We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good value”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #307 of 577 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Our double room was tiny but it did have a TV, washbasin, drinks making facilities, wardrobe and it was clean. The bathroom was next door and was also clean. The owner was very pleasant and I couldn't fault the service. On the down side the rooms are well worn. Breakfast was just cereal and toast at a communal table. However, this did allow for some interesting conversations. I would certainly use it again and it is excellent value for 10mins walk from Euston station.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid rooms 1 and 2 as these are by the front door and you hear people coming in late at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LichfieldEssexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice now, first time was with mates on a night out last year, then i stayed hear with the family in March for a weekend, I have only just found this site so thought i would write a review, Beds & Rooms are very clean and so are the bathrooms the bathrooms are shared but i didnt find this a problem as we had both rooms downstairs, If youre on one of the other floors i would have a shower at night because you can guarantee that somebody will be in there in the morning, the service is great & the owner is very helpfull with finding places, Price is good aswell, the area bloomsbury is very nice, Nice cafe on the corner called valencia
Will stay hear again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I've stayed at this small cosy place for years. Breakfast is quirky, owner genial, rooms (no view) are compact, stairs are narrow, carpets are old, pillows are real (not plastic) and there are thick walls - hence no television nuisance from next room. Outside the ambience is safe and cheerfully youthful, particularly in the evening, like a village crosssroads (actually historic Bloomsbury), with a nest of small ethnic restaurants and take-aways of all kinds, niche bookshops, Internet cafe, all-day tiny mini-markets and my favourite London pub - the Lord Nelson. Beware of non-standard bicycle lanes used by power cyclists outside at the traffic lights. Remarkably, the mainline Euston/KingsCross/St Pancras stations and Tube stations are just a walk away- as is the British Library. The hotels in the terrace beyond the pub charge at least double the Albany rate.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidh60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

It was a fine hotel, the service was fantastic especialy when I said that the breakfast would be to early for me on the Monday so that they knew that I couldn't make it on time. Thay gave me the night before some bread, jam and yoghurt to take away. There was permanent coffy and tea at the room. The floor and bed were very noicy, the whole hotel was actually. The bathroom could have been cleener and there was a tiny little water coming out of the shower, it took me ages to was my hair. The second morning I did't even take a shower because of that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazzoAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Found Albany Hotel, recommended by the London Generator Hostel when that arrangement failed. Proprietor Fernandez was very nice about taking me in at 9:30 pm. Very clean, nice room, breakfast was nice too. Stairs were awfully steep though, as is the case with many of these places in London.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PJ-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

The hanging flower baskets outside belied the interior of the hotel.The rooms were very smalland lighting was dingy. The beds were lumpy and the pillows lumpier. Really uncomfortabale.It was really hot in the room with the window closed but if we opened it, the noise from the traffic below was deafening. The breakfast was appalling. No choice at all. Dry bowl of cornflakes, warm milk, juice, thin toast and disgusting coffee. The owner stood at the table talking and watching the whole time. We couldn't even have our breakfast in private.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondie333Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We stayed two nights, but didn't really have any breakfasts, so we can't comment on those.
The room was pretty small, which was more uncomfortable than we'd expected it to be.
The bed covers had stains on them (but the sheets were clean). The shower and toilet (which are in the same room and shared by all rooms, possibly including the owners) were unpleasant.
The location is pretty good, and the price too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank merutak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#27 of 577 in London
638 reviews
Acton Lodge
#259 of 577 in London
6 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#347 of 577 in London
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 577 in London
241 reviews
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#45 of 577 in London
768 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#55 of 577 in London
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 34 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 577 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £44 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Albany Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing