We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a poor stay...”
Review of Trebovir Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trebovir Hotel
Ranked #775 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at the trebovir hotel for 1 night and i have to agree with many of the previous reviews that the experience was underwhelming.. i honestly struggle to point out any positives... the only positive is that it is very close to earls court metro.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the receptionist whos behaviour was somewhat patronising and arrogant. in all fairness we had a difficult night due to transport difficulties and we looked a bit dishevelled but that shouldnt have affected the way we were treated/spoken to. We paid almost £90 for a lower ground room!that doesnt sound like a bargain to me!! the room we were allocated smelled and staff had liberally used cheap room spray tocover the smell up. The size of the room was tiny but the main issue for us was the dollhouse sized toilet! It is so small that my left leg was in the shower space when using the toilet.airline size toilet with a very small shower on side. Overall quite poor for the price. As for the breakfast ...we arrived at 8.45ish and there were no seats left! After 5mins we were shown to a table that was so cramped we had to move the table out of its original place so we could take a seat without having to move everyone else arounds us from their seats. Breakfast was simple but ok. A mini croissant with cheese and ham...my husband had toast with butter and jam. Concentrate orange juice was available coffee and tea as well as some cereal. Overall breakfast ok but nothing special. We didnt complain as we read some of the comments of other customers who complained but nothing happened...i dont believe it should be down to the customer to tell the hotel how to provide excellent customer service.it shouldnt be up to us to use our time to complain to managers that dont want to hear any of it. It is the hotels responsibility to ensure all customers receive very high quality of customer service every time we use your hotel.would not recommend...
Finally i agree with the previous review.. the photos are different to the real hotel experience... it seems the reception area is where all the money has gone to. Leaving nothing for the lower ground rooms...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greaves2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Great location.takes only tube for GBP 1.70 with oyster card to arrive from LHR.
Rooms are small but efficiently furnished and clean. Personal very helpful.storage of luggage free after checkout (other economic hotels do charge these days) tube around corner plenty of coffee shops and restaurants as well.
My favourite in London!

Room Tip: Being in central london you always get some noise either tube or street noise.if extremely sensitive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina_de_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

It is humanly impossible to stay in a room as small as this. The bathroom really takes the cake. It looks like a portable toilet had been built into the room. How I survived for 3 days in this hotel is beyond me. The only bright side to all this was the extremely helpful manager by the name of Arpit Patel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paramalingam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Vincenzo R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was unfortunate to be given a lower ground floor single room. Well I nearly suffocated from the smell of sewage or gas in the room. My complaints fell on deaf ears. Pity because the hotel is in a good location. I found long hairs on my bed cover.
Why did I not walk out? Because I was exhausted, it was late evening, and I had a very early start in the morning. El Cheapo tea and coffee bags in the room, two only sugar sachets. Why they skimp on 10 or 20 cents is beyond me.
Caveat emptor, buyer beware if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zimbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark0brien, General Manager at Trebovir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you ‘zimbax’ for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.
It concerns me that your room smelled like sewage or gas as I am not aware of this problem within our hotel. As you mentioned it was a lower ground floor room I have asked my Head Housekeeper to inspect all the rooms in the lower ground for any bad smells. If there is a maintenance issue I shall have it rectified immediately.
As reviewed by many other travellers our hotel is spotlessly clean and each room is checked thoroughly before letting. I have passed your comment about the long hairs on your bed cover to the Head Housekeeper who will investigate which room attendant is shedding hair and report back to me. Any stray hairs should be picked up as part of room checking prior to re letting.
I do not know with the ‘El Cheapo’ brand which you seem to be familiar with. We use quality tea and coffee sachets in all our rooms. We limit the amount we provide in the rooms due to lack of space on the hospitality tray. The trays are replenished on a daily basis. If a guest requires more they usually call reception for more to be delivered or will collect some themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Money is best spent on a good hotel, this place is not clean and not worth what you pay. Do not give deposit.
Small dirty room, awful smell of damp or wet in the air, everybody complaining at reception. I feel bad for staff. Pictures on website nothing like the actual, this should not be allowed by tourist board.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent1980L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark0brien, General Manager at Trebovir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

I am saddened to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. I have to refute most of what you say as our hotel is clean as is testified by many travellers on various review websites. I am not sure which room you were allocated and can find no reference to any complaints made regarding damp smelly rooms in the hotel complaints diary.
If you had complained to the reception we would have done our upmost to move your room if it was possible.
The pictures on the website are typical examples of the rooms in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

During a recent trip to London, I stayed for 3 nights at the Trebovir. I was pleased with my choice. The location is fantastic with the Earl's Court tube station around the corner and many restaurants/pubs and shopping so close. The rooms are small, but if your main goal is sightseeing, then the room offers exactly what you need in terms of a comfortable bed, cleanliness, and hot shower. I opted for a double room which was decent for 1 person, especially if coming from the American perspective of being used to more space in a hotel room. The tiny bathrooms may be a challenge for a very tall or heavier weight person but was fine for me being a shorter and smaller frame. The staff was decent and helpful when I asked any questions. The on-site included continental breakfast was adequate to start the day, but if you want a more substantial breakfast, you should go elsewhere. Also, they have a luggage storage room, which is handy if you arrive before check-in or need to leave your luggage for a bit after you checkout. The room prices were affordable. Overall, it was a decent stay.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the street and not the tube station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfan229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#575 of 1,076 in London
483 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#441 of 1,076 in London
398 reviews
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#645 of 1,076 in London
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#738 of 1,076 in London
438 reviews
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#699 of 1,076 in London
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trebovir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trebovir Hotel

Address: 18-20 Trebovir Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9NH, England (Formerly Grand Hotel London)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #775 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £57 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trebovir Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal Earl's Court Hotel - In a quiet street just yards from the bustle of Earl's Court Road and the Exhibition Centre, Trebovir Hotel, offers 62 modern, comfortable and spacious rooms. The building comprises two classic West London townhouses, rich with English charm and within easy reach of excellent transport links. Trebovir Hotel features classic cosseting accommodation and a healthy, generous Continental breakfast, all at very keen prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trebovir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trebovir Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing