We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I love this hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great area of London. Though I only stayed at the hotel for one night, I was able to see all the tourist areas in London on a morning run. The reception was very nice. The person that checked me in, was very polite and nice. He put me in what he said was one of the larger room, though there was not a view. They also helped me to plan my run for the next morning, all of the staff was there to help me with it. The room was very nice and very clean. The rooms are small, but you need to expect this when you are staying in one of the most expensive cities in the world.

Though I spent little time at this hotel, I thought that the hotel and staff were great and I would highly recommend this to anyone staying in London.

Room Tip: There is a little bakery around the corner that serves very nice raisin studded buns in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review following your short stay with us. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed al our facilities and particularly that you found our staff so friendly and helpful. I am so pleased you had the opportunity to try out our running map, you will have passed by some of the best places in London, I love Hyde Park in the morning its a great start to the day and great way to see the sights. We have shared your kind comments with our team and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,121
    536
    119
    30
    14
See reviews for
541
1,163
201
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As a frequent international traveller we were very pleased with the excellent and human service of the waiter George when we took our "classical "afternoon tea with all the family.

We can recommend it very strongly.

A Paris based family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johannes R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed our afternoon tea and I have passed your comments onto George who was delighted to look after you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We took our 9 year old daughter to enjoy afternoon tea at this hotel and she loved the long British tradition, the afternoon began with a pot of tea for me and my wife and for our daughter she had a glass of lemonade, when the sandwiches came we didn’t expect such a huge amount we had a selection of five ingredients with brown and white bread, our daughters favorite was the honey roasted ham with brown bread, After a short period of time the teapots were brought back, Both teapots were warm and a very strong aroma from the leaves it’s like coming out of a brewery . The whole afternoon went exquisitely well and George our server was an expert at his job and made the afternoon a very delightful experience for our daughter mostly. “Thank you”

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yohan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Afternoon Tea experience in this amazing review. It is fantastic to read how our team have managed to exceed your expectations and make your visit so memorable. Next time you are in the neighbourhood with your daughter maybe you will have the time to join us for our children’s afternoon tea and be entertained by our fantastic storyteller from the National Youth Theatre. George and all our team hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your family back to The Kensington Hotel again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great staff and service, largest gym of any London hotel I know, and Scandinavian breakfast. only hotel that could make me beark up with claridges. George in lobby was best server in recent memory, great unrushed service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYerInLondon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for writing such an amazing review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We believe all our guests need to be treated to the little things that make a difference and George just loves to make all our guests feel very special. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

A gem of a place situated in the heart of kensington. The location is simply great as all the interesting places are nearby. It's one hotel that has a very personal feel to it and the staff are super welcoming and will accommodate all requests from the front desk staff, as well as the staff serving breakfast mostly George and Olga.
Thank you to all the staff on the service provided.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
We are thrilled to read that you had such a good experience with us and thank you for posting this wonderful review following your stay. Your personal recommendation means a lot to us we are very grateful for your support. It was a pleasure to look after you and both George and Olga are delighted that they managed to make you feel so special. Thank you for choosing the Kensington Hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel gave us an upscale London experience while sightseeing for leisure, such a lasting and memorable experience to remember, we have been immersed in this gorgeous hotel, The service from the staff is superbly flawless as in my years of touring places never have I been offered a drink without asking and as it turn out to be just what I wanted for the time, the waiter (George)at the lounge read my mind and wowed me brilliantly, and he remembers my name which is an absolute plus in terms of quality service, also all of the staff members here are attentive, professional and flawless , the cocktail bartender was concocting martini and vodka cocktails at the Aubrey bar and cappuccino with chocolate on top to form an art which matches the hotel logo and delicious too. Plenty of red, white and rose wines from their long wine list menu and afternoon tea cakes all this can be enjoyed in a sparkling clean and utterly luxurious lounge, the Kensington hotel is one of the best in its 5 class service. If you are passionate about art, history and science then south Kensington is the place to be you’ll visit the science museum, natural history museum and the royal Albert hall, Victorian and Albert museum. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wjoeest3z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
It was such a pleasure to read your brilliant review, George is a great ambassador for our team; he absolutely loves to say yes to our guests and will be over the moon when I share your very kind comments with him. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel so much and the local area, South Kensington is such a hidden gem , as you mentioned it offers the best museums and galleries, great shopping and world of food experiences all in a stylish and relaxed area of West London. We hope it wont be long until your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and we cannot fault it, a wonderful location on brompton road with excellent and easy access to the stores and museums.
the main big attractions in this location are (natural history museum, royal albert hall, science museum, hyde park and Harrods, the extras are the fine cuisines just 5 minutes walk like japanese, italian and european. The rooms are dazzling and clean,beds were comfy. The personalised service is impeccable from the waiters, receptionists and the concierge is truly outstanding and I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttry7898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank so very much for your you comments . We are very pleased to have created such fabulous memories for you. It is such a pleasure to read how our team’s attentiveness and personal service particularly stood out for you. We are also delighted to know that you found our location to be so great also and hope it wont be long until you come and visit us again in The Kensington Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,069 in London
3,276 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,728 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Doyle Collection, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing