We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mercer

The Mercer
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mercer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,401 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: City of London
Transit: Bank Liverpool Street
Description: Moments away from The Bank of England, on the business end of Threadneedle Street, you will find The Mercer, an old banking hall upgraded to monochrome finery befitting her professional clientele. Flexible and confident in our hospitality, we can tailor make your dining experience, be that a quick-fire business meeting or a more relaxed sojourn.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I had a company dinner party here recently and enjoyed it very much. The food was good and the service was well done. My only complaint was the private dining room upstairs was up a very difficult stairway and there was no lift available. This was tough on one in our group who was on crutches. Good appetizers. Good entrees. Will definitely go back and enjoy dinner here downstairs on my next visit to London.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    75
    26
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very nice lunch in the heart of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The food at the Mercer was very good and the service was attentive and efficient. I have no complaints.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Toomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
222 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“the Mercer is a new take on an old fashioned English Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

You go to the Mercer for comfort food like potted Shripms, Pies, Liver and Bacon and welsh Rarebit. It's a massive step above the classic City traditional restaurants like the George and Vulture and Sweetings, but it has further to go before you would describe it as super-special. I have been many times; the food is consistently good but it is a noisy eaterie that packs in the lunchtime business diners and seems to lack a certain panache.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foxbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Lunch here on Friday. Not been here before and will not be going again. Not only is the menu limited but what they do have is simply not very good at all and that is assuming it is available which it wasn't when we went. Combine that with inconsistent service and a lack of knowledge even from the Maître D and I can't see how it keeps going. I am not a harsh critic and tend to try and see the positives but I left feeling very disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grapes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lunch in The Mercer today, only the second time I have been because my first experience was a disappointment. I thought I would give it another go following some good reviews on here, but it can at best be described as average. Starter of scallops and pork belly was not bad, but the scallops were slightly overcooked and the pork belly chewy rather than melting. Fillet steak on the bone for main can only be desribed as dreadful. It was small and overcooked having been ordered medium rare. It genuinely tasted like shoe leather. I cannot even establish if the meat had potential before it was destroyed. It wasn't tasty in any event and for £35 I would have thought better could be sourced. I should have sent it back, but was with a client. They had the chicken pie which did look great. Nobody bothered to ask how the meal was which I always think is only a mistake restaurants make when they are wary of the response they might get. Anyway won't be going back and couldn't recommend. For £55 per head without any wine it is definitely overpriced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mercer also viewed

 

Been to The Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing