We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic opera and fantastic food”

Bel Canto Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bel Canto Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 23,024 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$70 - US$97
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located just a few minutes from Lancaster Gate tube station, Bel Canto is suitable for all events and celebrations including birthdays and romantic evenings. Our opera restaurant attracts everyone from opera enthusiasts to curious tourists and culinary explorers. The classic French menu changes seasonally, and is complemented by a diverse selection of both French and Italian wines. Bel Canto has approximately 60 artists on rotation. Every evening 4 singers and a pianist will perform a variety of arias from celebrated operas. The talented waiting staff will belt out everything from Verdi to Wagner while serving fine French cuisine! During the evening you will receive a glass prosecco to join in with the artists to toast with them for the "Libiamo" of the "Traviatta"! Bel Canto is an intimate Restaurant and is decorated with ruby red wallpaper, ornate opera costumes and crisp white linens. Bel Canto offers truly unique and intimate dining experience - the whole team cannot wait to share with you!
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic opera and fantastic food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

All too often a "themed" restaurant has poor food and even poorer service, but not Bel Canto.
My companion and I had an excellent evening, almost three hours long of opera and good food.
The young singers/servers are so superb, and great actors as well.

Pricey, yes, but well worth spending our last evening in London at Bel Canto!

Plan to visit when next in London, hopefully in the fall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank higham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear higham
What superb feed back! We are so happy that you recognise how much more than just a ‘themed restaurant’ Bel Canto really is. We strive to combine the highest quality food with equally high quality entertainment. We are extremely proud of what we do and it is always lovely to receive such a positive response! We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in Autumn! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    207
    31
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were at the Bel Canto on Saturday to celebrate my birthday and we had the best night that we have had in a very long time. The atmosphere was terrific and everyone interacted with one another and the singing.....oh it was fantastic. When the waiters and waitresses started singing it was so wonderful it was spellbinding to have them walking around while they were singing. It made you feel they were giving you a private performance. It was a real privilege to be able to speak to the singers and get to know their background. The meal was delicious and presented beautifully and to cap it all I had my own rendition of the best sung happy birthday ever. It was a wonderful evening and I can't wait to go again. Sarah B

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear SarahB
Many thanks for your ‘spellbinding’ review. I’m so happy we could provide such a memorable evening for your birthday. I will be certain to pass on your kind words to our staff who work meticulously to provide such high quality food, service and singing (of course!) We would love to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable evening with a great atmosphere and excellent service”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Great night, thoroughly enjoyable.
Service was excellent and a lovely atmosphere, much better than I expected despite the great reviews.
Will certainly go again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beesupfulhamdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for your wonderfully kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit to Bel Canto so much! We strive for perfection and it is really very gratifying to read comments such as yours. We do hope to welcome you back soon. Have a wonderful day!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really lovely evening”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

As a "finale" to our five days in London, our family(four kids aged 17-23) spent the evening at Bel Canto. We enjoyed the intermittent arias sung by wonderfully professional opera singers punctuating the delicious dinner. For the price, I would have preferred slightly more generous portions(we are big eaters) and for the sake of the kids, a very brief introduction and context of the specific arias being sung would have been helpful. However, each of the singers gave detailed background explanations whenever we inquired. The manager was very friendly and efficient, periodically checking in with us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves. Especially delightful was the finale... "the drinking song" from La Traviata in which the entire cast serenaded the audience and we all joined in with "la la la la la la...."

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 November 2014
Hi,

Thank you so much for describing your visit to Bel Canto as 'a really lovely evening'. It is exceptionally kind of you to share your comments on Trip Advisor and we really do appreciate it. I do hope that you will do us the honour of returning to us again one day, we'd love to welcome you back! I hope you have a lovely day.

Lyrically yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food and experience”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I recently took my wife to the Bel Canto Restaurant for our anniversary. Before we went I corresponded with the manager, Chris, via e-mail many times as i had something special planned for my wife. Chris was very accommodating and patient with all of my questions! Chris very kindly arranged for one of the sopranos to sing the aria that my wife walked down the aisle to when we got married, which was sung incredibly by the lady that very kindly performed it during our meal. Hopefully this does not cause Chris to be inundated with similar requests! The performances of the other arias from various well known operas by the other singers / waiters and waitress were also delivered with perfection. In addition to this the food was equally as good. We ate fois gras for our starters and pork cheek for our main courses, both of which i had never tried before and were absolutely delicious. I cannot speak highly enough of this restaurant, which is also in an idyllic location opposite Hyde Park therefore a stroll after dinner (in the summer months) is also recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jpmaurel, Owner at Bel Canto Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Mark G,

We are delighted to have been a part of you and your wife's special evening. Bel Canto seems to us to be a very romantic setting and we are happy you agree! Similar requests of course will be accepted as we wish all of our guests to have the best experience possible.
i would like to say a big "Thank you" on behalf of Chris for the kind words!

We hope to see you both again soon.

Lyrically yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Canto Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bel Canto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing