We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st class Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1st class Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Kensington for three nights in October 2011. It was a wonderful experience. The staff were most friendly, professional and efficient. We had visited London in 2008 and stayed the other side of Hyde Park (Sussex Gardens), however the location of the Kensington is much better. Only a five min walk to the tube and lots of shops nearby in Kensington High street. Our room was cosy, clean and had all the features that could be expected. The bar was our afternoon/evening post-sightseeing treat and the lounge a great spot to relax. I'd be happy to rate the the Kensington 9.5 out of 10 and it would certainly be my first choice on our next visit (hopefully 2013!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Dear Darren1961,
Thank you very much for your kind review of the Kensington Hotel.
I am happy that you enjoy your stay with us, it was a real pleasure to look after you.
Please feel free to contact me directly should you be coming to London again, I would be delighted to look after your booking for you.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Kensington Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
chiara_vierchowod@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
487
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I had stayed in The Kensington Hotel a few times before, mostly because of the location, which is my favourite area of London, and the Irish connection, turning a blind eye to the dated, overly-priced but clean surroundings. Since, I have stayed in other hotels mostly in Marylebone and Holborn, but I stayed there in late June and am so glad I gave it another turn. Looooove the new look of the place and loved my stay; from the welcoming and efficient staff on arrival, the surprisingly fabulous superior room and bathroom with turndown service, the still excellent location and the many great eateries around the corner on Old Brompton Road especially the Italian and the Scandanavian (Madsen) restaurants. Oh, and we met some rockstars staying there that were playing Hyde Park that weekend!! I am due a return trip to London early New Year and it will be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unachicagilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Unachicagilmore,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Kensington Hotel. I really appreciate your feedback I know this takes time and wanted to express my gratitude. I look forward to your next visit. Should you be coming to London again please feel free to contact me directly.
Kind Regards
Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel for a weekend with my wife
It was is in a central and interesting part of London easily accessible to airport and central London via the Tube.
I found the staff pleasant especially the night ported who had a cup of coffee waiting for us at a 5 am check out. Who had also call the car service to make sure that they would be there on time.
The hotel itself is surrounded by reasonably priced restaurants and pubs

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear John C,
Thank you for sharing your experience with all tripasdvisor travelers. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Kensington Hotel and I hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

After weeks of research, I selected The Kensington for a first time in London stay. We arrived on November 4th after an overnight flight and from the minute we stepped aboard it was clear we made a perfect pick. Great check-in (early), clean rooms, filling hot breakfast, attentive and competent service. Only a block to the South Ken Tube station where you can get one of three lines around the city. We used the Tube the entire time on a 7 day TravelCard, even from/to Heathrow (and we are a couple of 50 year olds who advise anyone to skip the expensive taxis and go Tube!) Free wifi and expresso in rooms along with twice daily turn down. Yep - this was good living!

In selecting the hotel, I was looking for some great "English ambiance", i.e. I don't want to fly 4,000 miles to stay in a hotel that looks like a million other hotels in any big city worldwide. The Kensington has that "pinch me I am in London" feel - lots of cozy fireplace nooks and a warm and inviting breakfast space. My husband and I ate one night at the on site restaurant, Aubrey, enjoying a wonderful meal and a nice bottle of wine in a candlelit room. There are quite a few smaller, neighborhood places within a block or two - lots of choices there.

Our room was not huge, but comfortable and well appointed. Bathroom clean and spacious (I am nuts about a clean hotel bathroom and no complaints.) I read one review before I left that said the room was noisy as it was located near or on top of an adjacent club. I think we may have had that same room and I have to say we didn't hear a peep. True story - one night as we returned to the hotel we saw the club doors open for business and my husband had no idea we had been sleeping right on top of it for the past 6 nights. Never heard it. The window has the old panes, but then a "storm window" (I know Americans know what that is) which kept out the noise.

I have never saluted an employee of any hotel by name before in a TripAdvisor review, but Martyn at the Concierge desk deserves it. Martyn did a great job! We had never been to London and he was so helpful - gracious and accomodating. I never got the feel we were being steered to the tourist traps that are sometimes the "push" spots of other hotel concierge desks.

Honestly - this was a special birthday trip so I was willing to spend a bit on a room. London is a freaky-expensive city - probably more so since our American dollars don't seem to go as far as they used to. However, I think the Kensington delivered on all counts and made the experience worth every cent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieSuburbanChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear marieSuburbanChicago ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of the Kensington Hotel.
I really appreciate your praise and I am delighted you enjoyed your time here with us.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist in your next booking.
On behalf of the management and staff at Kensington Hotel, we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We first stayed at this hotel in July when we chose the location as convenient to get to Wimbledon for the lawn tennis championships. The hotel is an easy walk from South Kensington station and there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops and a couple of convenience stores including a lovely little Waitrose. We had a standard room which was fine, nothing to complain about except the bathroom which was very strangely up a flight of steps. This was not the best place to access the facilities and proved to be a real nuisance. We did not receive a turndown service and all in all it was a very disappointing stay. I contacted the hotel and explained how let down we were after expecting such high standards and their customer service was excellent. After several emails I was offered a complimentary up-grade on my next stay which was in September. We took the leisurely London rate which included breakfast and a £15 credit for food or beverage. Our room was much better this time, we had a junior suite with a 4 poster bed, the room was large and well furnished and we had complimentary water and a fruit plate. The bathroom was huge with his and hers sinks, a bath tub with tv and a walk in shower. When we returned in the evening we had rose petals all over the bed which looked very pretty, a flask of iced mango tea and some cakes. We had breakfast at the hotel which was a bit ordinary and the service was slow but there was plenty to eat but I thought the restaurant was very dull. Whilst I would recommend this hotel for it's location I would say it is slightly pretentious and I have stayed in better hotels in London for the price. I would however commend their after care customer service so thank you to Anstis for all your help.

Room Tip: Up-grade if you can afford to or get a special deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear SueG56 ,

Thank you for your gracious review. I am happy that you enjoyed your last stay at the Kensington Hotel.We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northshore, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

My partner and I came to Brighton for (her) work and decided to spend a couple of days in London...first time for both of us. Everyone told us that we should stay in South Kensington...and boy were they right! We loved this hotel - the location, the bar, the room, the delightful bath products....couldn't have been better unless we could have extended our stay! Go to the Hummingbird Bakery and pick up a treat, and if you like Indian, please hit the Indian restaurant right by Kensington station (5 minute walk) - best Indian I've EVER had.
Enjoy this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, Front Office Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Sarahinboston,

Thank you for your kind words about the Kensington Hotel, I really appreciate your feedback and I hope to see you soon again here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Chiara Vierchowod
Front Office Manager
The Kensington hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

the hotel boasts a 5-star rating, but was closer in overall quality to the 4-star standard for London. However, as the price was also closer to that for a 4-star property, many people may still feel it is good value. The hotel is very well renovated and well furnished, but the rooms are quite small, on a par with 3-star hotels in terms of size, and someone who doesn't want to compromise may be disappointed. Like any property on a main road, expect noise if you want to sleep with the window open, however, it is definitely well located for those people who appreciate this part of London. The staff were generally helpful and polite and there were no unexpected charges on checking out.

Room Tip: you might prefer a room that is not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank objective_feedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,017 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing