We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good”
Review of Raison D'etre

Raison D'etre
Ranked #31 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Brushy Creek, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“It's all good”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great breakfast selections, very good prices, fast service, and a very friendly and helpful owner make Raison D'etre a cut above similar cafes in the area. It was so good we came here twice even though our lodgings included complementary hot English breakfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Middle-aged_Madman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    62
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Easily the best baguette I have had in London. The service is very friendly and the prices are brilliant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank domtill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly amazing”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Best Coffee and Sandwich place in London.
Great menu and very friendly staff.
I recommend the new yorker, raison d'etre and Joseph baguettes. They are absolutely tasty and you won't find anything similar in town!

Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This place is fantastic. Best croissants in London, and extremely friendly staff, all at reasonable prices. The sandwiches are surprisingly good–the kind of food you didn't expect to be so good. Truly enjoyable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_P460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I've eaten lunch here every day”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Raison is by far one of my favorite things about my time in London by far. A friend showed me this place one afternoon before he departed and I have honestly been back every single day.
Matt (the owner) is the coolest guy and has treated me and my friends like family every single day. I try a new menu item every single day and have yet to not be impressed, I do not think that there is one item on the menu that is not phenomenal.
No matter how long you're in the area, you have to make your way over to see Matt and the crew and let them brighten your day with a great traditional French baguette and some amazing hospitality that makes you feel at home.
Every time I come back to London I will make sure and make it over here multiple times and you should too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raison D'etre also viewed

 

Been to Raison D'etre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing