We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrambled egg with a side of charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fountain Restaurant- Fortnum & Mason - CLOSED

The Fountain Restaurant- Fortnum & Mason
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$62
Cuisines: British, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Transit: Piccadilly Circus (Bakerloo & Piccadilly lines)and Green Park (Jubilee, Victoria & Piccadilly lines) Bus no. 9, 14, 19, 22, 38
Description: The Fountain Restaurant provides a deluxe brasserie atmosphere for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Eclectic menus bring together the finest food and drink, featuring established favourites such as Fortnum's Welsh Rarebit, HM The Queen Mother's favourite midnight snack, Oeufs Drumkilbo, and the long-adored Knickerbocker Glory.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scrambled egg with a side of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

i'm a frequent visitor to the Fountain restaurant for their wonderful breakfasts that, as other reviewers have stated, are impeccable. However, what keeps me returning to the Fountain is the exceptional level of service, which is friendly, personal and attentive without ever being officious or overbearing. This is particularly true of the host, Kit, who is the epitome of discreet cordiality and old fashioned English charm. Worth a visit just for the pleasure of his company.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    151
    70
    33
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
223 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food & good service; price to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable lunch in the Fountain Restaurant on Wednesday this week. Obviously the surroundings are wonderful, and the food doesn't disappoint.
We both chose scallops to start with; which were perfect.
I chose the whole plaice special, which was HUGE. Absolutely delicious.
My husband chose the duck confit, which was also excellent.
We had no room for desserts unfortunately as they too looked wonderful.
Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great friendly service, what you would expect from fortnums”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly efficient service from the outset. We were slightly late due to horrendous traffic, but still greeted with a smile. Attentive service from the waiters throughout meal (very quiet time to eat, so can't speak for had it been extremely busy). Lovely atmosphere down to the finer details you would expect e.g the bread basket was a miniature version of their F&M picnic hamper baskets. Food was lovely and not over pricey. Two of us went for the set menu and the other for main. Great all round.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sutie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently had a nice lunch at this restaurant. It is a typical British venue with nice touches: tablecloths, cloth napkins, good food and an air or respectability. The food was served in a nice manner. The special cocktail that day with edible pansies was delightful. Service could have been a little bit more attentive however they probably could have used additional staff to make the serving more efficient.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Food, Service, Price - all superior level”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

There are at least a half dozen restaurants in Fortnum's food basilica. The recent remodel in the Jubilee year, has smartened up the venues. The Fountain Restaurant may be accessed from the store itself an also from the street. This gives the public more access to Fortnum food when the store is closed.

The food is of good quality and thoughtfully prepared. The staff is old school with several layers of attention given to the guest. When I was there for a mini-brunch the staff was better dressed than most of the guests (unlike the tea rooms at the top of the store where it's at least a tie). The room is simple and tasteful in a bespoke money sort of way.

Two comments - the tea pots are the heaviest I've encountered anywhere. The tables along the wall are close together. This means conversations are not private. I was a bit surprised to hear the guests at the next table (who I do not know) talking about a friend of mine in less than charming terms.

For London, the prices are not out of line and are extremely reasonable for Fortnum's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ggobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fountain Restaurant- Fortnum & Mason also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing