We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, lovely ambience and they sing opera too!”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$70 - US$97
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely ambience and they sing opera too!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I dined here on Thursday 14th Nov 2013. We enjoy eating out in London, and this place appeared to offer something a little different. We arrived around 8.30 and were greeted by the smiling staff and given a table close to the Grand Piano. Having taken our order, we looked around. The restaurant was not full, but it should have been, judging by the evening that followed!
The staff sing popular songs from opera, flitting around the tables as they perform. They were excellent, very accomplished (I guess by their ages, they are serious music students or performers at the early part of their careers), but boy, they were good. The pianist was amazing, not a bad note all evening and quite excellent. Now at a 'novelty restaurant' like this, you sort of expect the food will be dissapointing, but it was not, The food was outstanding French cuisine, wll presented, freshly prepared and simply good enough in itself for a visit.
We had a great evening, and having finished our dinner we stayed longer to continue to enjoy the performances. We both would recommend this restaurant, for friends, lovers and anyone that appreciates opera, or would like to a light introduction to the opera favourites or simply enjoys good French Cuisine

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    202
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A unique experience, good for opera fans and opera newcomers”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Seniner's review has a point - that you will need to be prepared for a slight 'Ouch!' moment when the final bill for three people without additional drinks at the start covering 3 (very nicely done) courses, a glass of wine each, plus coffee for two tops £200. BUT...for a very special night out in west central London, e.g. birthday of the opera fan in your life, there is nothing to touch this place. Imagine that your table is right in the middle of an opera set and the young lady who served you chicken one minute ago suddenly bursts into Verdi, Bizet, Rossini, Donizetti or whatever. She will be a full-on vocally trained opera singer and will often add to the aria performance appropriate, quite theatrical, gestures as she walks between the tables. We LOVED it. The only slight downside is that, if you have a gourmet vegetarian in your group, there is only one vegetarian choice for the main course. Also, the fortissimo singing which frequently hits top C or higher, might be a rather overpowering experience for children. The big plus food-wise, though, was that the chocolate fondant for dessert was one of the most exquisite we've ever eaten. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
4 reviews
““Delicious Food and great singing"”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We as a couple went to Bel Canto for evening dining and show. What a great and very unusual night out. The food is good, the service excellent and the opera superb. Le Bel Canto is one of the best dinner experiences that include entertainment in London. Its quite expensive but worths a visit. Good for special occasions

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Performace good (if you like this stuff), service average, food wanting ... service charge a RIP OFF”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was astounded when presented with a bill of £284.00 which included a £93.00 service charge.
We were dining with a pre-pay arrangement where we had paid for our food, and had to order prior to arrival, weeks in advance. As the food was pre-paid the bill of £191.00 came from very overpriced drinks and the £93.00 service charge on top of that bill was in insult. So to get it in perspective we paid £45.00 for a very ordinary meal per head. In addition we spent £19.00 per head on drinks. Total £64.00 per head. The 12.5% service charge was £9.00 per head. Wait on - 12.5% of £64.00 is £8.00, so where did the extra £1.00 in the service charge come from? Well they claim was the £1.00 was the service charge on the two 'free' drinks they offered us, which only half those attending took up. So we were charged a service charge on drinks offered free that were declined. RIP-OFF.

Time for this place to rethink its market position. We attended on a Friday night and it was far from full. If that does not send off alarm bells .... they are doomed.

As for thwe waiting staff, they clearly enjoy singing because the service was nothing to crow about.

If you like opera, go to the opera. If you like good food and reasonable charges, go somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Seniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Seniner,

Thank you for sparing from your time to leave a feedback for your experience in Bel Canto.

I am extremely disappointed that you found the food average and the wines overpriced and I am very surprised to read your comments, as on the evening during our service you assured us that everything is enjoyable and you kept ordering more wine.

As explained on the night and highlighted in the fine print of your voucher, the Discretionary service charge comes on the pre-discounted amount of the bill. We provide the same level of service and food to everyone, regardless using offer or not. As we explained we would happily removed it if you asked, which you didn’t.
We would never charge for something which is advertised as “complimentary”, so I believe your comment here is due to misunderstanding.

The good tone of this forum does not allow me to answer your other comments.

All the team wishes you all the best and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you in near future.

Lyrically Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best value entertainment for the money”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Although we all (6 people) enjoyed the food, it is not Michelin standard but a very high quality. However, the venue is fabulous. The singing is of a very high standard and all the staff we encountered were charming and very friendly. Various sizes of parties in the restaurant, ranging from couples to one table of approx. 12. The general atmosphere was wonderful and everyone seemed very happy and having a good time. I think the experience is worth every penny and I would certainly return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElliottWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing