We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western The Boltons
Ranked #507 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked this hotel for one night on business as the area was where I needed to be the next morning. Some of the reviews are a bit mixed so I was a little concerned.

However, all was well. We were greeted warmly on arrival and allocated our rooms without fuss. I had a single room (which I generally dislike simply because I prefer a double bed) but space wise, the room was fine. It was compact, and it had a single bed, but the room was by no means cramped and also had a desk and chair for working at.

The bed was comfortable enough, but maybe I'll book a double next time and just suffer the extra cost.

The bathroom was clean, modern and well appointed, clearly its been refurbished in the not too distant past. Shower cubicle only, no bath, but that suits me.

The hallways can be a little noisy but I wasnt troubled by any outside street noise at all. Earplugs are a good idea though if you are a light sleeper, you can hear other doors bang closed.

A decent flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities in room completed a reasonable package. WiFi was free which is always excellent and they gave 2 passcodes for 2 devices, again, a nice touch.

Breakfast was buffet style with eggs being made to order, certainly enough of a choice but as noted on other posts, it's not pork bacon thats on offer. No real issue for me.

Overall, I'd certainly stay here again when back in the area but a double room would be better if you are staying more than a single night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Boltons
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an event at Earl's Court. The hotel was 2 minutes from the venue, which was great.

The staff on reception were very friendly. Though I did not need a great deal from them!

The hotel was clean, and the bedroom more than adequate. There was no noise or light from the outside - we stayed on the first floor. The bed was also very comfortable, and there was plenty of room.

I usually dislike most hotel bathrooms. However this one was a good size, with a decent shower and bath, with plenty of towels....

I would definitely book again if I was in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lsk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Reluctantly I booked a single room - financial logic. I like a bit of space when I travel and I know that single rooms in London can be little bigger than the bed shoved up against the wall. Best Western The Boltons is not like that. My room was on the second floor, and yes it was a single bed pushed up against the wall but I could definitely swing a cat in the room. There was a desk, room for a bag stand with the bag on it, there was a wardrobe and a decent bathroom with room to move.
Breakfast was very decent. There was a selection of cereals, fruit, toast and hot food. Sure you will get a larger variety in a bigger hotel but for this size place it was just right.
On the negative side:
1. The lift is like a shoe box, one person, one case, full. It may also take some time to arrive given it is the only lift.
2. Because the bed is against the wall there is only one way on or off, which also happens to be a convenient place to sit. There is therefore a bit of an inclination towards that space when you are trying to sleep. Only a minor issue though.
3. Street noise, especially in the early hours from those dreadful tourists, is very audible.
On the plus side:
1. The window opens, I love fresh air, on to a shared balcony so if your neighbour is not your travel partner...
2. Proximity to Earl's Court station, shops, coin laundries and the decadence of a therapeutic massage salon for those aching legs and feet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazz1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and would book again any time. It is a small building, lift and rooms but very high quality, modern, clean and friendly. The bed was really comfortable and the room airconditioned. The breakfast selection included almost everything. We had a room facing the street, but it was quiet so this was not any problem.
It is 2 min walk from Earls court to the hotel and there are lots of opportunities to get something to eat in the area. If you would like to book a tour of any kind, like for example hopon and off bus, you can do this at the reseption. They are very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187337Christine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I chose this hotel for a one night stay for a theatre trip in September. Wanted a good location after recently staying in Shoreditch (avoiding central London prices) and finding the Shoreditch area a bit grotty and full of "characters" late at night. The location of the Boltons is great - a quiet residential street with other B&Bs/hotels, but a very short walk from Earls Court tube and shops (inc many chains: Byron Hamburger, M&S Simply Food, Costa, Cafe Nero, Gourmet Burger Kitchen, Zizzis, Wagammas, plus lots of independents). Perfect! Also brilliant if you're visiting an event at Earls Court.

The room we were given was on the lower ground floor, amongst a bit of a rabbit warren of corridors and rooms. Our room had a window onto an internal light well, so could have had a better aspect, but this was fine for one night. The furniture/decor was all a very high standard - very clean and of good quality. The bathroom had a spacious corner shower, large basin and toilet. All very high spec. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided (tray in wardrobe) with good quality beverages on offer.

Staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful, not that we had cause to ask them very much, but still it was nice to be greeted with a smile and a hello when you return to your room etc. This was refreshing after so many hotel staff don't even give you the time of day. We didn't have the breakfast (an additional £10pp when not included in the room rate), as we thought we'd just get something from M&S, but unfortunately the store just round the corner from the hotel doesn't open until 12pm on a Sunday so we would have had to wait a while to buy something!

All in all, a very pleasant stay. I would definitely stay again when visiting London, but would request a room on an upper floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the lower ground ground floor/basement in the hope of getting a window.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We arrived late morning, knowing the room probably wouldn't be ready, but we thought we'd check in anyway and leave our luggage with the hotel. The gentleman at the desk was less than friendly, never cracked a smile. He told us the room wasn't ready and to come back at 2. He offered to take the luggage. We came back at 2 and the room wasn't ready. It took another hour!

The room was OK. Carpet was dirty otherwise, the room was clean. TV was set up on the wall in front of the bed and was basically in the way anytime you wanted to move around the bed to go from one end of the room to the other. The small couch was facing the wall and the bathroom door, not the TV! Wardrobe was fine, with coat hangers and drawers, and a safe. However, the safe was on the floor and NOT bolted! Anyone could enter, grab it and either leave with it or throw it out the window to an accomplice behind the building (ground floor room).

Breakfast was included and served in a small dining room. Some tables are very difficult to use if it's busy (like the first morning we were there) because of how close the tables were. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Good espresso!

The other front desk employees were a bit more friendly and provided some information. One gentleman booked us a car for the airport.

There was a computer (and printer) guests could use for free in front of the reception desk. Very convenient plus free WiFi in the room.

When we left, we said goodbye to the gentleman at the reception (the same unsmiling one who 'greeted' us when we arrived). He didn't acknowledged us. We repeated our goodbyes and he managed to lift his head.

There is definitely work needed to improve client interactions at the front desk for some staff. Not sure what the problem was. Two men traveling together? The fact we booked on points? No matter. A smile and a pleasant disposition go a long way in the hospitality business. Probably wouldn't go back there.

Very convenient location, nice area, felt safe and steps away from Earl's Court Tube station.

Room Tip: A/C was good but was a bit noisy. The fan was grinding. Otherwise, the room was quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YHZcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

From what I know about accommodation in London and how small rooms can be, this was good value. Our room was small with a small bathroom too. At times it was noisy as the corridor is small and if people are talking it is quite noticeable, earplugs are a good idea. Many of the rooms are in a ground floor basement area, so be aware when booking if you want an above ground floor room. They are relatively newly refurbished although are already showing signs of wear and tear. The breakfast room is very small and provides hot and cold breakfast very much a cafeteria type so nothing fancy here but fine to start the day with. Service was good from all staff and the hotel is very close to Earls court station.

Room Tip: Ask for an above floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratbagx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#637 of 1,072 in London
1,303 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#459 of 1,072 in London
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#522 of 1,072 in London
445 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#660 of 1,072 in London
320 reviews
Best Western Mornington Hotel
#419 of 1,072 in London
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Boltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Boltons

Address: 19-21 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Formerly Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#265 Business Hotel in London
#315 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Boltons 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Victorian charm with Modern Luxury The 4* Best Western The Bolton's Kensington is a modern oasis of peace in the conservation area of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. Fully Refurbished in 2012 to incorporate modern simplicity and functionality with Victorian charm Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington with 56 fully Air conditioned en suite bedrooms, complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout, a welcoming Restaurant serving a decadent breakfast is the place for the discerning traveller looking for great value for money. Ideally located just around the corner from Earls Court underground station, within easy reach of some of London's most prestigious shopping areas such as High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge to the many attractions of London such as the Natural History and the Science museum just off our door step making the Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington the ideal location for your visit to London. Book directly with us and start your day with a great English breakfast on the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Boltons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Boltons Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing