We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts made us feel at home and cooked a great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #2 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts made us feel at home and cooked a great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

My mother and I recently stayed for a week at 69 the Grove..a lovely B&B. Though we had a bit of miscommunication about the number of beds needed, Kanley quickly remedied the situation by adding another bed to our room. It was a bit cramped for us but clean and comfortable. They cleaned our room every day and gave us plenty of fresh towels.

We were made to feel very welcome by Kanely and David...they are two hardworking, kindhearted and helpful hosts.

The generous traditional English breakfast each morning was more than we'd expected and kept our bellies full all the way through dinner. One day they decided to do fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal to give us something different. It was fabulous. And we even got digestives to help keep us healthy. We came to enjoy our morning conversations with the other folks in the house who were all friendly and courteous as well.

David even helped us to find a wonderful local dining option and directed us to a place we were able to purchase a phone card to call our family in the U.S. Kanely's gardening was lovely...wait til you see all the flowers and even fresh cut flowers in every room.

Great location...just steps from the Tube and Rail and a short walk to cross the Thames. If you go during Wimbledon which we did, you'll find it very easy to get a short train ride there or to take the tube.

A pretty nice neighborhood...but just as in any urban area...be cautious at night. We came in late several nights and felt quite safe walking from the tube to the B&B.

For such a new entry into the world of hosting a B&B...Kanley and David are doing great. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    178
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
222
394
168
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

I’m a 50 years old Italian men and I have been in London in July with my 18 years old son for a leisure trip, so we looked for an affordable place to stay, close enough to the most interesting London sites.
We found this bed & breakfast through tripadvisor and we have been really very happy of the choice.
The hotel is nicely located close to the Vauxall station, which is an important transport interchange node allowing to chose between bus, rail and Tube (Victoria Line). From there you can easily reach any important touristic site in half an hour or less.
The hotel is managed by Kanley and David, a protestant pastor and his partner, very available and warm with the guests.
Since the main building was fully booked, we were accommodated in a dependance in Langley Lane, not far from the main building at 69 Vauxhall Grove. It was actually a private flat that we shared with a couple of Americans (last minute people like us that couldn't be accommodated in the main house). We had a double room and a (shared) bathroom, with the possibility to access to additional facilities such as TV room with DVD, wireless Internet connection and a kitchen.
The breakfast was served for all guests at 8:00 in the main building (but up to half hour of delay was tolerated). It was a traditional and rich English breakfasts, very good even for two sophisticated Italian gourmet like us.
All this at 90 GB Pounds/night for the double room (i.e. 45 per person), which for the season and the place seems to me definitely reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

This bed and breakfast was the best place we stayed at of all the cities we visited this summer (London, Paris, Barcelona). Kanley and David were the nicest hosts, were always helpful, and very friendly. We were a group of four and we stayed in the double en suite. It was charming, clean, and had divine duvets! :) The bed and breakfast is located a very short walk from the underground and is in a quiet part of London but not too far away from town. We would definitely stay here again and when we visit again, we certainly will! Thanks Kanley and David for such a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4fromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Booked this B&B based on high reviews on TripAdvisor. Stayed here for a couple of nights and it was nothing to brag about. Hosts were two guys that were pretty cool but check-in process took an hour.

Not too far from the tube and train station but it is not the best area to walk around at night. Nearest tube station is Vauxhall off the Victoria line. Not the best line to be off of for tourists because there are a lot of delays and they often shut down the line. Small late night sandwich shop near the B&B but not much else in the area.

Building was pretty old and not maintained at all. Rooms were simple. There was a bed, desk, dresser, tiny tv. Looks like everything came from Ikea. No AC or heating. No safe in the room. Had to share a bathroom with a couple of other rooms so there is usually a long wait. Be aware that there is no housekeeping or maintenance. Place was not that dirty but not clean either.

You get keys to all of the entrances and your own room but the room keys are the really old kind that are easy to pick so I wouldn't keep any valuables in the room. Also, the gates were often unlocked by other people in the same apartment.

Breakfast was good but you have to eat at 8 or 9. I prefer to go by my own schedule so I wasn't crazy about having to come at a certain time to eat.

Overall, don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. Basic, no frills, and works if you just want a place to sleep. Otherwise, I'd recommend staying somewhere else. Anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicago_Billy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69thegrove, owner at 69TheGrove, responded to this review, 25 July 2009
Thanks for your comments about our overflow accommodation.
We have noticed a few points in your review that are not accurate and so we would like to give our views on them.

Victoria Line

Unfortunately, Transport for London which is the authority in charge of public transport has planned several closures of the Victoria Line as part of its upgrade program. These closures affect only selected weekends.

There are delays on the Victoria Line, although they are not more frequent than other lines and they are rarely severe. Just to note that on weekdays this line gets quite busy on peak times which are early morning before 9 am and in the evening between 5.30 and 6.30 pm.

Maybe we did not have the chance to tell you this but you could have asked us about any of these details so that the experience could be improved.

Amenities

Just to advise that there is a small supermarket open from 7 am to 11 pm close to the overflow apartment. There are also a few Gastro Pubs, and several restaurants.

Apartment and Rooms

We agree that the communal areas in the building need upgrading but this matter is out of our control because we do not own the freehold and it is up to the managing agent to do all this work.

Regarding the apartment, we do have a maintenance and housekeeping service.

in addition, we do have central heating in the apartment with radiators in all the rooms but not AC as our winter is cold and our summer is not hot at all.

We take note of your comments about a safe, however this is not something that we can address in the short term.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

I normally stay in London fortnightly for a few nights and was needing to find something other than a cheaper chain hotel. Would not normally have considered a B&B but this place surpassed all my expectations.
Literally 2 mins from Vauxhall train station on a quiet neighbourly street, I arrived to a lovely looking house brimming with an array of radiant colourful flowers. Next, I met Kanley, one of the owners who made me feel immediately relaxed and at home. He has this warm style of speaking to you like you would a friend and is very humorous.
The house was nicely done up - fresh, very clean and bright - yet cosy. My room was smart, spotless with nice furniture including a good bed which I had a great sleep in.
I went out for a walk in the evening in the surrounding area which had a good number of places to eat and drink - it was safe and without the usual hustle and bustle of London.
Kanley and David were both charming - asking if I needed anything. Always nice without being obtrusive.
I had good breakfasts - tailor made to your choice. Juice, teapot tea, toast with srambled eggs and tomato. Yumm!
When I was leaving, the owners gave me a lovely goodbye - really genuine and kind. All of which makes you feel like coming back. Indeed, the sign that you really like a place is always if you would return. And I will.
Keep up the great work, K & D.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easternbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

My friend and I stayed at the double room for 4 nights, and we had such a wonderful time at the Grove! Kanley and David were extremely helpful and friendly, it was a great experience having breakfast with everyone else staying at the Grove each morning. The room is cosy and always clean and tidy when we came back. The pretty flowers planted by Kanley outside the house and around the house never fail to brighten us up every morning and when we came back after a long day of sightseeing! Our 1st trip to London was made exceptionally memorable because of Kanley and David and the people we met at the Grove! Would definitely come back to stay if I visit London again =)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_Lin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bostik15
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

After a short walk from the tube station, and after getting a little lost (as there is no signage indicating that the place was a B&B), we were welcomed into David & Kanley's home like we were old good friends of theirs. Even though we arrived early in the morning we were invited into a fairly small sized eating area as we found a seat and cozied up to the other guests. Kanley and David graciously ran around trying to accomodate everyone's breakfast requests and right away it felt like we had been there for days. The cute and charming B&B was a far cry from the 'overflow apartment' down the block. We had expected for it to be a similar little B&B with more rooms but instead it was an apartment, located on the very top floor (without a lift). Our bags were heavy so it was a bit too much for us to haul things up and down 6 flights (felt like 10). The actual apartment wasn't too bad, though it was more like staying at a friends place because the apartment still had personal items remaining from when one of the owners used to live there in the cupboards and drawers. It was nice to have use of a kitchen but once the apartment was filled there were around 4 other people with only one washroom and it started to feel more like a hostel. The overflow apartment could definately use a bit more work and also come with a warning about the stairs. Overall the stay was pretty good, maybe a little high for what it was but the hosts were really nice and we would recommend this place if you can stay at the actual B&B. Kanley & David - get a sign for your window! You guys were lovely, thank you for the stay.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bostik15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#236 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Property: 69TheGrove
Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing