We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awfull expierence & extremley rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Limehouse
Ranked #74 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had trouble with marlin apartments from the word go, we should have known better to continue with the booking but we wanted to stay here as it was close to the event we were attending.
On arrival we waited over 45 minutes to check in and there was only one member of staff behind reception with around 50 poeple in the waiting area all irrate and waiting to check i9n, for a saturday afternoon, this isn't goo enough. the memeber of staff seem distressed and unorganised and I believe this is not the correct conditions for staff to work. After we finally checked in, the rooms were hot and we found that we had not been given any sheets for the extra bed in our room and no towels, we asked for these on the way out yet returned to no towels or bedding. we then had to leave the apartemnt to collect these at 1am and it took 30 minutes for them to be brought up.
After getting home the £200 deposit was released back into our account yet three days later they went bank into our account and took £140 without any prior warning. on ringing the apartments on several occasions we were told several different reasons as to why this was deducted - they tried to say that we broke a table in room one when we were actually in another room, they then said we smoked in the building - my friends and i have never smoked in our lives and then finally they said we were too noisy and had a 'party' this was totally incorrect as we never had more than the 4 intended guests in our room and were not once told to keep the noise down anyway, On trying to get a resolution to our formal complaint, the phone was released on us more than three times, the ataff were extremley rude and not one tried to help us in our dismay.

Please DO NOT stay here. They will rob money from you for reasons which you really cannot comprehend. We went out and returned to bed and for some reason have been charged £140.

SAVE YOURSELF THE HASSLE AND STAY SOMEWERE ELSE!!

AWFULL EXPERIENCE!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fayemc m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Fayemc m,

I am sorry that your stay at Marlin Limehouse was not as you had expected.

Unfortunately the time at which you arrived was some three hours prior to our standard check-in time. Had you notified us beforehand of your earlier arrival, we’d have endeavoured to have your apartments ready however I’m pleased to hear that we were able to have the six apartments ready for your group 45 minutes after your unexpected arrival. We are sorry that the proper bedding and towels were not initially provided although this was quickly rectified.

All our guests are made aware of Marlin’s terms and conditions both prior to booking and on check-in. Excessive and repeated noise disturbances are a clear violation of the terms and conditions to which you agreed and signed upon check-in, and Marlin has a strict no-party policy which we uphold for the comfort of all guests. Regrettably, in cases where the terms and conditions are broken and damage has occurred we reserve the right to make any necessary charges from your pre-authorisation; however we do always provide prior warning whenever such charges are to be made to the contact details obtained from your booking.

I am sorry that your visit with us did not turn out to be more agreeable; however in all circumstances we must always ensure that a safe, quiet and pleasant stay is provided for all in-house guests and private residents.

Regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

For me, the cloatikn for London City airport and connections to the south east was perfect. The studio apartment was bigger than expected and the aparment was fully furnished as described so I could not complain about the standard of the facilities. Howver. The public areas, the stairwells, the public passageways and the walls of the aprtment were grubby. I also did not expect a pre authorised deposit payment on arrival of £50 which made me feel like a potential vandal. The double bed was comfortable and the bathroom a good size thoughj it would have been good to have a proper shower unit rather than a shower attachment over the bath. As I said, good location but really not great value for the decorative standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room as the hotel faces a busy main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liquidgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear liquidgiraffe,

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your generally positive comments concerning the location and standard of facilities.

We are disappointed that you did not find that the public areas were as clean and smart as they should be and I have made a note to investigate this further.

The pre-authorised amount is a standard term of our booking policy and in no way reflects on yourself. Unfortunately, we do need to do this due to rare but regrettable occasions when guests do not respect the policy and cause damage and/or disturbance. We trust that you understand.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the near future and trust that you will find us to be good value for money. We have built up a reputation of being just this, and pride ourselves on providing an efficient, courteous and professional service.

Kind regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

DO NOT STAY IN MARLIN APARTMENTS. Terrible customer service waited 45 minutes to be checked in, members of are party where informed upon arrival that no room in apartment and were transferred to another apartment and had to pay to travel to other apartment no expenses paid for. Received our deposit back for room for them only to take £140 out of account, When we called marlin apartments to find out why we had been charged they informed it was due to 'noise' which was not from ourselves. Put phone down on ourselves on several occasions and when we called back again claimed there was a broken table in room 1 which is not the room we were staying in therefore being charged for a breakage that had nothing to do with ourselves. Booked a 4 person apartment but did not receive extra bedding for the pull out bed we had paid for and also did not receive sufficient amount of towels for guests. Had trouble booking apartment and from start to finish nothing but a unpleasant experience, with rude and unhelpful staff and a company that will try and find any excuse not to give deposit back , PLEASE BE WARY DO NOT BOOK.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Jeny1,

We are disappointed that you found your stay with us, in contrast to numerous other guests, to be unpleasant and that the staff were rude and unhelpful.

Regrettably, in cases where the terms and conditions are broken and significant damage was caused, we reserve the right to make any necessary charges from your pre-authorisation. In all circumstances we must always ensure that a safe, quiet and pleasant stay is provided for all in-house guests and private residents.

We have built up a reputation of providing a polite and efficient service at our premium accommodation which is evident from the reviews we have received from many satisfied guests on TripAdvisor.

Regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

in total we booked out 6 rooms between are party staying 1 night on the 20/07/13. firstly when booking the apartments we booked first for the one night but when my friend called to book they said they can only stay a minimum of 2 nights. they believed this and booked paying £180 for 2 room for 2 nights. when all other rooms were able to book 1 night. when they called to advise this the hotel asked which room had booked one night when they provided my name the hotel advised them my room number and that my card was declined the first time they tried, I do not know why they gave out this information I think it is personal and I was embarrassed. after this they then said the room non refundable and nothing they can do.
When we arrived there was a massive que and only 1 woman on reception it took us over half hour to finally check in. I had booked 2 rooms on my card in total and needed to pay £400 deposit at the desk only 1 of the rooms I booked was ready when we had called prior to book early check in for both rooms.
Our friends in are party then came to see us advising the hotel had double booked and they were to be moved this is 3 two person rooms. explanation for each was that there was a technical fault but when called to complaint were advised had double booked. they had to pay for a taxi there and back and to pay £200 up front for new room in different apartments on top of what they had already paid which they were told can claim back later.
The staff were rude and unhelpful throughout the stay. I spoke to a group of 4 girls who were also complaining as went they went into there room there was no bedding. When coming home one of my friends who booked a 4 person room has lost their £200 deposit. They have been trying to contact the apartments but has been told someone will call back but nobody has. non of the staff can give any explaination for why this has been taken and do not take any complaints seriously.
We travel on a regualr basis staying in hotels and apartments all over the country and have never had to complain until staying here. apauling service from the start and had no reply to our complaints and still no reason for why £200 deposit was taken from one of our rooms.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Megang,

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We always try to provide a professional, polite and efficient service with our value-for-money accommodation.

It is true that there were longer than usual check-in times at the time of your arrival and this was due to a group booking who arrived without notification. We apologise for the inconvenience caused but I would like to thank the receptionist on duty who dealt with the check-in as quickly as possible.

It is a standard term of our booking that a pre-authorisation deposit is taken from guests in case of damage or a breach of terms and conditions. This would have been brought to your attention at the time of booking, too.

I would be obliged if you would cite occasions when you feel our staff was rude and unhelpful during your stay, then I will be able to investigate the matter further and, should they be confirmed, take appropriate action.

We pride ourselves on our helpful and polite service and have had many positive comments in this regard from other customers.

Regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked Marlin Apartments from 20-22 July 13 with alot of other's after traveling from Liverpool we found that they had double booked the whole apartments so leaving us with no accomadation they had already took are money from when we had booked and over charged us for what the place was .. they did refund the moneyback to the cards but did not go back on to the card for a couple of days leaving many without money to book anywere else !!! the could not give a dam attitude was terrible and as for the area my god would not like to be walking around there on my own so thank you marlin apartment for spoiling the weekend for us !! you did not even have the decency to answer the phone or emails that we sent you so if you are planning to book the Marlin apartment think twice !!!!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank lainelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCS, General Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Iainelou,

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Unfortunately on rare occasions for operational reasons, we reserve the right to offer an alternative accommodation option however on such occasions, every effort is made to contact the affected guests prior to arrival to advise of the alternative solution.

We apologise if we were not able to answer your calls and/or emails as quickly as you’d hoped but would like to assure you that all communications are responded to in a timely manner.

It is unfortunate that you found our location undesirable; I believe it is one of our strongest selling points as our guests find they are able to access most of London easily by various means of public transport.

Regards,

Declan Sweeney
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Very good apartments. Clean and friendly staff. Very good service. Good price.
Close to city center and on the way to City Airport using the DLR - this is extremly convenient if you are a frequent London traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms to the atrium are quieter. One bedroom apartments more convenient if you stay longer or in win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BST_20130716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear BST_2013706

Thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our service to be good.

We do aim to provide genuine value for money accommodation and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards

Gabby Eckersley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

If I need to stay in London again I will 100% return to Marlin. Very helpful staff, great cleaning service. The area is perfect: two DLR stops away from the City (Bank station), three supermarkets in walking distance, dry cleaner in the same building as well as a small cafe, ATMs across the street, Pubs, Regents Canal and Victoria Park perfect for running, Limhouse Basin to hang out, movie theatre just on DLR Stop (Westferry) away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabby E, Manager at Marlin Apartments Limehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Max G

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on this website, following your recent stay.

We are very pleased that you were happy with your stay with us and found us to be helpful and the accommodation conveniently located and clean.

It is particularly rewarding for me to read such a positive review that describes the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members who work hard to ensure that throughout the hotel, our guests are as comfortable as possible, and at all times feel as if they are at their home away from home.

I am so pleased that we were able to do just that for you, and it will be my absolute pleasure to share your comments with our team.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming again soon!

Kind Regards

Gabby Eckersley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
#79 of 908 in London
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Limehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Limehouse

Address: 577 Commercial Road | Limehouse, London E1 0HJ, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Mission Court)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £89 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Limehouse 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Limehouse is cleverly situated just outside the hustle and bustle of Central London but within easy access to the financial and touristic areas across the capital. Explore the vast waterways of the Limehouse Basin Marina that is minutes away, take a leisurely stroll along the Thames or visit the nearby Canary Wharf for a sophisticated excursion. Our guests appreciate the energetic vibrancy of the Docklands as well as the modern, luxurious serviced apartments. Their location makes them the perfect preference for corporate and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marlin Apartments Limehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments Mission Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing