We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“5 star service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

You can expect truly top class service at this hotel. All of the staff were both friendly and very attentive.

When a guy in our party returned from a jog, he was greeted by the doorman with a wet towel to cool him down and a bottle of water. We were also offered umbrellas on leaving the hotel if raining outside. These are just examples of the attention to detail that we experienced throughout our stay.

The hotel is just a short walk from South Kensington tube station which is on the Piccadilly line making for convenient access from/to Heathrow Airport. The hotel is in a very nice area.

The hotel is very comfortable and has been beautifully refurbished since we were last there.

Bumped into Ronan Keating the first evening we were there and saw Eddie Jordan the following morning in reception. If it's good enough for these guys..............

We would highly recommend this hotel if you want to treat yourself and be pampered.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeclanKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear DeclanKerry,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection, for your visit to London. We were delighted to have you as our guest. Every member of our team is deeply committed to ensuring your stay is as perfect as possible and that every detail from our Lounge area to your room and all the other details are to the high standard you expect. It was truly a pleasure to read that our team treated you so well and you enjoyed the decor since our refurbishment.

Lastly thank you for sharing your experience of us with the travelling community, we appreciate your willingness to to take the time.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    514
    113
    30
    13
See reviews for
500
1,102
194
412
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

One of the finest London hotel experiences I have ever had. The welcome was great, the room was more than I expected, and was turned down for when we returned in the evening. Complimentary brolly for the unexpected rain was also hugely appreciated.

Thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKensingtonHotel, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Danny H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us at The Kensington Hotel. We greatly appreciate it.
We were thrilled to read that every moment of your stay from the welcome to turndown and everything in between (apart from the unfortunate British rain) was to the high standard we strive to achieve. We hope that on your next visit to the capital you will think of us again.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
422 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I'm surprised to read the negative reviews of bad service (of course, I like to start with the 1-star reviews so I'm sure there's many compliments)...especially Gillian at the front desk who was very helpful and charming. And the young man who smiled and greeted me upon my return each night around midnight after another long day at work. I was there for 19 nights for Wimbledon (17 on the company, 2 on me) and can only imagine there are larger rooms than #218. No desk, no dresser (plus the carpet was drab and the walls a dull white) and like others here say, the bathroom is so small you can't fully open the door...and the shower so narrow I could touch both walls with my elbows at my sides. (But I must rave about the shower head...10 inches across and great water pressure.) That said, with my long days the #1 priority is the bed and bedding and it was top notch comfy. This place costs a plenty and you must be paying for the common rooms near the bar/restaurant (neither of which I visited so can't comment). They look like they're in a fancy private club. (Of course, it was very odd that they chose to paint these rooms and the little area around the elevator/lift at this time and not before London's busiest summer. Did not appreciate having to carefully maneuver around ladders and stepping on tarps first thing in the morning upon getting out of the elevator.) I loved the neighborhood of South Kensington but would never pay to stay here. I wish I had had the time to visit the free, if small, workout room.

Room Tip: Ask for something larger than #218.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear nagled,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review and share your experience with the travelling community. We were thrilled to read that you were so impressed with our team, you so enjoyed the bed and shower in your room. I have a already shared your kind words with our team, thank you very much.
We were disappointed, however, to read that you were dissatisfied with your room on this occasion. We do have a quite a range of room categories that generally cater for most tastes so please do not hesitate to contact a member of our team directly should you return to London and we would be delighted to arrange for room to meet your specific needs. We apologise that the painting in our Lobby area disturbed you. Unfortunately it was necessary to redo it during your stay, we hope that it was not too inconvenient for you.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to London as you so enjoyed the location in South Kensington.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here twice already and it my favorite hotel in London. Part of the Dole Collection, this is a chain that really pays attention to details and places an emphasis on professionalism and courtesy. Unlike many major chains whose customer service and corporate feel can come off cold and bothered at times, you will not get that here. The townhouse was renovated just a few years back and it is IMPRESSIVE. There are fireplaces in the sitting rooms downstairs and the feel is understated opulence. Exteremely comfortable, you'll see attendants moving about the public spaces, always dignified, never hurried, there if you need them yet diminutive in their presence. Check in is welcoming. The hotel restaurant is exceptional and the breakfast is traditional and AMAZING. The location is about 3 minutes from the Kensington stop and very convenient from Heathrow. The location is stupendous, away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas but a stones throw from Kensington Gardens and Palace, the amazing Victoria and Albert and the Natural History Museum. There are great restaurants around every corner and coffee shops everywhere. Its just a beautiful neighborhood for strolling,and sightseeing. The rooms at the hotel are quite beautiful and the Superior rooms are worth the splurge as they are very large and have Nespresso machines. Our Superior was on the front with gorgeous floor to ceiling windows and a four poster bed. Lounging around there in our robes was just too cool. The bedding in both rooms is top notch. Make no mistake though, the smaller Deluxe rooms, while a bit smaller are still very elegant, and luxurious. The bathrooms are to die for and the soundproofing is bulletproof! Quiet as a morgue. Recently stayed at the Chancery Court (5 star) and while nice, it did not even come close to the Kensington. Have also stayed at the Back Bay Hotel in Boston (Doyle Collection too) and it too did not disappoint. The Kensington helped to make my visits to London very enjoyable and memorable. Kudos to them and many thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the back of the hotel as you could get an alley/fire escape view. Not pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeserDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear DeserDoc,

We were so pleased to welcome you back to The Kensington Hotel, a member of The Doyle Collection. Thank you for continuing to choose to stay with us, it is truly our pleasure to have you as our guest. Your wonderful words regarding our lounge, your room, the amenities and our team are so greatly appreciated as we are deeply committed to creating an experience that is as perfect as possible. The team in Aubrey have put a lot of work and consideration into the new menus so we are glad you enjoyed their culinary delights. We were further delighted that our location on Old Brompton road, with it's wonderful restaurants and cafes, and proximity to to South Kensington underground and Museum Road was so enjoyed by you and your friends.
It is such a pleasure to read that you have not only enjoyed your time with us but in our sister property The Back Bay. We are a selection of eleven collectively individual hotels and each property has its own unique and contrasting character, but all of them strive to deliver a sense of understated, memorable luxury, we are so glad you have experienced this.

Lastly thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed at The Kensington Hotel for three days in late May. The room was nice, coffee maker and turn down service was a nice addition, and the location was close to the South Kensington Tube station. In addition, there are a ton of restaurants within a short walk. There is no parking available, although there is a pay lot around the corner (pricey at 41 pounds/day). The staff was very helpful and friendly with any request/question we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Katie D,

Our team and I were so pleased to read that your experience of us was to your expectations, that your enjoyed your room, N'esspresso machine and our turndown service. We are glad you found our proximity to South Kensington tube so convenient. While Old Brompton Road does have wide selection of wonderful restaurants but we do hope that you had the chance to enjoy Aubrey Restaurant here at the hotel during your stay.

We were delighted to welcome you as our guest to The Kensington Hotel. Thank you for choosing us and sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodcliff
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We loved this hotel. The location is great. the staff is warm and friendly and extremely helpful booking reservations and general info. The atmosphere is elegant and classy.
I would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear liz s,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We are thrilled that you and your family loved your time with us so much. We greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our team here, the hotel's location and the elegant atmosphere. We are further grateful for you taking the time to share your view with the travelling community.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind Regards

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed for two nights on business in June, I had a mini suite, with four poster bed and roll top bath and separate rain shower. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in and the turn down service and little treats of cake, fruit tea and bedtime chocolate just made it all the more wonderful. The staff are excellent, friendly and professional without being intrusive or fake. The buffet breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Edel T,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience of us here at The Kensington Hotel. Your willingness to offer feedback is both valued and appreciated. Our team is dedicated to ensuring your time with us is as perfect as possible, so to read your kind words about our turndown, the decor of the room, breakfast and our team pleases us greatly.
We hope that you will think of us again on your next visit to London for either business or pleasure.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,086 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#128 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing