We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“And THIS is just a museum cafe? This is great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe @ V&A Museum

Cafe @ V&A Museum
Ranked #616 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Knightsbridge
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“And THIS is just a museum cafe? This is great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Name the cuisine, they had it all. For a lunch break, their food stations were more varied than top buffets. Indian, "American", traditional English, sandwiches, and on and on. Pastries so good we could have just eaten them. Salads better than top restaurants.

The food was great and the prices reasonable.

Our only criticism is that they weren't cleaning tables fast enough to accommodate every person coming off the line. That was minor, so we'd visit the cafe and not the V&A just for the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LasVegasSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    243
    71
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice & clean. Quick & friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My friend & I called in here before visiting the V&A Wedding Dresses exhibition. There was a large selection of hot food which looked lovely but we chose to have coffee & cake

It's self service. You queue up at one of many different service areas and make your choices. You then queue again to pay. Having said that we didn't queue for very long. We had a choice of at least 10 different cakes or muffins and our coffee was good and hot. We both enjoyed our raspberry & white chocolate muffins.

I love the areas where you sit to eat. Heavy dark wooden panelling and amazing William Morris freezes around the walls. Another area had lovely stained glass panels. My friend & I hardly spoke as we admired our surroundings

The tables are regularly cleared and cleaned & nothing felt sticky or dirty.

The only negative was the length of the queue for the (unisex) loos but that happens all the time in London I'm afraid.

A nice place to relax & refresh during a V&A visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“too busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

You purchase your food at counters and then have to search for seating. It was really crowded and people were ready to kill for a table. There must be a better system

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good Food. It is really exhausting to have to always comply with your characters requirements. I do not have time to extend my comments.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank D2687MUDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
480 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“We had a delightful lunch here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The dining room is marvelous in its decoration. We really enjoyed our lunch here. We both enjoyed our food. We remember eating here nine years ago and returned for another good meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 46749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe @ V&A Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cafe @ V&A Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing