We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“search no more- probably the best b&b in the british island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 69TheGrove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
69TheGrove
Ranked #2 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“search no more- probably the best b&b in the british island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Kanley and David's B&B for 12 days in total, and we also had the chance to stay in some other B&B's across the UK.
Well, this place worth 5 stars, that for sure. from the moment we've entered, Kanley treated us as if we're friends of his.
The room is nice with a comfort bed, and its clean just like home. It also contains a TV and a closet. In General from what I understand the rooms in Hotels in the UK aren't big- and so in here- the rooms arent huge, but for us- it was just the right size we needed.
The breakfast is big, and Kanley will even make fruit salad on certain days, which is more than wonderful! You can also have a cooked traditional english breakfast, but we prefered having some cherios cereal, toast, and fruit salad. There's also coffee, tea, and orange juice- pretty much all that you'd like to have.

The B&B is located just a 4 minute walk from Vauxhall tube station, which is on the Victoria line, and you can get anywhere you want to in about 10-15 minutes.
Also, there's a big Tesco and Sainsbury just a few streets from their place, so if you like us prefer to eat in home rather than in restaurants- you will have no trouble.
We were allowed to use the fridge and kitchen, so we could cook our own meals.

Bathroom- we used both the private one and the shared one (for a few days), and both were really really clean, never had to wait in order to use the shared ones.

As for the atmosphere in 69the grove- we immidiatly felt at home, and welcomed.
I would recommend this place to my friends- thats for sure.
If you search for a simple place to stay during your vacation in London, and what you seek is a clean place, with a good location, budget-wise, and to feel welcomed- this is the place for you. For me, it felt better than staying in a Hotel, since I got the chance to talk with other guests and with the owners- Kanley and David, which made our vacation even more intresting and unique.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elad234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    178
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
222
394
168
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

Kanley and David will be your gracious hosts at this B&B. While they are fairly new to the B&B world, a little shy of a year, they have built a wonderful reputation for themselves. As evidenced by their Trip Advisor ratings, they are popular, and for good reason. Kanley and his partner David prepare a breakfast for kings. This traditional English morning fare consists of a slew of breakfast meats, sauteed mushrooms, and two eggs sunny side up. The breakfast table is also the most homey part of this establishment, with a shmorgas board of jams and jellies adorning the table from end to end. The rooms are clean and practical. However, if you are looking for the warm personal feeling of a countryside B&B you might be disappointed. This is a city B&B through and through. Each item of furniture appears to be purchased from IKEA, and when framed on carpetless wooden floors, it feels like I could easily be in the IKEA showroom. The bathroom is tiny but considering the years I spent showering in comparable New York apartments, I understand that I would probable encounter a similar space limitation anywhere else I may go in London. The one recommendation I may make, though, is that they invest in small individualized bar soaps instead of the reusable regular sized bottles of liquid soap that are provided for showering. In summary, the friendly and accommodating personalities of our hosts were enough to make up for any limitations in accomodations. The bedroom itself, while lacking in personal touches, was very clean and generously sized. The breakfast was delicious and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetmaveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We have stayed at many B&B"s but 69 the groove has been the best one so far !! kanley & David provide the best hospitalily and the breakfast. Wishing you all the best with your building programme to create more ensuite rooms.Keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Nice place, clean and comfortable. Allways ready for help, Kanley and David help you for a great estance in London. And don't doubt: call them for any requirement.
Marga i Eduard!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Thi was our first trip to London and we can not thank Kanley and David enough for their warm hospitality.The breakfast was perfect especially the fruit salad. You know how to feed your guests. David is very knowlegeable about the tourist sight in London and Kanley is very good in keeping a lovely home.Thank you guys for making our holiday unforgettable. Wish you all the best.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maringy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

Thank you so much Kanley and David for welcoming me in your home and giving me a wonderful stay.I enjoyed myself so much, The room was big, clean and i had fresh towels. I didnt expect the mini bar and tv that was exeptional. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We spended 6 days in London and the apartment was perfect for what we had to do and we founded what we were looking for ( 6 persons and 3 children). His location is very confortable and the underground and budses station in Vauxhall are in a walking distance - (200 metres - 3 minutes if you don't find the trafic lights lit red!!). The house is very pretty. It is a double floors apartment with 4 bedrooms - at the upper floor, under the roof, you can have one intersting different view of London. The lower floor is ok too. Everymoring I have my shower with a view to the London eye and the Charing cross station. Everything was ok - bathrooms and kitchen too. Everyroom is equipped with a tv and furniture and there a laundry machine wich is the only way you have to save money flying with the low cost company. if you have to stay for a week or more.
Kanley was very nice and he did everything to let us enjoy our holidays.
What to say more?
It was a perfect house for a perfect holydays.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pungalese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,672 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#236 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 69TheGrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 69TheGrove

Property: 69TheGrove
Address: 69 Vauxhall Grove, London SW8 1TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69TheGrove is a welcoming and quiet Bed and Breakfast in a lovely Victorian house located in a quiet street in the heart of Vauxhall, Central London.This accommodation is perfect for those who are visiting London for a short break, holiday or business due to our location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
69thegrove Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing