We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic Hotel with great service and even better staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great location for most London based activities without being in the mist of the downtown bustle.
There is nothing about the hotel that we could fault. We heartily recommend it.
Thank you to all the staff who made us feel so very welcome.

Room Tip: book one of the large front facing suites, they are lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Jacob2207,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location in leafy South Kensington with such convenient public transport links to the rest of the city, and our proximity some of London’s best attractions.
Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Kind Regards

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,336 - 2,342 of 3,080 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

The room was excellent and hotel generally was extremely well presented. However, it was the quality of the service and the general good nature of the staff that made the experience thoroughly enjoyable for my daughter and I.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissWads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear MissWads,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. I have passed on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy. We are all dedicated to ensuring your time with us is truly memorable so it was a pleasure to read that we not only met but exceeded your expectations.
From everyone here at The Kensington Hotel, and throughout The Doyle Collection, we eagerly anticipate your return.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

40 years ago on January 13th we were married and enjoyed a lovely honeymoon in London. We have never been back as a couple so we decided to treat ourselves and relive some precious memories.
We chose The Kensington Hotel for our stay and what a fabulous decision it turned out to be; the hotel is wonderful, the room fabulous and the staff - EVERY member of staff - were so delightful. The room we were given was very luxurious; so comfortable and warm. It had every facility we could want or need. There were lots of little extras too... the chocolates, the mini deserts, the flasks of jasmine and peppermint tea.
The attention to detail and the obvious interest in customer satisfaction was second to none.

Full marks to everybody associated with the running of this hotel. WE SHALL RETURN.

Ginette and Michael Stringer

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and overlooked Queen's Gate; it was a corner room. It was fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Michael S,
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for to celebrate such a special day with your loved ones. From all of us here we wish you a wonderful anniversary. We were thrilled to a part of your celebrations.
It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team. We are all passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.

We were truly honoured to read that you would recommend us to us to others; we are thrilled to know that you think so highly of us. We are delighted to know that you are already planning your return. We hope that you will think of us should you ever be returning to London.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We stayed at The Kensington Hotel for our company Xmas Party in 2012 and we had a great experience! We were around 70 people and the service was the highest to all of us!
The hotel is great and quiet. The restaurant has an very tasty menu and the food is excellent.

We now use TKH as one of our preferred partners for our clients and colleagues from abroad.

We all highly recommend The Kensington Hotel!

Room Tip: First and second floor rooms are the best ones!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

Dear cbp35,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We were delighted to read that your party was a success and that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our team and we were honoured to read you recommend us to others, including your clients and colleagues. We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your comments let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share.

We hope the rest of your Christmas celebrations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

After many disappointing hotels inc - copthorne - old and looking worn , Hilton - very over priced for level of service and ritz again over priced and unwelcoming however I was over the moon with this hotel not one thing I could complain about ( which for me is very odd ) staff wonderful service amazing and the room well I wanted to move in plus location lovely and peaceful yet close enough to everything x would reccomend and will be making another booking very soon x

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missjjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Missjjb,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Your kind words mean so much to us.

We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. We were delighted to read that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.
We are honoured that you enjoyed your time with us so much so that you would recommend us to others in the online travelling community. Thank you from all of us here.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the capital.

Kind regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of January. We had a large amount of luggage, and the hotel was very accomodating (stored it for several hours upon arrival and also for a full day on our departure). The staff were warm and helpful - even phoning when my husband left his sweater in the dining room! Gillian O'Loughlin also suggested a restaurant for us to dine in and made the reservation for us - very helpful. We have stayed in the hotel before and had a lovely room which had a small seating area and a second tv which was great as our stay was longer than usual and (as mentioned) we had a lot of luggage! It is the hotel we choose for each of our stays in London and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Elizabeth K,

Firstly we would like to thank you for continuing to choose The Kensington Hotel for your visits to London. We are thrilled to know that we continue to meet your high standards.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our suite. While every room is furnished to the highest standard our suites have the added benefit of extra space for your comfort and relaxation and as you have discovered some have an extra TV for you to enjoy.
Our team truly care that your experience of us is memorable and we do all that we can to enhance your time in London. From a welcoming smile after a hard day to knowledge of London and its attractions. We want to be sure your time with us is a memory you will cherish.
Lastly from all of us here thank you for your kind review. We understand it takes time and we really appreciate it.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Vincent
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Hi,
My wife treated me to a night at The Kensington Hotel as part of my 50th Birthday present. What a lovely hotel, the staff are extremely friendly and the room was very spacious, the Nespresso coffee machine was also a bonus. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and (as a chef) I can highly recommend it, especially the Chateaubriand. The hotel is ideally located within easy walking distance from the South Kensington tube and we will definitely be going back. A brilliant hotel with a personal touch which is highly recommended.
Thank you Beneeta (on reception) for a warm welcome and and a friendly departure.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NeilCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Kensington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Dear NeilCornwall,

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion. From all of us here we hope you had a wonderful birthday.

It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team. Your praise of the food in Aubrey Restaurant means a lot to us, our chefs in particular. As I am sure you are aware from your own work in the profession, they work tremendously hard to ensure your meal is the highest quality. Our entire team, in fact, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.

Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Vincent O‘Gorman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#53 of 1,077 in London
3,533 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#56 of 1,077 in London
3,367 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington Hotel

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#31 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £171 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing