We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Ranked #492 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Budget and central”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends for a reunion weekend, it was easy to find and the price was good. The room was well laid out, but the space was a little tight when everyone was trying to get ready together.

There was a strong smell of chlorine and bleah, which was a bit off puttinh but at least you know the place was cleaned.

On the website it states that there is parking, i would like to advise that this isn't the case. There are plenty of charegable car parks in the surrounding area but feel the hostels website should state this as it is very mis-leading.

Every resident needs ID to check-in and when you come back, security want to see your key card which posed a slight problem as not all 10 of us had taken them out.

It is a 5 minute walk from the Russell Square Underground providing great links to central London.

All in all for the cost it is a good central location and suits a small budget. I would stay at this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alibee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    132
    236
    149
    193
See reviews for
36
64
203
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This place is horrible. Firstly they tell you that it is 10 minutes from Kings Cross but it is more like 25 minutes walk. The staff had no idea what I wanted and wouldn't consider an early breakfast for my early departure. The breakfast was chaos and I couldn't even get anything so I just walked out on the first morning.
The wifi was only in the common room which was cold and not welcoming at all.

There is no privacy in this place. There is also no where to store luggage in the room. I paid for a 4 bed dorm and was placed in a 6 bed dorm. There was no where to get changed without standing in front of everyone in the whole room. The showers were in a line with only a shower curtain for privacy. And getting dressed in front of everyone else. I felt invaded.

The beds were comfortable although no sleep at all. The place is so noisy. There is obviously no noise policy and people were walking around all night. The corridors were noisy and made it impossible to sleep.

The staff were rude - they dont tell you they take a 10 pound deposit on arrival. Even though I got it back it was still annoying.

Staff have no idea of the local area and couldnt even tell me where the nearest supermarket was.

This place is horrible Dont STAY THERE.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one away from the stair well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Rude unpersonal staff, terrible showers, charge for luggage lockers, and to top it of they put me in a bed which was already occupied, therefore I was woken up at 3am by a guy with a flashlight screaming I was on his bed. Messy desorganized breakfast, noisy night, and keeps going...

Room Tip: Don't choose a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Upon arriving to the hostel, I was greeted by a v. rude receptionist who wasn't v. polite nor did he answer my questions & asked for a £10 deposit (with no explanation). The room I went into was as expected - Double bunks all over, luggage everywhere, v. crowded & a distinct smell. There wasn't enough sockets so literally u had to stand waiting charge your phone etc.

U have to walk up & down to get to your room/shower room. The showers were cold & your better off having a wash by the sink! I know it's a youth hostel, but the room I stayed in, there were some guys who were so loud & kept shouting & peering into my bed then laughing. I didn't sleep much at all. One of the worse nights sleep I've had!

Location wise - It is v. good, being a 5 min walk from Russell Square tube station & walking distance from the British Museum etc. There is also a doorman which provides some extra security.

If your looking for location this is it, but for what u pay... There are much better youth hostels there!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mellowish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2012

You get what you pay for with this hostel. If it wasn't so close to the city it'd be out of business by the first week.

If you want a good holiday in London stay away from this place. If you're looking to live in London and are using this as temp accommodation, then I'd just like to advise you that people will be coming in and out at all hours of the night so be prepared for that.

TOILETS/SHOWER
In other areas, the toilets are shared (men/women together), the showers takes ages to get to and chances are that you will see a fair amount of genitals (curtains on cubicles on these to make it semi-private).

THE ROOM
The room is stuffy, cramped and hard to walk around. Good point: curtains on the beds so there is a little privacy when sleeping. There are very little plugs, and the lockers are under the bed (some don't work - easy to crack open).

They give you fresh sheets, but the duvet is not washed and you can clearly see yellow spit stains on the pillows.

COMMON ROOM
They play sports and movies, which is good. But that is also very cramped. Also, you need to use a key card to access it. Security don't want your friends over drinking either. They will be kicked out.

STAFF
I found half of them friendly, and half of them completely idiotic and unhelpful. For instance, having to queue just to get an internet card (behind people who are checking-in - which takes ages).

24-HOUR ACCESS
Security guard will (probably illegally) tell you to move away from the hostel if you are smoking or on the phone. Don't blame him though - he's only doing his job (and he is nice about it at least!)

PRICE
Nowhere is cheaper for a reason.

SLEEP
Again, people coming and going all the time so very little sleep is available no matter what your bedtime!

TIP: Try taking the light-bulb out so that people don't come in, turn on the light, and leave without turning it off again. This happens a lot.

BREAKFAST
Reasonable - plenty of cornflakes, toast, jam, coffee and tea available.

KITCHEN
Pretty big, but nowhere to dry washed plates. Didn't really fancy eating my wet sandwiches after I found that out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

This is the worst hostel I have ever ever stayed so far!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Receptionist, security,...etc every staff treat guests as prisoners!!!! you can never never imagine you would get this kind of experience ever in a hostel!!! this is the place you cannot relax yourself, you are under their monitoring all the time! They don't trust you at all. If your friend drop by and want to go to the toilet or wanna check the room, there's no way!!! The security will kick you out!!! unbelievable!!! The air was not fresh at all!!! and there were too many people crowd together, the coach was tooooooooo dirty!!! Even the breakfast time, it's like the market or the refugee!!! Crowds of people went the small space to grab limited bread, milk and tea and that's all about the breakfast!!! The spoons there were also dusty.
You even cannot speak with your friends in the normal voice, you have to be very quiet! Otherwise they will kick you out! All of you!!! No matter how late it is, if you speak in a normal volume, aha! They will knock your door and ask you to go to the reception to get order!!! Strange?! Yes, this is the prison! If you get problem, your friend cannot even ask you what happened!!! No reason! AHA! They will tell you that is not your friend's business, and they will say it all in a totally impolite manner!!! "Walk away, don't speak! If you speak one more word, GET OUT OF THE HOSTEL!!!"Yes they will ask you to leave!
I thought the very bad soundproof effect should be blamed, but they just blame their guests!!!!!!!!!!!
And the basement where the shower room are, they have just painted so there's a very bad smell!!! And you have no privacy cuz the shower room is public! The toilets are public! Male & Female...aha, yes! A man is peeing behind a girl!!! What the hell the hostel is!!!???!!! Is it the place to offer service to guests and to make guests feel at home??? NO absolutely NO NO NO!!! THIS IS the hell and like the prison!!! IF you have one more pounds to choose another one, just make your other plan! DO NOT ever go to this hostel!!!

Room Tip: Do not choose the hostel please!!! This is not hostel at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Very rude reception and security staff.

Stayed one night, had to pay a deposit if I broke anything which is a given but also had to pay an additional £5 deposit for a key to a locker in the shower room, out of over 40 lockers they only had one key!

£15 on deposits before I even seen where I was staying.

Shared dormitory was in the basement next to the shower block. The whole basement level smelt like a pubic toliet and was damp.

Dormitory was stuffy and did not smell clean. It was noisy considering there where so many beds crammed into the room, People coming and going all night, turning light switches on and off and banging doors.

The duvet on the bed, I would not even let my dog sleep on - It was filthy! I did not even get a pillow.

I did not hang around long enough for breakfast, I thought it would be safer to eat somewhere more clean.

The only good thing going for this place is its location on Guildford Street close to the British Museum and underground stops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanmcgowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Clink261 Hostel
Clink261 Hostel
#59 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#63 of 823 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
RestUp London
#422 of 823 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#28 of 823 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Property: Smart Russell Square Hostel
Address: 71-72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is in the heart of London, a 10-minute walk from King's Cross Railway Station and the British Library. It provides budget accommodation with free WiFi access throughout. The Smart Hostel Russell Square offers beds in mixed-sex dorms. Linen is provided and security lockers are available in all rooms. Shared and en-suite facilities are available depending on room type. Reception is open 24 hours a day, and there are no curfews or lock-out times. Guests can receive tourist information and discount tickets for major attractions. The hostel's common room features a large TV, and some shared kitchen facilities are available. Self-service laundry facilities and an internet cafe are also offered on site. Russell Square Underground Station is 252 yrd away. The Foundling Museum, Islington Farmers Market and University College London are all within 10 minutes' walk. Camden is a great choice for travellers interested in Theatre, Museums and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing