We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable BB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #3 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable BB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Reservation process via email was easy, the hosts reply really fast.

Room: Small but felt clean. Bed was comfortable.
Wifi: My room is located in the basement of the main hse, and the wifi signal was weak in there.
Breakfast: Full English breakfast was tasty but oily. The fruit salad is amazing. The BB staffs at breakfast time were very friendly and cute too.
Hosts: I didn't get to meet David during my stay, but I saw Kanley every day. Kanley was friendly but always busy, so we didnt get to chat.
Location: Easy to get pretty much every where. Short walk from Vauxhall tube stn to the BB.

As a female solo backpacker, I felt safe staying in the BB even though all the BB staffs were men.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    178
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
219
389
165
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days in London at 69 The Grove. Kanley, David and "the boys" were outstanding in making our visit very comfortable! They were very accomodating and friendly! This B & B is very close to the tube and makes it easy to spend the day exploring London! It is very charming to stay in a residential area and not in a motel. We would love to come back and stay with them again! The fresh flowers in our room was a very nice added touch!

Room Tip: Our room was downstairs. It was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Had a fantastic time at the beautiful and tranquil 69TheGrove.

Our double room was very light and airy with a lovely view looking out on beautiful flowers.

Kanley was the most friendly host you would ever wished to meet. He listened to our preferences and made excellent recommendations for restaurants and tourist sites in London. We especially loved the flower garden and the cosiness of the place. Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a view of the flower garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have been to London several times and always a bit disappointed with our accommodations. This time we were pleasantly surprised and delighted.

We were expecting a very small room but ours was quite comfortable, large bed (twins put together), bay window area with arms chairs, small fridge with jug of milk, large TV, and a nice sitting area on the main floor of the building. There is a nice fan in the room that we used as white noise to cut some of the street noise but that noise is generally fairly quiet by 11pm.

The highlights: close to tube and getting to main attractions( we walked to Westminster Abbey),lovely rooms, nice shower, attention to details, the breakfast always had a huge bowl of fresh cut fruit, eggs made to order, great service from staff, very kind and caring owners, all guests seemed well travelled and very interesting. Very comfortable and accommodating bed and breakfast where you feel welcome and enjoy coming to at the end of the day.

Suggestions: try Pico restaurant as recommended by Kanley (very good food).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I highly recommend 69The Grove to anyone wanting a great location for a London trip. As everyone says, the rooms are small--so we were prepared for that & didn't mind. Our room was clean, airy and beautiful; the beds were very comfortable; the bathroom luxuriously modern; all the staff were friendly and helpful; and the breakfasts were amazing! Kanley was always gracious and asked about our days in the city. The location is a quiet and cozy section of Vaux Hall that was charming with the park & cafe just down at the corner. Yet it was a quick walk to the buses & tube--and a fifteen minute walk along the Thames to Parliament (which my husband enjoyed jogging). Also, the main house and the second house across the street, where we stayed, have a living room area for guests to use (not all B&Bs we stayed at offered the luxury of this extra space). But as nice as the facility is, Kanley and his staff make this inn a really special place. When we were leaving, Kanley arranged a driver to take us to our rental pickup at the airport & saved us a bit of money when he inquired if we had cashed in our Oyster cards. We never thought to do this! But above and beyond all usual hosting kindness, I discovered I had left my vitamin tin on the breakfast table two days after our departure: I called back to see if they had found it, and Kanley mailed it ahead for me to pick up at our next inn! If we're fortunate enough to return to London again, I won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I would highly recommend this place for the location (very close to the Vauxhall station and other public transport) and for the wonderful hospitality we got at 69 The Grove. Though the room was small, it didn't bother us (me, my husband and our 3 year old son). Central London is very expensive. So I dont want to complain anout the size of the room. It was very convenient to use the common kitchen to make a quick meal for my son when we went on day trips from London. The breakfast was good ( we are vegetarians)and the host Kanley and his staff were were very accomodative, warm and friendly to us. Our stay was unforgettable and we would definitely want to stay there if we were to plan another trip to London.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeetha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Arrived to meet extremely friendly staff, and a cosy living room with fish in which the children were fascinated by. We were shown to our ensuite room, which was tastefully decorated and well stocked - mini bar (payment required) and free toiletries ( shampoo, body wash, toothbrush etc).

We slept very well for the 7 nights we were there!

Breakfast was a full English : bacon, eggs, toast, sausages, boiled eggs, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, juice, tea, hot chocolate, and coffee. It was delicious and a great selection!!

Kanley, David and the wonderful staff made our stay memorable and we would definitely recommend this B&B and will stay again if we come back to London.

An added bonus is it is less than 5min walk to Vauxhall tube and train station!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HazzyJazzyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Property: 69TheGrove
Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing