We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Fantastic location.”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #37 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Fantastic location.”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went to London for a birhtday weekend, and it couldn't have been better. The location is superb. In a beautiful area, within walking distance of so many restaurants, bars, museums. Even the tube is near by. The staff are extremely effecient, without being overly fussy. The room was slighly smaller than I mght have expected, but this is often the case in big City hotels. It's not a cheap option to stay in, but if you want to treat yourself to a weekend in London this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermot O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, particularly that you found our staff and our location to be so good .We hope to see you on your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,046
    525
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
510
1,135
195
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just back from a family weekend in London - Christmas shopping with the kids, attractions, etc. The Kensington - yet again - delivered........from perfect Family rooms to accomodate parents and kids, a secure/very conveniently located and luxurious base, real/healthy breakfast to start the day, excellent gym, small treats for the kids (colouring books, teddy bears, cookies & milk). The opportunity for Mum & Dad to relax in the beautiful lounge for a well earned drink after a hard day in town - beautiful :-)
This is our fifth stay at the Kensington - and we will be back.

Special recognition to George in the dining room - he couldnt have done more to make us more comfortable.

Thank you Kensington!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in this wonderful review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you and your family a very happy Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed at the kensington for a couple of nights and had a memorable stay, for starters this hotel is well located near the south kensington tube station thereby making it easier to visit all the museums and if you like shopping there is harvey nichols,harrods,knightbridge and sloane street closely by. The rooms are clean and and nice beddings to sleep on, there is a gym at the lower ground floor to keep fit and a business centre next to the lift. Breakfast was delicious coupled by great customer service from Aladdin,Jade and George who were very professional and yet friendly. I reccomend it and will stay here again.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing queens gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aislingo978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this amazing review. It is fantastic to read how our team have managed to exceed your expectations and make your stay so memorable. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

we were guests of family down from Scotland and had a wonderful stay. such a warm, friendly atmosphere, efficient service, lovely fires in ground floor lounge areas, comfortable restaurant if a little warm at breakfast, superbly comfortable beds, we could not fault it and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annette s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for writing such an amazing review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We believe all our guests need to be treated to the little things that make a difference and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wonderful staff, location, and rooms! My wife and I stayed here for a night to start a 3 week trip around Europe.

Plenty of great restaurants, bars, and shops nearby. Short walk to Hyde Park.

Concierge took great care of us. Small but nice gym downstairs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for writing such a great review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed last year for one night in a suite and loved it so much we returned for 3 nights this year, in a superior room. We were pleasantly surprised that the 'downgrade' in room actually wasn't too bad - plenty of space, nice decor (as you would expect after a 20 million refurb) and a pretty decent view over the street. We did have a few issues, I.e. no iron in the room and had to ring twice to get one sent up, the seal on the shower was broken when we arrived and was hanging loose. Instead of fixing it they pulled it right off so the shower door wouldn't stay put and there was a resulting cold draft whilst using the shower! Not what you expect in a 5* hotel! The staff are good, but could do better in my opinion. Service was slow at times even though there appeared to be many hands in deck! Although staff are polite and courteous, they lacked the warmth and welcome that you normally expect in a top london hotel. Also, I noticed that when we used the Nespresso machine in the room, we were given more refills of decaf (which we had not used) and not enough normal refills. Again, this is hardly a massive issue but I felt the standards had slipped from our previous trip maybe. Our key card also failed to work so we were locked out of our room and had to return to reception... (Annoying after a long day and you had just got to the third floor!)
The location of this hotel is fab, 5 mins from South Kensington tube and walkable museums and Hyde park, etc. The staff offer you a map if needed and the area is great - many places to eat and visit nearby. I would say DONT bother with breakfast here, you can get a breakfast which is better and cheaper very close by. However dinner was excellent on both occasions we have eaten here, and the cocktails are also top notch!
Thoroughly recommend this hotel for those that want to stay in South Kensington, there are a few niggles but we only paid half rack rate through booking on another site, and of course no one is perfect!
Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Superior is pretty spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMY89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us however I was very disappointed to read that you were not totally satisfied with every aspect of your stay. I would like to assure you that we have addressed the issues you have raised with our teams. Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are travelling to London as I would be delighted to personally assist you with your booking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great hotel with lovely common parts, beautiful rooms and friendly helpful staff. With free wifi as well, what's not to like? Location couldn't be better either with Piccadilly & Circle/District line trains 5 mins walk away. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sierra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,067 in London
3,176 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,132 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Doyle Collection, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing