We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with great staff.”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #32 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Kensington Hotelfrom 28 - 31 December 2013. The hotel is situated in a great location and has lots of good restaurants nearby. It's close to the Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum and Science Museum. Or if you enjoy posh shopping, it's near to Harrod's and Harvey Nichols.

My friend bought us a Mr and Mrs Smith hotel voucher for our wedding present and we used this to stay here. I emailed the hotel to let them know that our stay was part of our honeymoon. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff and they upgraded us and gave us complimentary champagne.

Our room was on the top floor and had a very comfortable four posted bed. The room and bathroom were lovely - they even put rose petals on the bed! The room was a good size for London hotels.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but the afternoon tea looked good! We instead ate out at some lovely local restaurants. There's such a variety of places to eat on your doorstep. We found a great little pub call the Queen's Arms on Queens Gate Mews - this was tucked away from the main drag and served good food and drinks.

When we went back to the hotel we treated ourselves to champagne. Jimmy served us and he was such a lovely chap - I said that I'd mention him in my review. We sat in the lounge, where there are huge comfy sofas and a big real fire - very relaxing.

The location, staff and decor really made this hotel stand out for me. I have stayed in numerous hotels in London and can honestly say that this was my favourite. The staff were very friendly, but not over bearing.

We will definitely be staying at The Kensington Hotel again. Thanks for a wonderful stay and the upgrade - we really appreciated it!
Claire Pawson

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missymarsbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Mrs Pawson, thank you for posting such a lovely review and we were delighted that we could help make your honeymoon treat so memorable. We are delighted to be a Mr & Mrs Smith hotel and thank you for choosing us for your stay in London. It was great to hear that Jimmy was able to look after you so well and thank you for taking the time to recognise him. We all look forward to welcoming you back and congratulations on your recent wedding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Kensington hotel in London really knows how to treat a guest, they have top facilities and high quality rooms. We felt it was worth the price we paid for and we received a good service from everyone. plus the sleep quality is great. we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. It is always great to hear when we exceed expectations as the comfort and enjoyment of our guest is of utmost importance to us. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My patner and myself enjoyed our afternoon tea here, the service is very good and staff are smiling. This was my first tea here and I was wowed by their afternoon tea. The hotel is also very nice with good seats and a fire place. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pollygiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your first visit to the hotel and thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We all look forward to to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I highly recommend this hotel because the staff are so fantastic. Particularly George, who is always so happy, polite and attentive. The atmosphere in the hotel is great, and I will be coming back often!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank londoner115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and thank for recommending the staff and in particular George. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

George who works in the bar of the Kensington hotel is simply the dream! His energy and enthusiasm brighten up your day. I would stay here again if only to see his smiling face every morning. Every hotel needs someone like George. A true asset and a reason to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ldec86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous review about George. It is always great to read when one of us is able to make such a positive impression and I know George was delighted to help make your stay so memorable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are back in London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is a perfectly maintained hotel with new facilities such as their large screen apple computers to browse the internet, a sophisticated gym on the lower ground floor with modern training facilities amongst others. The hotel is also linked to nearby museums (science, natural history and Victoria and Albert museum) if you like history, the staff are very polite and friendly and kensington hotel serves one of the best afternoon teas in London. would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

I was delighted to read that you find the hotel perfect for business stays and so pleased that you were able to make use of all our facilities including the gym. I also agree that our afternoon tea is very special relaxing by the fireplace in the drawing room. We all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in our neighbourhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The second time we stay at this hotel. here very comfortable and warm, homely atmosphere and very helpful and friendly staff like George, Aladdin and segolene who were very helpful we will comeback after going home to Russia,

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronicaron08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ms-Beccy-Gunn, General Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for posting such a lovely review and we were delighted to welcome you back to the hotel again. It is always great to hear when we continue to meet and indeed exceed expectations and thank you for recognising George, Aladdin and Segolene who were all pleased to help make your stay so enjoyable. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are back in London from Russia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,456 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,346 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,848 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £180 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Doyle Collection, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing