We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare find ”
Review of L'Assaggino

L'Assaggino
Ranked #18,533 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$25
Description: A newly established Italian Fresh Pasta Restaurant with traditional values- fresh food, simple ingredients and good wine. We only use fresh, carefully sourced and seasonal ingredients to make all our beautiful, rustic dishes. A convivial atmosphere, great wines, faultless service and a warm heart - are proving a winning formula in a neighbourhood overrun with soulless chains. Find L’assaggino on a quaint cobbled street, a Grade 2 listed building off Richmond Green. Enjoy fresh homemade pasta & authentic Italian cuisine from our Sardinian Chef. Fresh locally produced food with a small frequently changing menu.
Restaurant details
Description: A newly established Italian Fresh Pasta Restaurant with traditional values- fresh food, simple ingredients and good wine. We only use fresh, carefully sourced and seasonal ingredients to make all our beautiful, rustic dishes. A convivial atmosphere, great wines, faultless service and a warm heart - are proving a winning formula in a neighbourhood overrun with soulless chains. Find L’assaggino on a quaint cobbled street, a Grade 2 listed building off Richmond Green. Enjoy fresh homemade pasta & authentic Italian cuisine from our Sardinian Chef. Fresh locally produced food with a small frequently changing menu.
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmospere , friendly and efficient staff, delicious food , I highly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017

Gorgeous meal for hubby and myself. The staff were so attentive and even offered us free coffee! Would definitely go back and the food was out of this world!!! Loved it

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DohertyFamily2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Given the size of the restaurant (it's tiny), you would have thought they would have got the service just right. But no, the staff were doubling up on taking the orders and serving drinks.
Our starters were great, so we were looking forward to the mains. One hour later, these did not appear. We kept being told it would be 5 minutes and they acknowledged that the service was not up to par. Other tables who had ordered before us had already had their meals.
When they finally arrived, my pasta was just about warm and my partner's food was over cooked to the point of being dry. We were asked twice how our food was, and we said it wasn't great. Not once did they offer to do anything about it, they just walked away.We were hungry and it wasn't an option to get another meal cooked.
At the end of the meal, they asked us if we wanted to remove the service charge.
This is where I believe they got it all wrong. A decent restaurant should have dealt with this in a much more professional way. Either they should have taken the service off before presenting the bill, deducted something or offered a gesture of a drink on the house, just by way of an apology. But to put us in the position of making that decision, is pushing away their responsibility. And in any case,leaving a tip, is up to a customer's discretion as a general rule anyway.At the end of the day, it wasn't the service that was the problem. There was obviously problems in the kitchen and the quality of the food.
So overall, very disappointed with the food and the attitude of the management.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LassagginoRestaurant, Owner at L'Assaggino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving your detailed review for Lassaggino.

I am sorry and disappointed to read that your visit did not meet your expectations nor the usually high standards we set for our selves.

It is through feedback like yours that we can recognize areas to improve so your comment is appreciated.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We came across this little restaurant by chance. It is sited in a quiet back alley away from the crowds but only just off the main road. Despite its small size the reception, ambience and service was excellent. We had two pasta dishes, both delicious and nicely presented. The desserts were also well made and a real treat. We have eaten many times in Italy and this little hideaway is a wonderful reflection of the real thing. Definitely worth a diversion and should be on your schedule for any trip to Richmond.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lord_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

I don't understand why this unique place doesn't show on a Richmond search! It should be one of the top places - certainly in Richmond and surrounding area. It's tucked away but easy to find just off the Green. A small downstairs seating area is supplanted by more upstairs. Probably best to book at busy times. The menu is deliberatley limited - it has a small kitchen - and it seems they prefer to concentrate on home made genuine Italian food. Here they succeed in spades. All the dishes are traditional and beautifully cooked and presented and as good as any trattoria I've visited in Italy. The lamb ragu was superb and the coffee panda cotta (a special on the evening we went) was perfection. If your'e looking for the full Italian menu experience then look elsewhere - it really only pasta mains. I you want food like Momma makes - with a smile and personal service then come here. We went pre dinner but the selection was from the full menu with complimentary prosecco. Wine a little on the expensive side but overall excellent value for money. Well done guys!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank malcandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Assaggino also viewed

Twickenham, Greater London
Kew, Richmond
 
Twickenham, Greater London
Richmond, Greater London
 

Been to L'Assaggino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing