We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BANK HOLIDAY IN THE SUN”
Review of Roebuck

Roebuck
Reserve with OpenTable
Roebuck is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,981 of 27,377 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chiswick
Description: Long-established in the Chiswick community, The Roebuck has always been loved by its locals for its warm atmosphere, stunning dining room and gorgeous garden. But everyone's welcome – come along for some delicious food paired with your choice of a vast selection of craft beers, eclectic wines and boutique gins
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Stayed in Chiswick during 4 to 8 May and had drinks in the Roebuck during the day and at night. They have lovely walled garden at the back which is lit up at night and very pleasant. The staff were friendly and place had nice atmosphere. We never ate here but the food being served looked and smelled good. The Camden IPA was very good pint. Cheers Roebuck

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GJWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoebuckChiswick, Manager at Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks for the feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the sunny bank holiday with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Great place for drinks and food. Friendly staff well most some just need to smile will help.
Can’t complain about selection and choice of drinks I’m sure it will cater for all.
Food selection was good and seems to change daily. Portions are good and if you think you will need more please don’t they give you enough to keep you happy.
Only think wouldn’t recommend is the rare beef salad with rote vegetables as in sure the beef was the left overs from Sunday lunch. As one thing it wasn’t was rare. It was more medium well. The the fries with Truffle and Parmesan this was very disappointing. You could see the parmesan but this was just a few pieces I think was left in the grater. When it came to truffle this was no where to be found.
The only thing it came with was lots and lots of salt that is all you could taste.
I will be back give it a try but only due to the friendly staff well most of them and there one Irish guy that I have to say makes you welcome not sure of name but have to say thank you.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Quinnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoebuckChiswick, Manager at Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy your food while you visited us. We will certainly act on the elements that you have highlighted; we are constantly looking to improve across the board to make sure all of our customers have a great time at The Roebuck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic lunch - roast chicken and veggie. Nice pint in the sun. Great atmosphere - will certainly be back!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Travel-m-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoebuckChiswick, General Manager at Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hello

Thanks for the great review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit on Sunday.

Hopefully some more sunshine to come for you to enjoy the garden.

Thanks
Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We went to The Roebuck on a Friday evening a few weeks ago and we loved it. It attracts nice crowds, has a great selection of beers and drinks and the garden is absolutely gorgeous!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank agabidzinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoebuckChiswick, General Manager at Roebuck, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hello

Thanks for the great review. We are glas you enjoed your visit & hope to see you soon.

Thanks
Henry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

We chose to eat at the Roebuck on our first night in Chiswick, we sat in the bar area where you can also dine, it was nice, warm, candles on the table and lighting perfect.

On being shown to our table we were sat near the door to the garden, we immediately asked to be seated somewhere else as the smokers were going out into the garden and cold wind was blowing in through the door.

The restaurant is clean however it was noticeable it was also cold, I would advise if you can get a table in the bar to eat, sit in there.

We both chose the Fish and Chips which we gave a 2/10, the portion of peas was very poor no more than a teaspoon and the Fish was 70% batter.

On paying the bill there is a 12.5% service charge, the charge was put against a bottle of wine and glass of Prosecco which I went to the bar and ordered myself possibly an innocent mistake by the waitress, this should be noted if you're ordering your drinks in the bar prior to eating and putting it on a tab.

On the whole the service was good and the Pub and Bar is an excellent place to unwind and have a drink in a good atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank kevind215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roebuck also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Roebuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing