We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unspeakably poor”
Review of Southam Street

Southam Street
Ranked #11,538 of 24,672 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$7 - US$158
Description: Southam Street, the contemporary three-storey dining and drinking destination located on bustling Golborne Road, is the go-to for discerning Londoners in search of an epicurean journey, interior aficionados wanting a hip design fix and locals wanting a hangout to settle in from day to night. Brought to you by the duo behind the critically acclaimed 108 Garage, Luca Longobardi and Chris Denney. Southam Street’s ground floor Robata Grill and second floor Raw bar, mixes western and Japanese influences to bring a familiar yet invigorating taste sensation across all dishes. Complementing the food brings a strong focus to design that errs on the playful and mischievous as well as the luxurious and decadent. The haunt celebrates the bohemian eccentricity with heightened glamour from the local neighbourhood, visually represented by a patchwork of risque and eclectic wallpapers, exquisite marble counters and sleek yet comfortable furniture.
Restaurant details
Description: Southam Street, the contemporary three-storey dining and drinking destination located on bustling Golborne Road, is the go-to for discerning Londoners in search of an epicurean journey, interior aficionados wanting a hip design fix and locals wanting a hangout to settle in from day to night. Brought to you by the duo behind the critically acclaimed 108 Garage, Luca Longobardi and Chris Denney. Southam Street’s ground floor Robata Grill and second floor Raw bar, mixes western and Japanese influences to bring a familiar yet invigorating taste sensation across all dishes. Complementing the food brings a strong focus to design that errs on the playful and mischievous as well as the luxurious and decadent. The haunt celebrates the bohemian eccentricity with heightened glamour from the local neighbourhood, visually represented by a patchwork of risque and eclectic wallpapers, exquisite marble counters and sleek yet comfortable furniture.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here about when it opened - went to the sushi upstairs. I sincerely love sushi.

It was really poor. When we think back to it we both get the heebie-jeebies. The fish just wasn't right and they dressed it up in a manner that made it different than expected, but not in a good way.

Very sad dining experience for both of us.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam Street T, Manager at Southam Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for your review and our sincere apologies that your experience here fell short of your expectations.

I appreciate your points regarding the sushi, we are trying to do something different but not to give you the heebie-jeebies.

We appreciate your feedback and I hope you do give us a chance to make it right. We’d love to welcome you back, please reach out on 020 3903 3591 and ask to speak with me.

Kind Regards,


Gabor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Ventured out with my 2 year old today without my wife. That on its own is rather daunting. I looked at this place and it seemed too nice and the type of place where a man with his 2 year old daughter would probably not be most welcome. I couldn't have been more wrong. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent also. Thank you so much for a lovely experience.

Thank Ricardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor G, General Manager at Southam Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ricardo S,

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you with the little one back here soon!

Kind Regards,


Southam Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Amacing food, cocktails and separate mezcaleria. Ideal for dinner and drinks at the terrace. We go every week and never disappoints.

Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor G, General Manager at Southam Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paula F,

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you back here soon!

Kind Regards,


Southam Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Very nice feel to this place with good service from the off. Originally planned drinks here and to eat somewhere else later, but having seen others food and a glance at the menu we stayed for dinner.
Great selection of starter, I had the ribs and the others had Korean fried bun and some salads.
Go for it!

Thank FamilyTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor G, General Manager at Southam Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi FamilyTraveller68,

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you back here soon!

Kind Regards,


Southam Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Been three times, twice for dinner and once for lunch. All in i like the place but the service has to be sorted out. Food is very good and the venue is nice. They have a two bars and one patio where one can go for a drink after dinner which is super nice. However the service is just poor, staff is nice and try but they just don't get there. Takes ages to get the attention of staff and drinks comes well after food, nibbles before starters and we've had items not ordered on the bill. Basically just a mess. I really hope they sort this out as it could be a fantastic place if they just manage to provide even average level service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabor G, General Manager at Southam Street, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dennis L,

Thank you for your review. And my sincere apologies that your experience here fell short of your expectation.
We were pleased to read you liked the venue and the food but were sorry to hear there were some issues with the service. Please rest assured we have addressed this with the team to ensure we improve on this.

Kind Regards,


Southam Street Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southam Street also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Southam Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing