We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #34 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at this beautiful hotel couple of months ago when I first visited my friend in London. Best stay ever for sure. I loved the location, so close to Harrods, museums and restaurants. Tube was 5min away from the hotel.
I arrived early morning and they offered to check in before 2pm which was great after long flight from US.
Staff was really friendly and helpful. It was my first time in London and they suggested the best places were to go and what to see.
My room was lovely, loved the bath and large TV,room service was great.

Defiantly coming back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,890)
There are newer reviews for The Kensington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,348 - 2,354 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

This review is long over due! I stayed here with my partner for New Years Eve 2011 (or should i say 2012) and it was a wonderful stay! The hotel itself is beautiful and staff are welcoming and so accomodating. In terms of location, its brilliant. Surrounded by wonderful restaurants and bar's its fantastic. The rooms and spotless, clean & large. As a bonus we were called a day before our stay to be told we had been upgraded! Breakfast was delicious too.

I would highly recommend this hotel and am always looking for another opportunity to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Francesca_Micia,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your New Year celebrations. We were delighted to share the wonderful night with you, we hope you enjoyed the festivities in Aubrey.
We are so glad you enjoyed your upgrade and found everything from our location to breakfast up to the standard we strive to achieve. We greatly appreciate how highly you think of us.
Lastly thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us, we always welcome our guest's feedback regardless of when you stay.

We hope you come back to visit us for another special occasion or just for a night in London soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

i am happy to let others know that Kensington Hotel has amaizing stuff and I love love love the bathrooms.

Perfect location, just walking distance from great shopping places.

Evening is great to enjoy the fire with a glass of wine..

Good luck for everyone who wants to have great place to stay in London

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Evita B,

thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us at The Kensington Hotel with the travelling community. We understand this takes time and we appreciate it. Our team is deeply committed to ensuring your visit is as perfect as possible so we are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay. A lot of time and effort went into the decor so we really appreciate your kind words regarding our bathrooms and Lounge areas, they have already been passed on to our design team.

Lastly we would like to express our gratitude for choosing The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 night while we were working at a tradeshow at Olympia. All in all it was an okay stay, but as you will read below, not fantastic, especially for what you are paying.

When we arrived there was no one to help with bags, or open the door for us. We had to ask someone to help us out, and it took a few people to organise this! At 6 months pregnant I asked months previous to be put on a floor far away from the smoking floor (4th floor). When checking in we were put on the 5th floor....once I got into the room it was very small and when walking into the bathroom I realised that I couldn't actually walk into it!!! The bathroom door only opens a small amount so with a 6 month belly I wasn't going anywhere!!! And to be honest, even if you are just slightly bigger you wouldnt be able to fit either! I told reception who were very apologetic and very lovely, they then put me into a room on the 4th floor....when I went up to it I realised that it was the smoking floor and the smell was awful so I quickly went downstairs yet again.....the reception staff were lovely though and quickly found us a room on the 2nd room that was much better. Although we were next to a fire door and main thoroughfare so it was very noisy.

The room was lovely but I do think that for the rating of the hotel and the price they charge some things are a little old. The towels for example are not at all luxurious, nor are the beds and bedding. Everything seemed a little old. The rooms are also not at all soundproof. I could hear someone dial a number on their phone outside our room, I could hear people walking upstairs and all in all this didn't provide a good nights sleep! When we returned from the show on the first day our room had not been serviced, not something you want to see after 10 hours out of the room! This was taken care of however that evening.

The location is fantastic however, you are surrounded by lovely cafes etc and a short stroll to Fulham Road.

The hotel does now represent good value for money unfortunately, and we were expecting something much more luxurious for this price. We may have been just unlucky however!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrandMrsNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear MrandMrsNewton,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel, our team and I appreciate it. We were pleased to read you found our location so convenient. We are deeply committed to ensuring you enjoy your stay so we were saddened to read that you encountered problems with your room allocation. While we are glad you found a room that met your needs we were further disappointed that the amenities were not to the level you strive to achieve and you experience disturbed rest due to noise in the corridor. We take these comments seriously and they have been highlighted for further investigation. I would like to thank you for bringing these matters to my attention; it is only with our guest’s feedback that we can continue to improve.

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel we hope that on your next visit to London we will welcome you back.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Kensington for four nights. The location is great----a few minutes to the South Kensington tube station, lots of small stores and restaurants within walking distance. The staff is very helpful and professional. The hotel is luxurious and our room was neat, clean and nicely decorated. There were two iMacs downstairs. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel but there is a mini market right across the street that had a good selection of breakfast pastries. There is also a Pret a Manger a couple of blocks away near the Tube station. That's a good place to get a fresh and reasonable meal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear IndTraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We were pleased to read you found our location so convenient and you enjoyed the feeling of luxury in your room. Our team here is committed to doing everything we can to make your stay as perfect as possible so we are thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London, we hope that on your next visit to London we will be able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We just stayed one night and thought the hotel was lovely. Reception staff were very pleasant and even let us check in earlier than 2pm. I found the room very small and was disappointed that the bed linen had seen better days. It was clean and fresh but had holes in several places. The pillow case had a cigarette burnhole on the frill. The room was fine for 1 night but would not have like to stay longer. The service at the bar was very efficient and it was very pleasant and comfortable sitting in the lounge. We found a breakfast place within walking distance which cost about quarter the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 55Mary55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear 55Mary55,

Firstly we would like to extend our gratitude for you taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us to the travelling community. We were pleased to read you found our location so convenient and your kind words regarding our bar staff will be passed on. We were disappointed however that you were dissatisfied with your room on this occasion, in particular the bed linen. Our management team and I take your comments seriously and the issue has been highlighted with housekeeping and our suppliers. I would like to thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London, we hope that on your next visit you will think of us again.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

During a 3-day side trip to London we stayed at The Kensington Hotel for 3 nights, and it turned out to be a great choice. The Kensington Hotel is a 5-star luxury hotel in the same high-end category as, for example, Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons hotels. Though by no means a budget choice, the price we paid was surprisingly reasonable compared to other hotels at the same service level, especially given the location. On the same vacation, we stayed at the Ritz in Paris, and we actually had some minor complaints there, despite paying a truly exorbitant nightly rate. In comparison to that, The Kensington Hotel cost only a fraction and provided a flawless and utterly enjoyable experience. We also had been lucky to come across a special deal that provided a free upgrade to a studio suite for the price of a regular room.
Our rooms were very spacious and had a contemporary design (if you indeed prefer the "classic" look with lots of antiques in the style of Ritz & Co., The Kensington Hotel might not completely match your taste).
The bathrooms, especially, were true works of art (again in a contemporary design). Notably, there is a flat-screen TV in the wall above the bathtub (we're not TV people, but we still thought that was pretty cool).
As expected, the rooms were flawlessly clean, and the nightly turn-down service even left nice little treats like peach ice tea or fresh cherry juice. The staff was always down-to-earth and helpful, especially the concierge. Conveniently, you can get tickets for the common attractions like the Tower, etc., right at the concierge, which saves a lot of waiting in line.
The location of The Kensington Hotel is also very convenient, with the Gloucester Road and South Kensington tube stations both just a few minutes away. Despite the central location our rooms were surprisingly quiet (however, I have to disclose that our rooms were on the highest floor, right under the roof, well away from the street noise, so the noise levels probably vary room by room).
One minor downside, though not an unusual one, is that the breakfast is not included in the price (unless you book a special package and essentially prepay for it). There is a generous breakfast buffet, and hot breakfast items are made to order. It's all delicious, but rather pricy. The breakfast area is very nice and cozy with lots of books and leather, so I recommend to try it at least once.
In summary, we had one of the most memorable hotel experiences at The Kensington Hotel in London, and it was well worth the price. I can fully recommend this exceptional hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms right under the roof are nice and quiet. The hotel often runs specials for free upgrades t...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Dear raner,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. Our team work very hard to ensure your experience with us is as perfect as possible so it is wonderful to read that you so enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you. Your kind words regarding the staff, the hotel’s location and décor have been passed onto our team here and are greatly appreciated. We hope that on your next visit you will think of us again.

Lastly I would like to extend our gratitude for you taking the time to write a review, your willingness to share your experience of us is very welcome.

Kind Regards

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,072 in London
3,341 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,770 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,072 in London
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,072 in London
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £186 - £355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing