We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kensington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
130 Queen's Gate(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
The Ampersand Hotel(London)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,169)
Filter reviews
3,169 results
Traveller rating
2,422
577
124
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,422
577
124
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaold brompton roadqueens gatebeautiful hotelthe natural history museumvictoria and albert museumturn down servicenespresso machinesuperior roomlounge areathe location is perfecttube stationrooms are smallconciergeharrodstownhouseturndown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,438 - 2,443 of 3,169 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I booked two rooms here for two nights between Christmas and the New year, we were already familiar with the location as we always stay in South Kensington when visiting London. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe and is serviced by both the South Kensington and Gloucester Road Tube Stations. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the Natural History, Science and V&A Museums are a 5 minute walk. We normally like to visit the Harrods sale and this only takes around 15 minutes to walk or its only one stop on the tube. The Staff at the Kensington are a credit to the hotel, offering a very polite, professional yet discreet level of service. The young lady on duty when we checked in on the afternoon of the 28th was very professional yet friendly and welcoming. The young man at Breakfast was also very professional explaining the Breakfast options available the English (Irish) breakfast is cooked to order and is only a £5 supplement from the continental. The lobby, lounge and bar areas are superb and very welcoming in the winter with real fires and ornate fittings. The ambience is ideally suited for a memorable afternoon tea. I had booked two Superior rooms with one for single occupancy and the facilities in the rooms are very good, the beds are very comfortable with quality sheets and pillows. If i was staying again i would upgrade to a larger room as the superior rooms are very small even by London Standards, the bathroom in our room was especially small. The superior rooms are very competitively priced for a hotel of this standard, which has to be taken into consideration when evaluating the size of the room. The Hotel underwent a total refurbishment a few years ago and given the quality of the public areas, i would have been tempted to knock some rooms through eliminating the really small rooms and increasing the price, as its the only area that lets the hotel down. I would strongly recommend this hotel, but if you can don't go for the lowest cost room as you may be disappointed with the size. We would like to thank all the staff at the Kensington Hotel for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the superior rooms if possible, the quality of the public areas would easily justify paying a little extra for a larger room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear steve8765,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience. I am very proud of my team and it is highest recognition to read that our guests are enjoying their stay and complimenting staff.

I am glad that you enjoyed the lounge Décor and I can only agree that our design team have done an amazing work! Our rooms range from 16 square meters up to almost 100 square meters and I am certain we can find a room that will thick all boxes for your next stay!

Thank you again for compliments and we are looking forward to seeing you back very soon!
Best wishes,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here on business, very friendly staff especially the bar staff. Luxurious hotel, very tastefully decorated and comfortable hotel rooms. Modern rooms and bathrooms. Exceeded my expectations and Would recommend

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joeyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear joeyboy79,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visits to London. Our team is highly dedicated to deliver highest level of service and continuously strive to exceed our guest's expectations. We are proud to read that you will be recommending The Kensington Hotel.

I would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Kensington Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Amazing atmosphere!
We have been to The Kensington Hotel for dinner and drinks with friends. First i was impressed by the luxurious and stylish decor of the lobby area. Sort of modern twist with glamorous classic mixed in perfect proportions!Dinner was excellent. Waiter was very attentive and delivered highest quality service. Food was so delicious and the portions were large. After dinner we stayed for few drinks in the Drawing rooms and Alessandro cocktails was a masterclass in cocktail science!!! Anyone in area, it's a must to pop in and sit back and simply enjoy a perfect cocktail! All in all I can say it was a wonderful experience!

Well done The Kensington team!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yanis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear yanis l,

We appreciate time you have taken to post a review following your dining experience.
I am blown away of your amazing comments. Aubrey Bar and Restaurant team is continuously striving for excellence and we are delighted to read that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations! Alessandro cocktails are indeed a masterpiece and we are very proud to have him as our team member!

Happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back in nearest future!

Best regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Arrived with my girlfriend, welcomed by a nice man. On checked we received a nice refreshing warm towel and we were escorted to our room which was a great unexpected service. It was late afternoon so we went straight to harrods to enjoy the sales. On returning to the hotel 6 hours later, loads of bags, shoes and everything else we could place our hand on we chilled on our room for a short while before dinner. We had some snacks in the lounge and were treated to some really nice cocktails. Alessandro in the bar was magic and to be honest he was the best we have ever experienced. Great hotel, staff and service, we will be back for a girlie weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rasa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed with my wife and daughter over new year and all I can say was amazing. Perfect location, ideal for my wife to shop in harrods while my daughter and I went to winter wonder land. The hotel was nice, warm welcoming and the staff were a delight. From arrival we were looked after and Vincent was a great with directions and looked after our dinner reservations. Our room was just perfect, fresh recently painted walls and doors, the bed linen and towels were all crisp and perfectly clean. We dined outside the hotel in Roca and had breakfast the next day in Audrey which was a delight. The staff and service was great we are already planning out next trip to south ken.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews