We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Ranked #434 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel last weekend and initially were a little dubious about staying here given previous reviews and photographs, but we were pleasantly surprised. We had requested a room on the ground floor and this was honoured and check in was quick. Our room was small but it was very clean and functional. London hotel rooms tend to be on the small side, so we were not expecting it to be a large room.
Although there are no irons and hair dryers in the rooms, they are available at reception to lend free of charge. There is only one small bar of hand soap at the sink so you need to take your own shower gel and shampoo ect, but this was not a problem for us. Our bed was comfortable and the room has individually controlled air con so you can have the room as hot and cold as you like. Our towels were new and clean, there was a flat screen tv in front of the bed and we slept well. I have no complaints about the room, as it also looked as if it has recently been refurbished.
The hotel is available at a very reasonable charge for London and I think it is excellent value and a good choice for exploring London. Tower Gateway DLR is a 2 min walk (more or less next to the hotel). If you want to use the underground you can jump on the DLR to Shadwell (next stop) and then on the next platform (same level) you can get a tube to Bank, which has access to the Central line. If you want the District or Circle line, walk 4 mins to Tower Hill tube station which has direct access to these routes.
The hotel is next door to The Minores pub and although we only had a drink there, the food looked good and it is a local friendly pub.
Breakfast was ok and good value. Breakfast contained for cereals, bread, yoghurts, fruit, croissants, muffins, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, beans, sausage and bacon. It is a buffet so you can help yourself. There is also juices, water, tea and coffee available.
There were also jugs of iced water available at reception which I thought was a nice touch. The hotel has a restaurant and bar and the meals and drinks were reasonably priced ( a bottle of wine for under £10). I think pizza was available 24hrs if you want a snack.
I have stayed at the premier inn near this hotel previously, and while it is more comfortable than this hotel it is more expensive and further away from the tube stations.
We went to see the Bodyguard on the Strand and thought about how we were going to get back to the hotel. When I looked into it the number 15 bus goes from the Tower (main road), along the Strand to Trafalgar Square and it stops near the theatre so it was easy to get back to the hotel. Coming back you have to get off the bus at Tower Hill Tube station, you can also use your tube day passes on the buses so we did not have to pay.
I have been to London many times and have stayed in some of the best 5* hotels and once twice in some dubious hotels. Honestly this is not a 5* hotel but it does not pretend to be or charge the prices of one. This hotel is clean, well conected while giving you a break from the hustle and bustle. If all you want is a clean room near a tube station to use as a base then this hotel is perfect. I would not hesitate in staying here again and wish I had taken photos to post on here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    542
    260
    97
    76
See reviews for
200
680
77
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

As with all Travelodges, nothing fancy, but everything you need if you're staying for a night or two. The room was clean and warm enough, if on the small side. Unfortunately right next to a fire door which made a terrible noise as people went through - at all hours. Also situated next to a railway line which causes some noise. Staff weren't very helpful at reception and the restaurant - we got a feeling that most of them were still in training or really not interested in helping.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I booked this trip as a Christmas present for my boyfriend, we stayed three nights over the new year period. The hotel with brilliantly located just a few minutes walk from the tube station and really good location for bars and places to eat whilst also being close for a walk down to tower bridge. The room was basic but pretty much had everything we needed as we didn't spend much time actually in the hotel. The only annoyance was the room didn't have a mirror, which was a pain with two people trying to get ready in the morning! Also hard for a women to do her hair/make-up! We ate at the hotel the evening we arrived, excellent choice of food and it really was delicious. We also had a takeaway pizza after the fireworks on New years eve, which was also so tasty! The breakfast was a bit of a let down for the price, I'd advice people to just eat elsewhere, there's a few local eateries which do similar priced breakfasts.
Overall we'd return here primarily for the location and price. Don't think we could have got better in London so close to Tower Bridge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

06/12/13 we arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a very rude receptionist who gave us the key to the room.the room was cold the strip light above the bed did not work.no wardrobe to hang clothes on so we lived out off a suitcase.the shower was crap(got more wet standing outside in the rain). the so-called all you can eat breakfast(WHICH I WOULD HAVE NOT GIVEN TO A CHILD OR AN ANIMAL)so we complained to the receptionist(THE RUDE ONE AGAIN)and went and got the manager.who then did nothing about it so we cancelled the breakfast for the next day

Room Tip: dont have a back room overlooking the drl or tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment with your stay at our London Tower Bridge hotel lelliebosh60. We expect our staff to provide a great service so it is regrettable to learn that you found our receptionist to be rude. We expect all facilities such as lighting to be in good working order and our showers to have adequate water pressure so it is regrettable to learn this did not happen on this occasion. Our bar café staff are fully trained on how to prepare food to a great standard so we are sorry to learn the food fell below the standards we would expect. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Tower Bridge Travelodge for 2 nights for the New Year celebrations. It is located a short walk from Tower Hill Underground Station and immediately adjacent to the Tower Gateway DLR Station. It is a short walk from the Tower of London and Tower Bridge, and quite close to the City of London. However it is some distance away from the West End of London, Leicester Square, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square etc. Our 2 night stay in the Travelodge was excellent; clean and comfortable room with what looked like a new bed; and both nights were totally quiet. There is a nice restaurant and bar on the ground floor, but we did not use them. We went to a nice Weatherspoon Pub immediately across the road which was convenient. I would gladly recommend a stay at the Tower Bridge Travelodge for anyone wanting to stay in that part of Central London.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor facing the street (away from the railway on the other side), which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The location is great, close by to London Eye, Tower Bridge, Trafalgar square,
Right outside the tube station.

and bus stand
the hope on and off bus is just a few mins walking distance

Great of the price, unfortunate they do not have family rooms, only doubl available.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had a weekend getaway for three nights 27.12-30.12.2013. This hotel is a close to Tower Hill Tube station, and also a short walking distance from Spitalfield Market and Liverpool Street Station. Personnel at the Reception were very friendly and helpful. Arrived early to the hotel and had to pay 10£ for early check in, but it helped to store luggage for the morning. Personnel at the bar counter were nice in the mornign when we enjoyed coffee before dashing out to London. Didn't have any breakfast, because wanted to have in a place we knew from before. The breakfast looked good though, typical English Breakfast served cleanly but a bit industrial style. The Breakfast room / pub reminded us all from a school canteen, but not in a negative way. Rooms were just as expected. Clean and adequate. For early booking we thought we had a real deal, and didn't expect any luxuries. Bedding was fresh and bed was soft and inviting. There was no noise from the nearby railroad, except when opening the window of course. There was a heater in the room that kept the room warm in the December chill. Small negative point was the shower drain that was slightly clogged. Told the receptionist this, and she promised to get it looked at. Can't expect anything to happen in the weekend, if it isn't an emergency, which this wasn't. I'm confident that the drain is fixed by now. We were six people alltogether in four rooms, and we all were happy with the rooms, hotel location, cleanliness, personnel. All in all this is a highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: You might ask a room from the street side in high floor, if you are a very light sleeper. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Travelodge London Liverpool Street
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Aldgate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
City of London
Travelodge London Central Bank
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge

Property: Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Address: 1 Goodmans Yard | Lloyds Court Business Centre, London E1 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in London
#272 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Travelodge London Hotel Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing