We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedales of Borough

Bedales of Borough
Ranked #4,764 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Description: Our original wine bar and shop is a tribute to Bedale Street, Borough Market and corner of London past. Not to be overshadowed by its neighbour, The Shard, Bedales is filled with personality wine; food; tastings; we'll let you discover the rest.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a real favourite of mine, wine always served at the perfect temperature, the food platters always delicious. The only problem is more & more people keep discovering it so it's getting harder to get a table without booking. For an end of the week drink it can't be beaten

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelleS_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    68
    11
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
291 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“I love Bedales wine bar - cool and laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I've been here a few times. It has had a bit of updating since I last went and I think it's a bit of a hidden gem. A great place to meet for a glass of wine, to buy wine and to have some finger food and tappas type snacks.

We went on a Thursday night and it was very busy. We hadn't booked so my top tip is book if you want a guaranteed place to sit and don't want to stand at the small bar or at the standing outside tables in Borough Market.

Good wine, lovely smells coming from the food prep area, you can also buy bottles of wine which are very good. There's a good, large area downstairs too. Really convenient location for London Bridge, Borough and Borough market.

Service is laid back, friendly and not intrusive.

We arrived with no booking and wanted to sit at a reserved table (booked for one hour earlier) until the people arrived and that seemed to be quite confusing for the waiting staff. Confusion overcome we sat down and had a lovelyt glass of prosecco costing £6 before moving on. It was a little strange but nothing that would put me off going again and perhaps smapling the food next time. It smelt delicious and very tempting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wine break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped in here when needing a wine break from Borough Market on a Saturday. Shared a bottle of one of their cheaper wines, which was very nice and sat at the bar watching the world go by. A pleasant time was had and the staff were friendly. Didn't eat but enjoyed our time there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0binballantine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Located in Borough Market, this was a nice spot for a sitdown with a glass of wine and something to nibble on. We were seated downstairs and it was quite nice there. The wines we chose were very nice, but the antipasti-platter was very disappointing. For £15 we expected a bit more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank grykem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A Pleasant little wine bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

A really nice little wine bar in Borough Market, there is nothing fancy about this place, it has a rustic feel about it, which adds to it's attraction.

I normally have a drink in here on the way home or to meet friends and also with my lovely partner. They have a really good wine list plus you can also pick from the cellar. I have only eaten a platter of cheese and olives which was great with some nice wine. The atmosphere has always been buzzy and we have enjoyed every visit. The service has always been good, it can get busy sometimes you may have to wait, but as I always say relax.

Try the place.

J & M

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bedales of Borough also viewed

 

Been to Bedales of Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing