We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Expectations Were Exceeded.”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Expectations Were Exceeded.”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed between Christmas and New Year for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the time our car door was opened on arrival to the smile on departure, everything was fantastic. The hotel has so much to offer and the staff on hand were more than able to meet our needs. The hotel is ideally located for business or pleasure, a couple of stops on the tube and you are in Oxford Street. The hotel offers a fantastic selection of food for all tastes and in the immediate area there are lots of choices for every type of dining. Atmosphere in and around the hotel was super. You could easily find a quiet corner around the lobby to sit and enjoy all the hotel has to offer or sit in the bar and be pampered by the fantastic staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBY8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear MBY8,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location in leafy South Kensington with such convenient public transport links to the rest of the city, and our proximity to Museum Row and so many wonderful eateries.

We are dedicated to doing all that we can to ensure your time with us is memorable so I have passed on your wonderful words to everyone here to enjoy. Our design team, in particular, were delighted to hear that you thought so highly of the décor. Our property has been converted from Townhouses and they all worked tremendously hard during our renovation, and everyday since, to bring it back to its glory. It’s lovely to read that you felt we achieved this.

We were thrilled to know that you are planning to return. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    528
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,152
197
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We went there for a retreat from our otherwise hectic life and...everything was perfect!! First we were upgraded from a deluxe room to a suite. Then each time there was an issue (the remote did not match the TV and had problem accessing the WiFi), they were swift to correct the situation. Very helpful as well for our sightseeing: provided a map and clear directions.
Also they went the extra mile and offered a room for us to change and freshen up upon arrival since we came in early (9 AM) and our room was not ready!

Again we loved our stay and already recommended it around us and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Our room had a front view and it was not noisy at all (but we got a bit surprised by the flag raiser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAdvisory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear TAdvisory,
Thank you for your kind words and sharing your wonderful review with the travelling community. We were thrilled to read you so enjoyed your time with us.

Our team is dedicated to offering you an experience as perfect as possible so while we were disappointed you experienced some problems; it pleased us to know that they were resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you so much for recommending us, we are honoured you think so highly of us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The description of the Deluxe Room on the hotel homepage did not match the reality. Went to the front desk to inform about circumstances and was asked if I would really need those amenities (which is a no go). After making my disappointment clear to them and being persistent on a solution they sent up a Nespresso machine to my room (one day after my complaint!!!) which did not work.
Further the mini bar was not refilled once during my stay, so one would have to order room service.
This is actually sad because the hotel would be really nice decor and location wise.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank dante_1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear dante_1st,

I am grateful to receive your feedback following your recent stay with us at The Kensington Hotel. I am disappointed to read that we were unable to deliver service to our usual high standards and there is no excuse for this. This is not reflective of the level of service we strive to deliver here at The Kensington Hotel. A Nespresso machine is a part of our standard equipment in our Deluxe rooms and I am yet to find out reasons why it was not in the room in this particular case.

Please be assured that I will look into this and ensure such problems do not reoccur in future. We would like to demonstrate you that we can do much better than this. Please let me know in advance of your next trip to London and I will make sure your experience is up to the expectations. My email address is Vincent_OGorman@doylecollection.com

On a positive note I am delighted to hear that you find the Décor of the hotel very nice and the location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ossett
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I booked two rooms here for two nights between Christmas and the New year, we were already familiar with the location as we always stay in South Kensington when visiting London. The neighbourhood is quiet and safe and is serviced by both the South Kensington and Gloucester Road Tube Stations. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and the Natural History, Science and V&A Museums are a 5 minute walk. We normally like to visit the Harrods sale and this only takes around 15 minutes to walk or its only one stop on the tube. The Staff at the Kensington are a credit to the hotel, offering a very polite, professional yet discreet level of service. The young lady on duty when we checked in on the afternoon of the 28th was very professional yet friendly and welcoming. The young man at Breakfast was also very professional explaining the Breakfast options available the English (Irish) breakfast is cooked to order and is only a £5 supplement from the continental. The lobby, lounge and bar areas are superb and very welcoming in the winter with real fires and ornate fittings. The ambience is ideally suited for a memorable afternoon tea. I had booked two Superior rooms with one for single occupancy and the facilities in the rooms are very good, the beds are very comfortable with quality sheets and pillows. If i was staying again i would upgrade to a larger room as the superior rooms are very small even by London Standards, the bathroom in our room was especially small. The superior rooms are very competitively priced for a hotel of this standard, which has to be taken into consideration when evaluating the size of the room. The Hotel underwent a total refurbishment a few years ago and given the quality of the public areas, i would have been tempted to knock some rooms through eliminating the really small rooms and increasing the price, as its the only area that lets the hotel down. I would strongly recommend this hotel, but if you can don't go for the lowest cost room as you may be disappointed with the size. We would like to thank all the staff at the Kensington Hotel for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the superior rooms if possible, the quality of the public areas would easily justify paying a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear steve8765,

Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had an amazing experience. I am very proud of my team and it is highest recognition to read that our guests are enjoying their stay and complimenting staff.

I am glad that you enjoyed the lounge Décor and I can only agree that our design team have done an amazing work! Our rooms range from 16 square meters up to almost 100 square meters and I am certain we can find a room that will thick all boxes for your next stay!

Thank you again for compliments and we are looking forward to seeing you back very soon!
Best wishes,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here on business, very friendly staff especially the bar staff. Luxurious hotel, very tastefully decorated and comfortable hotel rooms. Modern rooms and bathrooms. Exceeded my expectations and Would recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joeyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear joeyboy79,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visits to London. Our team is highly dedicated to deliver highest level of service and continuously strive to exceed our guest's expectations. We are proud to read that you will be recommending The Kensington Hotel.

I would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review of The Kensington Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Amazing atmosphere!
We have been to The Kensington Hotel for dinner and drinks with friends. First i was impressed by the luxurious and stylish decor of the lobby area. Sort of modern twist with glamorous classic mixed in perfect proportions!Dinner was excellent. Waiter was very attentive and delivered highest quality service. Food was so delicious and the portions were large. After dinner we stayed for few drinks in the Drawing rooms and Alessandro cocktails was a masterclass in cocktail science!!! Anyone in area, it's a must to pop in and sit back and simply enjoy a perfect cocktail! All in all I can say it was a wonderful experience!

Well done The Kensington team!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yanis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
Dear yanis l,

We appreciate time you have taken to post a review following your dining experience.
I am blown away of your amazing comments. Aubrey Bar and Restaurant team is continuously striving for excellence and we are delighted to read that we have been able to meet and exceed your expectations! Alessandro cocktails are indeed a masterpiece and we are very proud to have him as our team member!

Happy New Year and we hope to welcome you back in nearest future!

Best regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Arrived with my girlfriend, welcomed by a nice man. On checked we received a nice refreshing warm towel and we were escorted to our room which was a great unexpected service. It was late afternoon so we went straight to harrods to enjoy the sales. On returning to the hotel 6 hours later, loads of bags, shoes and everything else we could place our hand on we chilled on our room for a short while before dinner. We had some snacks in the lounge and were treated to some really nice cocktails. Alessandro in the bar was magic and to be honest he was the best we have ever experienced. Great hotel, staff and service, we will be back for a girlie weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasa2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,068 in London
3,236 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,698 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,068 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,068 in London
3,178 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Doyle Collection, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing