We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Girlie business spot”
Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #2 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I had a five day conference to attend beginning at 9am and ending at 12pm. I did not want to pay the high hotel price just for a few hours sleep. I found Kanley and David's B&B on the web. I was ideally situated, 3 mins from the tube. 10 mins walk from the venue. Freindly service, clean sheets, fresh flowers, healthy breakfasts, caring company perfect for a woman travelling on her own. I have my own guest house in Mallorca and I know the work involved in looking after guests. I shall be back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wifeinmidlifecrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2009

Some might have good experiences - I did certainly not! Extremely packed room (which essentially was the living room converted into a room with ZERO space to leave any luggage or even walk!), super loud, no en-suite and bathroom on the second floor. Absolutely overpriced for what I got and very unpleasent encounter with the owner.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
8  Thank Gusox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
69thegrove, owners at 69TheGrove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2009

This is a review which is entirely fabricated and is designed to keep us down. We have no record of this person staying at 69thegrove. This is clearly a malicious review and we sincerely ask TripAdvisor management team to look into this matter. There are now two reviews on us where the writers have not stayed at 69thegrove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My grown daughter and I spent a great week in the 69the Grove overflow house The room was newly painted and furnished and very comfortable with a private bathroom . Kanely and David were immediately attentive to our needs in showing us how to operate the television and stove and providing us with an extension chord. Both of our hosts went out of there way to insure our maximum comfort . On one occasion Kanley walked with us several blocks to point out a much needed medical centre.
The location of their home was excellent within a short walk from the Metro with quick access to the central city yet in a relaxed family neighborhood next door to a park and easy accessible supermarket. To us the availability of complete kitchen facilities was a major plus allowing us to cook the occasional breakfast as well as prepare tea and lunch or snacks for the road. Kanley's English breakfasts were well worth getting up for and like everything else showed great attention to detail and the host's desire make our experience a memorable one. The best part of this accommodation was the feeling of returning from our days explorations to a home away from home.

Thanks Kanley and David for your hospitality. We will certainly return when we next visit London.

Sheila and Mari

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mommamema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

My partner and I spent 3 wonderful nights in this beautiful B&B. David & Kanley were friendly, helpful and the most relaxed host we have met. They made our stay fantastic and very enjoyable. We would like to wish them both the very very best for the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivy-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

This small and friendly B&B welcomed our extended family, in London for a wedding, with thoughtfulness and flexibility. We enjoyed delicious, fresh breakfasts, spotless quarters, and helpful support.. Vauxhall Grove, in which the inn is located, is a quiet and lovely oasis near the Oval and close to major transportation hubs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My mother and I recently stayed for a week at 69 the Grove..a lovely B&B. Though we had a bit of miscommunication about the number of beds needed, Kanley quickly remedied the situation by adding another bed to our room. It was a bit cramped for us but clean and comfortable. They cleaned our room every day and gave us plenty of fresh towels.

We were made to feel very welcome by Kanely and David...they are two hardworking, kindhearted and helpful hosts.

The generous traditional English breakfast each morning was more than we'd expected and kept our bellies full all the way through dinner. One day they decided to do fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal to give us something different. It was fabulous. And we even got digestives to help keep us healthy. We came to enjoy our morning conversations with the other folks in the house who were all friendly and courteous as well.

David even helped us to find a wonderful local dining option and directed us to a place we were able to purchase a phone card to call our family in the U.S. Kanely's gardening was lovely...wait til you see all the flowers and even fresh cut flowers in every room.

Great location...just steps from the Tube and Rail and a short walk to cross the Thames. If you go during Wimbledon which we did, you'll find it very easy to get a short train ride there or to take the tube.

A pretty nice neighborhood...but just as in any urban area...be cautious at night. We came in late several nights and felt quite safe walking from the tube to the B&B.

For such a new entry into the world of hosting a B&B...Kanley and David are doing great. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I’m a 50 years old Italian men and I have been in London in July with my 18 years old son for a leisure trip, so we looked for an affordable place to stay, close enough to the most interesting London sites.
We found this bed & breakfast through tripadvisor and we have been really very happy of the choice.
The hotel is nicely located close to the Vauxall station, which is an important transport interchange node allowing to chose between bus, rail and Tube (Victoria Line). From there you can easily reach any important touristic site in half an hour or less.
The hotel is managed by Kanley and David, a protestant pastor and his partner, very available and warm with the guests.
Since the main building was fully booked, we were accommodated in a dependance in Langley Lane, not far from the main building at 69 Vauxhall Grove. It was actually a private flat that we shared with a couple of Americans (last minute people like us that couldn't be accommodated in the main house). We had a double room and a (shared) bathroom, with the possibility to access to additional facilities such as TV room with DVD, wireless Internet connection and a kitchen.
The breakfast was served for all guests at 8:00 in the main building (but up to half hour of delay was tolerated). It was a traditional and rich English breakfasts, very good even for two sophisticated Italian gourmet like us.
All this at 90 GB Pounds/night for the double room (i.e. 45 per person), which for the season and the place seems to me definitely reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
740 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 573 in London
177 reviews
The Lilac Door
#11 of 573 in London
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £90 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing