was on wheels so that it would move away rather than hurt you. The bathroom was very small as well.
Other than that the room was clean and everything was in good shape.
The lobby was quite sad compared to the other hotels along the street.
OK for business or if you are not going to spend any "awake" time in the room. Otherwise I would not stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viclugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Viclugano, thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found the room clean and modern. Please note as we are a London hotel some rooms vary in sizes, we do have larger rooms at different rates so the next time you come do request one.
We hope to see you soon. Thanks Wasim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend
Level Contributor
309 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at THE BOLTONS Hotel for 3 nights this week.
First impression of hotel is good , staff are very friendly and helpful.
My room was furnished well and it had everything you would need however the room was very small. I could only sit behind the desk sideways. The bed was a bit shorter then one would expect. I am only 178cm and my feet were over the edge. The bed was comfortable which is important.
The bathroom was good.
I did breakfast twice and was not happy with the quality. The Scrambled eggs were very watery.

Free internet in rooms is perfect, no problems and reasonably fast.

Hotel location is perfect, 3 minutes walk to earls court tube station. Nice bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood.
I will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRIPSPJLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Hi, thank you for your comments, we are glad that you found the staff very friendly and helpful and that you felt the room was furnished well. We do have many larger rooms on request so the next time you book at BW The Boltons let me know and we will allocate a larger room for you.
We have also noted your feedback regarding the breakfast and will be making sure that it will be at a high quality.
thanks again for a great review.
Wasim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at the Boltons for an entire week (for an exhibition in Earls Court), and had a great stay. It was a very pleasant surprise, as I was expecting much less for the price. Will definitely return again, for both business and pleasure.

Upon arrival, staff was very friendly and helpful. I upgraded to a family room for a reasonable fee. The room was compact (what can you expect in central London?) was arranged functionally and comfortably, was fresh, newly decorated, and extremely clean.

I stayed in the room below reception and the lobby, so did hear the occasional footsteps from above, but all was within reason and nothing really bothered me (and I am not too heavy a sleeper...). The room was serviced everyday, and was left clean and tidy whenever I returned in the evening.

Free wireless internet was reliable, and also presented a strong advantage.

I did not have breakfast at the hotel due to time constraints, but the location is also perfect, with plenty to choose from as far as restaurants, cafes and convenience stores within walking distance. Also of course, walking distance to the Earls Court tube station.
I can’t really point a downside. Perhaps if you are looking for hotel facilities (gym, lobby, etc.) this hotel is a bit shy on common areas. But again, I wouldn’t expect it for that type of price, and it does not affect the value proposition for me.

So, nothing to complain about really – had a great stay, and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Ziv, Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass them on to the staff at BW The Boltons Hotel and they will be extremely happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.
Wasim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I stayed at the Boltons on business trip for 3 nights. The location is very convenient – 2 minutes walk from Earl’s Court tube station; plenty of cafés and restaurants around; quite street. My room was tiny but very clean and nice; free wi-fi in the room. The bed was comfortable; the breakfast was OK – nothing special. Friendly and helpful staff. I can’t fault the hotel really. Very good price: £139 with breakfast; a bargain for this location and standard.

Some bedrooms are much bigger than others; my colleague’s room was pretty big.

Room Tip: Some bedrooms are much bigger than others; my colleague’s room was pretty big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, it's always nice for us to hear such nice comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel.
Wasim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I was here on business for 2 nights, I stay away very frequently and felt the hotel deserves the review. The reception light and airy the reception staff very friendly and welcoming. FREE internet access.... bonus, no problems with accessing. My room was on the 1st floor. with air con, I had a most comfortable 2nights sleep with comfy pillows and duffets, very modern, clean and well kept. A great choice for breakfast, buffet style either full English or continental what ever takes your fancy and as much as you like. the breakfast staff very efficient. Plenty of bars, restaurants in the locality to suit budgets, and close to earls court tube. i will certainly stay there again and recommend to friends and colleagues. good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
228 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Earls Court/West Brompton/Kensington is such a mixed area for hotels, if you want to avoid the chains and some very high prices. So it took a lot of sifting through to find one I thought would fit what I wanted - a decent room for under £120 near to the exhibition centres.

I sent an email to The Boltons before my visit and they replied within 24hrs - usually a good sign of what to expect in terms of service.

There are several somewhat run-down and dated hotels in the same street as The Boltons and the hotel really does stand out as the one anyone would prefer to stay in. From the outside it is very clean and tidy with a traditional yet modern look. Once inside the reception is modern, simple but welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. Internet access was free on request, both wired and wireless and I think here was the first time I have ever been asked how many devices I wanted to connect, and was given an extra passcode so I could connect both my iPad and laptop.

My room was on the third floor and there is a lift but it is a one person and one small case only affair - I wouldn't suggest trying to get anything over hand luggage size in there - it's about the same size as a traditional telephone box! New and fully functional though. On that note, many of the hallways are pretty narrow too, so I would definately only recommend for those travelling light!

The interior is modern, bright and clean, as was my room. A little on the small side but very nicely done with a kingsize bed and lovely big deep bath in the contemporary and well finished bathroom.

My room was at the front of the property, overlooking the street which is remarkably quiet for the location, hardly any traffic atall and the windows opened so some fresh air could get in, a welcome change from many of the chains with their sealed windows!

The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the pillows delightful - I sleept very well indeed.

Breakfast was good, buffet style with everything one would expect, along with helpful staff who had no problem making me my extra strong pot of tea which I appreciated.

Overall, the Boltons is an upmarket B & B as it does not have a bar or restaurant in the evenings, but with all that Earls Court Road has to offer a few doors up the road, that works well. I would definately recommend it for business travellers who want a change from the 'could be anywhere, they all look the same' chain hotels and for anyone attending Earls Court which is pretty much on their doorstep or Olympia (Olympia 1 stop on the overground from West Brompton - a 5-10 mins walk). I was travelling alone and felt perfectly safe and secure here. Probably not so good for families or those using a wheelchair as you would definately struggle with a buggy or wheelchair in the lift and hallways, but they may well have some ground floor rooms to cater for those needs, worth enquiring.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want - I asked for a room with a bath rather than just a shower and got a fab bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#512 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#434 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#601 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#689 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Boltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Boltons

Property: Best Western The Boltons
Address: 19-21 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Formerly Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#265 Business Hotel in London
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Boltons 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Victorian charm with Modern Luxury The 4* Best Western The Bolton's Kensington is a modern oasis of peace in the conservation area of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. Fully Refurbished in 2012 to incorporate modern simplicity and functionality with Victorian charm Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington with 56 fully Air conditioned en suite bedrooms, complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout, a welcoming Restaurant serving a decadent breakfast is the place for the discerning traveller looking for great value for money. Ideally located just around the corner from Earls Court underground station, within easy reach of some of London's most prestigious shopping areas such as High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge to the many attractions of London such as the Natural History and the Science museum just off our door step making the Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington the ideal location for your visit to London. Book directly with us and start your day with a great English breakfast on the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western The Boltons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Boltons Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing