We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic,depends on what you want really ?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Ranked #417 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very basic,depends on what you want really ?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is clean,the beds are comfortable.The rooms are very basic,no toiletries,no hair dryer,well used towels. A kettle and tea and coffee are provided, shower is fine .Location is good if you intend using the DLR service a lot.

Room Tip: You either choose a room overlooking the road or the railway so not much choice there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries in our rooms Chris D, but we do however have essentials available in a vending machine in reception for guests to purchase if they require additional items. We also have hair dryers at reception which our guests can borrow, this service is subject to availability. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    519
    247
    94
    70
See reviews for
189
655
75
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Well situated right next to Tower Bridge, clean, bright, airy with friendly helpful staff. Rooms large, and very basic (no bedside tables which was annoying, and believe it or not - no hairdrier! I thought even the most basic of hotels had hair driers.) But to be fair, everything you need for a good night's sleep. I had asked for a room on the ground floor and it was on the traffic side, with very busy traffic only the width of the footway away. I needn't have worried - I didn't hear a thing!
I was in town on business so apart form a quick drink at the bar, didn't use all the facilities, but I must say it exactly what you need for a stopover.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seahouses
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have just completed a 2 night stay here and have to say we were all REALLY impressed by the cleanliness,comfort and amazing value offered by this Travelodge.
Especially the attitude of the staff,most notably Joyce whose cheerful helpfulness made this break even more enjoyable.
We will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked this room at this hotel because it was in the Travelodge sale and is ideally located despite reservations about the quality of Travelodge properties. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Tower Hill tube (as you come out of the tube station, turn to face the Tower of London. Turn left then left at the lights, go under the bridge. You will see the Minories pub on right so cross over the road at next lights- you will see the hotel ahead of you).

On arrival, reception, the bar and the restaurant are through a small passage. We had arrived an hour or so earlier than checkin and following a stay at a rival chain who allowed us in the room 3 hours early free of charge we thought we would try. We were politely advised that we could check in but it would cost an additional £10 which the website I see charges for an additional service which you wouldn't need. We declined this and were pleased to be able to leave our luggage there and returned after checkin time and were given our room number and keys- the room number was wrong so I had to return to reception to check.

The room as the photos on this website show is modern and spacious. The bed was really comfortable and both of us who don't have great backs managed ok. The alcoves in the bed board in place of bedside tables were a little inefficient and the flexible bedside lights were too floppy to be effective. The desk chair wasn't comfortable for long periods of sitting so may not be suitable for business people who wish to work in their room.

The double glazing was extremely effective at blocking noise from the road below (we were on the first floor) and at the weekend when we opened the window as far as the restrictors would allow us, the noise wasn't too bad from the road. Bizarrely the window cleaners chose to clean the windows above ours despite our window being open which let a rain fall amount of water into the room onto the window sill!

Despite the money spent on the refurb of the hotel, it was let down by some issues which could have easily been resolved. The shower and bath tap combination wasn't installed properly so there was a gap between the tiles and the pipes (shower was ok though), of the two above mirror lights above the sink, only one worked. In addition, the extractor fan was not working and there didn't appear to be a switch to turn it on or off.

More worryingly, the plug for the kettle was loose which may be explained by the out of date Portable Appliance Testing certificate for that item (it was due in January 2013) and reception didn't seem too worried when we returned it at check out.

I have to mention the restaurant which I felt was exceedingly unappetising both in terms of comfort and the menu which was reflected in it being empty both evenings we stayed. At the end of a hard days shopping/sightseeing/working, I want the hotel I stay in to have comfortable seats so I can have a relaxing meal. It wasn't inviting in anyway. This restaurant needs rethinking!

In all, the hotel was good value for the money we paid- not the advertised rates- and is ideally located but plan to eat out of the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilescorenwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback Joe P. We expect all of our items to be fully functional so it is regrettable to learn the problems which occurred with the extractor fan. We also expect all of our facilities to be fully compliant and to have undergone regular PAT testing. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns regarding the kettle in more detail so we would very much appreciate it if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the end of October 2013. I had contacted the staff with a few requests before arrival eg. so our family group could be in rooms next to each other. The staff were brilliant and fulfilled the requests. Much appreciated and I thank them very much for that.
The rooms have all you need for a short break, they are bright, clean and comfortable.
The location is the best we have experienced in London, just around the corner from Tower Bridge.
We shall stay there again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The road side rooms are the quietest but only with closed windows...then its a bit warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen6668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over a weekend for a theatre break.
We know that Travelodge rooms are basic but we only want to sleep and shower in the room.
The rooms have had a makeover, although the shower was quite mildew covered and there was a leaf on the bathroom floor when we arrived on Friday & it was still there when we left on Sunday, apart from that everything else was ok.
Excellent location 5 minute walk from the tube station.
Room was very quiet with the window shut.
Heater on the wall was very good.
Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, a bit short staffed in the breakfast room, had to ask for cups on both mornings and clear ourselves a table. Breakfast is a help yourself buffet and you can have as much as you like, cereals, toast, yogurts, muffins, fruit and a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great location and value for money for a London base. Rooms good again for London sightseeing where you only require sleep, shower, breakfast and out to see the sights. Staff are friendly, rooms clean. Some noise from London traffic and railway if windows left open but no outside noise when shut.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank penguin1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#142 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#248 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge

Property: Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Address: 1 Goodmans Yard | Lloyds Court Business Centre, London E1 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in London
#272 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Tower Bridge Hotel London
Travelodge London Hotel Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing