We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts & cosy place to stay!”
Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #3 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts & cosy place to stay!”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My friend and I stayed at the double room for 4 nights, and we had such a wonderful time at the Grove! Kanley and David were extremely helpful and friendly, it was a great experience having breakfast with everyone else staying at the Grove each morning. The room is cosy and always clean and tidy when we came back. The pretty flowers planted by Kanley outside the house and around the house never fail to brighten us up every morning and when we came back after a long day of sightseeing! Our 1st trip to London was made exceptionally memorable because of Kanley and David and the people we met at the Grove! Would definitely come back to stay if I visit London again =)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_Lin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    936
    183
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
232
412
180
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bostik15
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

After a short walk from the tube station, and after getting a little lost (as there is no signage indicating that the place was a B&B), we were welcomed into David & Kanley's home like we were old good friends of theirs. Even though we arrived early in the morning we were invited into a fairly small sized eating area as we found a seat and cozied up to the other guests. Kanley and David graciously ran around trying to accomodate everyone's breakfast requests and right away it felt like we had been there for days. The cute and charming B&B was a far cry from the 'overflow apartment' down the block. We had expected for it to be a similar little B&B with more rooms but instead it was an apartment, located on the very top floor (without a lift). Our bags were heavy so it was a bit too much for us to haul things up and down 6 flights (felt like 10). The actual apartment wasn't too bad, though it was more like staying at a friends place because the apartment still had personal items remaining from when one of the owners used to live there in the cupboards and drawers. It was nice to have use of a kitchen but once the apartment was filled there were around 4 other people with only one washroom and it started to feel more like a hostel. The overflow apartment could definately use a bit more work and also come with a warning about the stairs. Overall the stay was pretty good, maybe a little high for what it was but the hosts were really nice and we would recommend this place if you can stay at the actual B&B. Kanley & David - get a sign for your window! You guys were lovely, thank you for the stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bostik15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georoberts1@netzero.net
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

There are no positive comments to make about the condition or management of "69The Grove".
1)the owner seemed unaware of the time of our arrival, was not prepared to offer the en-suite contracted for-in fact didn't seem to have any record at all of our proposed stay.
2)Owner was not present to let us in-we stood with our luggage for 1/2 hr at the front door trying to contact the absent owner.
3)Kitchen was deplorable-melting butter and jam jars on the table, dirty dishes in the sink, very few clean glasses-left one with no desire to touch or eat anything coming out of that kitchen.
4)Proposed accomodation for the night in lieu of the en-suite was a living room with one bed jammed against the wall and another bed and mattress brought up from the basement to be stucknext to the couch in the middle of the room. Owner asked "You don't mind unironed sheets for one night, do you?"
5)The shared upstairs bathrom wa not clean-no soap, no towels, leaking faucet. Not very appealing or sanitary.
6)We left that night for a hotel. No one around so we left key on bed.
7)The Vauxhall neighborhood was not very desireable- lack of pubs and restaurants-not a great place for families or couples.
8)If the "69TheGrove" is now rated #2 (It was #6 when we booked), I'd sure hate to see#50. My faith in the Trip Advisor ratings has been shattered.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Georob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69thegrove, Owner at 69TheGrove, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
There is always two sides to a story

This couple reserved the ensuite double room to stay at 69thegrove but on arrival they were not able to have the ensuite room as the guest who was suppose to leave that morning took ill. I offered the couple another double room only for the first night of their stay as the ensuite was not going to be available for that evening. They became very angry and insisted on having the ensuite double room.

Shortly after giving them keys to another double room in the Grove they left without saying goodbye and I never saw them nor my keys again.

They were not at the grove for long and all they said about our establishment is false especially about our bathroom as they were not there long enough to use any of our facilities. They just wanted to be spiteful and to hurt us. They were not understanding or sympathetic.

We have four guest rooms and a full time house keeper. All our rooms are spotless and we take pride in our home and our guests even the very demanding ones. Nearly all our guets can testify to our tidiness and clean sorroundings. I am aware we are not going to please everyone but we continue to try and please all our guests.

They were not waiting for half an hour to enter 69thegrove. About five minutes after leaving the Grove I got a call to say they had arrived and was at our front door and I returned immeditely to check them in 69thegrove.

They are being very revengeful because they could not move in the ensuite room on arrival even though I tried to explain the reason to them but they refused to listen to me and became very angry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2009

it was way above our expectations.. clean cosy in a quiet neighbourhood, convenient near the bus station / tube station. Friendly hosts who are willing to help with whatever requests we have. Generous breakfast prepared by Kanley everyday .. to the extent of leaving croissants and coffee for us on the breakfast table when we had to leave at 5 am on our last day! Rooms were clean and really enjoyed breakfast for the 4 mornings even though we had run out of time for sightseeing, we still wanted to join the rest for breakfast every morning to listen to others' travel experiences! Only grouse is that the full English breakfast was too heavy to take every morning for 3 consecutive mornings!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg_gal_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2009

As an ex-Londoner, I was looking for affordable accomodation in a quiet but accessible area from which to visit Central London. 69TheGrove provided an ideal solution-it was close to the tube, located on a quiet street in Vauxhall and the hosts, Kanley and David, could not have been more friendly and welcoming. My room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very enjoyable (fresh fruit salad and freshly cooked "Full English" ) and was served by the owners with a smile to guests sitting around a single table, allowing easy conversation and the opportunity to exchange ideas and travel advice. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn54Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirk
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

my family and i stayed here and found this place to be an absolute gem ,clean,friendly super host and wee all looked forward to an early breakfast and a good laugh with the owner , the only place to stay while in London . best wishes the Pollock family

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollockFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We are sure that our stay in London were boosted by our stay in 69TheGrove B&B!

Kanley and David are really helpful and honest.

The location is INCREDIBLE, very close to Vauxhall tube and bus station. Also very close to the main sights!

Great "English Breakfast" experience, including all the stuffs (beans, sausages, bacon, eggs...)

Our room was the smallest in the house, but it fit ok. The bed and mattress
are also good and comfortable!

Regarding the bathroom, we had no problem. Always clean and tidy!
Two nights we decided to buy our food and prepare it there. It was really
a good idea - the house provided all the stuffs we needed.

We are sure it is one of the best cost-benefit in London... and living
a truly Londoner experience! Be sure the lovely hosts we will help you in everything you need.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camm_sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,786 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Property: 69TheGrove
Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing