We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing beats this hotel!”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #32 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the Kensington Hotel for 8 nights and they were perfect! The hotel is beautiful from the outside in! Not sure what people mean when they say they had a small room, if you book a standard room, you can never expect anything great! Our deluxe room was perfect, large, big bed, beautiful bathroom and lovely views. On the 2nd night our air con broke in our bedroom, went downstairs the next morning to speak to staff, straightaway they apologised and offered to move us to another room, we decided to stay in our room and see if the maintenance man could fix it. The next day they advised us it would take a couple of days to fix and would like to move us, we checked out the next room, moved our backs, but I didn't like it, bathroom was tiny, so my partner asked if we could move back to our old room, the hotel staff kindly came back and collected our bags and took us back to the old room. The next afternoon, we came back to the hotel to be advised that we had been moved to a studio suite :) another perfect room!

every single hotel staff we came across was friendly, polite and wonderful, no staff member failed to greet us or talk to us when we entered or walked past them. They were so accommodating and it had defiantly been the best service I have ever received.

Location is great too, everything is near by and only 5 min walk to the tube station which to get to most places is between 2 - 4 stops. Hyde park, Kensington gardens and palace and museums and restaurants and everything is near by.

I cannot wait to come back to London simply to go back to the Kensington Hotel! I could write so much about this fantastic hotel. You have to stay!

Room Tip: Order a deluxe room, it may cost more but totally worth it! Email them before your stay and reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashiib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location in leafy South Kensington with such convenient public transport links to the rest of the city.

We are continuously striving to offer a personal service that each of our guests feels at home whilst staying with us, and so it was truly a pleasure to read your feedback. We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to doing all we can to enhance your time with us. Your kind words regarding our team, the turndown, Aubrey and everything during your stay lets us know that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.

We hope that you will think of us again should you be returning to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,042 - 2,048 of 2,955 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The good
- good location.
- great looking lobby with old style charms.
- staff generally friendly and helpful.
- good breakfast (not a great selection but good quality).

The bad
- inconsistent service, some staff are helpful, some are not.
- went into the room and realized the toilet was not really flushed.
- rooms are small and stuffy.
- TV was not working in my room.
- mini bar initially locked for some reason.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markustemasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to return to The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you back as our guest.

While we pleased to read you thought so highly of our team, it was disappointing to read that we did not meet our usual level of service on this visit. We are passionate about offering each and every guest a personal service to offer a truly memorable experience so we will investigate your comments about the inconsistency of the staff. We sincerely apologise for any upset this may have caused you, please let me assure you this isn’t our usual level of service. In regards to your comments about your room, we will review Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure this does not happen again. Should you be returning to London please contact me directly and I would be delighted to take care of your reservation personally Beccy_Gunn@doylecollection.com

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback, we always welcome the opportunity to hear from our guests and improve ourselves.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stayed here for one night with a last minute reservation. The hotel was nice and staff were very accommodating. The computer system was down at time of check-in and the process still went very smoothly. We stayed in a nicely decorated room but it was quite small. However, this isn't a complaint given we only booked on the day of stay. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you our guest.

It a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington. We are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a memorable experience on every occasion so it such a pleasure to read that we continue to meet your high expectations, thank you for your kind words. I will pass on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy.

We hope that you will think of us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel was delightful, from the charming lobby to the clean rooms to the fabulous staff, Vincent, Ward , James.... Too many to mention, but all were quite helpful and always charming. The rooms were small but very clean and just what we needed. They have w delightful afternoon tea, great gym. The location is great, just a couple of blocks from the South Kensington tube stop, short distance from Kensington Garden, cute restaurants nearby on Old Brompton Road' close to the museums and a short walk to Harrods.....I can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The king size room is fabulous! Very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmr88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you our guest.

It a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, with our easy access to Museum Row and the wonderful restaurants on Old Brompton Road. We are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a memorable experience so it such a pleasure to read that you thought so highly of our team.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us. We appreciate you taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My Fiancee and I stayed here for New Years 2013. The hotel was great. You cannot beat the location. We were just steps away from museums and shopping. The staff was wonderful by remembering and greeting us each day. We had read reviews on the room sizes being to small, but were pleasantly surprised about the size (yes it isn't American sized, but this is London!). In all I would highly recommend this hotel. Also the complimentary umbrellas by the door were a great touch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveler0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you our guest.

It a pleasure to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, with our easy access to Museum Row and transport links. We are dedicated to ensuring that every guest has a memorable experience so it such a pleasure to read that you thought so highly of our team.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience of us. We appreciate you taking the time.

We hope that you will think of us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just returned home from a 1 night stay at the Kensington Hotel.

We visited as part of a package weekend, which included tickets to the David Bowie exhibition and the V&A (which was great!) The hotel is convenient for the museums, and for South Ken tube station. We paid slightly more for a queen sized bed, and our room was huge! Nice touches such ascomplimentary chocolates and cherries, and it was fantastic to see a nespresso coffee machine in the room (even if it did take me 10 mins to work out how to use it!) Bathrooms are compact but luxurious, with lovely smelling aromatherpay shower gels etc. A nice touch was an umbrella in the wardrobe, although thankfully the heatwave temperatures meant we didn't need this. Breakfast was delicious - I can recommend the twist on eggs benedict, replacing the ham with smoked salmon! Every member of staff we met was polite, welcoming and attentive. All in all a great stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit, we were delighted to be a part of your experience of London. It was such a pleasure to read that you so enjoyed our David Bowie package and that you so enjoyed being so close the amazing exhibits on Museum Row.

Here at the hotel we are glad that you enjoyed the little details we try to add to enhance you stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team, we truly care that our guests enjoy their time with us. Our chefs were particularly pleased to read that you so enjoyed breakfast. They are continuously working to ensure that every meal is to the highest possible standard.

Lastly thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience here at The Kensington Hotel with the online travelling community. We appreciate you taking the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Nothing is cheap in this part of London, but The Kensington offers better value than many others and lives up to its 5-star rating. Location is excellent with easy access to South Kensington for tube and restaurants, plus some of London's best museums.

The rooms will not suit everyone though as they are very small. Everything is compact, including the bathroom and 'shub' which makes for a very tight shower and quite a lot of toe-stubbing on the drain plug due to a rather silly design.

Unless you particularly need space though, this is a great option when in London and I will happily return.

Room Tip: Top-floor rooms are nice and quiet, although even smaller than the other rooms because the roof line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WH0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, Management at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for your visit to London. We were delighted to welcome you our guest.

We are always grateful to our guests when they share their experience; however, we were disappointed to read you found your room small. A tremendous amount of work has gone in to making sure that each room is to the highest possible standard; every room is different as we are converted townhouses. Should you be returning one of our team here would be delighted to discuss your room needs to assign you a room more suitable to you.

We were pleased to read that our convenient location in leafy South Kensington, so close to public transport links and as well as all the wonderful perks of Chelsea was such benefit to you during your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#45 of 1,076 in London
3,397 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#63 of 1,076 in London
3,804 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,076 in London
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £189 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing