We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to harrods and perfect for a short stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Arrived with my girlfriend, welcomed by a nice man. On checked we received a nice refreshing warm towel and we were escorted to our room which was a great unexpected service. It was late afternoon so we went straight to harrods to enjoy the sales. On returning to the hotel 6 hours later, loads of bags, shoes and everything else we could place our hand on we chilled on our room for a short while before dinner. We had some snacks in the lounge and were treated to some really nice cocktails. Alessandro in the bar was magic and to be honest he was the best we have ever experienced. Great hotel, staff and service, we will be back for a girlie weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,394 - 2,400 of 3,115 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed with my wife and daughter over new year and all I can say was amazing. Perfect location, ideal for my wife to shop in harrods while my daughter and I went to winter wonder land. The hotel was nice, warm welcoming and the staff were a delight. From arrival we were looked after and Vincent was a great with directions and looked after our dinner reservations. Our room was just perfect, fresh recently painted walls and doors, the bed linen and towels were all crisp and perfectly clean. We dined outside the hotel in Roca and had breakfast the next day in Audrey which was a delight. The staff and service was great we are already planning out next trip to south ken.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed here on New Years Eve. We received a very nice welcome and check in was efficient yet friendly. Our room was fantastic...luxurious and perfectly equipped. After a long night on the embankment the bed was a delight...wonderful feather pillows! We didn't have breakfast, choosing instead to eat in one of the many cafes in south Kensington.

This hotel is exactly what you expect from a five star hotel. We will definitely return as and when we stay in London.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear lotty84,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I appreciate these things take time and wanted to express my gratitude for your feedback.

It was a pleasure to look after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a great way to start the New Year. I hope that positive emotions you have taken home will be great start to a successful 2013!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel again very soon.

Best regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was a fantastic stay for both me and my sister in this hotel: perfect location, room in mint colors (love the color that's why I'm mentioning it :)), welcoming staff, comfortable bed, nice and sophisticated interior, delicious breakfast and all those tiny details which you get in hotels like this - for example - weather forecast for next day on beautiful paper inside matching envelope...could you possibly wish for something more? :)
Cozy for dark and cold autumn nights - soon to be Christmas time. We stayed only for 1 night, were meant to go out, but stayed in, enjoying the perfect (relaxing but festive) environment and each others company instead - it felt like celebration :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PagaiDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear PagaiDi,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I was thrilled to read that your experience at The Kensington Hotel was fantastic! Our design team will be delighted to read your comments about beautiful interior and ambience of the room. I have also passed your kind comments about your breakfast experience to our Restaurant team.

We were delighted to look after you whilst here and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Our first stay - wont be our last, From the moment we handed over the car keys the fantastic staff anticipated, adapted and delivered excellent service above and beyond anything we have experienced at a london hotel. We arrived before Christmas to do some shopping and enjoy an evening at the Royal Albert Hall. We both agreed the stay felt like we had been there 2 weeks instead of 2 nights. Concierge, Room Service, Restaurant Staff, in fact the whole team seemed to know exactly what we wanted and delivered with courtesy and pride. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our Junior suite was number 423 excellent room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waterhammer123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Waterhammer123x,

We will be delighted to welcome you back! Thank you for being our guest. We are proud of what we do here at The Kensington Hotel for our guests and it is rewarding to read comments like yours. I am glad you enjoyed the room and found it excellent. I have added this to our notes for your future stays!

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had booked the afternoon tea with champagne with special remarks
for my wife's gluten free meal.
The atmosphere for the restaurant was charming with fireplace and big sofas.
The italian waitress was very kind and sympathic.
The sandwiches to start were very tasty and also the gluten free meal was
noticed. However when it was turn for the sweet cakes, the gluten free remark
had been forgotton, but the staff created immediately a substitute ( with the help
of the opposite groucery store ).
All things considered , we loved the afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sakari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Sakari M,

I am delighted to read comments about your wonderful experience. Please accept my apologies for being slightly inattentive with your dietary preferences. I am glad to hear that we have managed to resolve the situation in an efficient manner and overall your afternoon was well spent.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online travelling community and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is my second stay at the hotel.The rooms are classy,comfortable and good size for a london hotel.
The restaurant's ambience is lovely and the food is delicious.The staff have been extremely courteous and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Jaga R,

We highly value your loyalty. We are pleased to know that you are enjoying staying here. Our team is continuously striving to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am glad to read that we are doing so well.

Thank you for writing a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in nearest future.

Kind regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,081 in London
3,576 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,081 in London
3,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £178 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing