We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“classy and luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #35 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“classy and luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed here for a short weekend the hotel has a private club/ town house from the outside but as you go inside it’s perfectly comfortable, the luxurious lobby was great for coffee and a morning newspaper , the easiest connection to all the museums and shops, so my tip is that you explore all the museums before going down to Harrods , and to add cherry on the cake is the great service from the likes of George and his colleagues who were all very helpful, the front desk is available every time there was some issue or doubt! A very comfortable hotel and our stay was as great as we had expected it would be, in conclusion, "I would definitely recommend this hotel highly"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Kensington Hotel
It was a pleasure to look after you and we are delighted you enjoyed our location, the welcome, warmth and service from our staff, in particular the wonderful George, who is a true ambassador for our team Thankyou for taking the time to write about us and for your personal recommendation, this means a lot to us. We hope it wont be long before we can welcome you back to your London home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,965
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
490
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel was spotless and comfortable and exceptionally luxurious and they make their guests feel welcome right from the entering the door, The location of this hotel in south Kensington is really convenient (5 minutes from the tube station), and I’ll be recommending this hotel to anyone wishing to spend some time in the London area. Excellent communication whenever you need assistance y quick ranging from a bucket of ice to directions around. George was gracious, friendly and very good at his job,also most staff are multi lingual with european languages such as French,Spanish and german , Overall, a perfect experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vancoo8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
It was such a pleasure to read your brilliant review, George is a great ambassador for our team; he absolutely loves to say yes to our guests and will be over the moon when I share your very kind comments with him. We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel so much and the local area, South Kensington is such a hidden gem , as you mentioned it offers the best museums and galleries, great shopping and world of food experiences all in a stylish and relaxed area of West London. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at the Kensington & everything went really smooth during our stay (booking, check-in and check-out). We really enjoyed our stay at the very nice London town house located inside the lovely south Kensington. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom clean with luxurious amenities. We loved the neighborhood and the location's proximity to public transit. Thanks to all your lovely staff and to Alessandro for mixing the best cocktails in the evenings

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bostonstrong14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all and we are delighted to know that you liked our rooms so much. Your personal recommendation means a lot and we are very grateful for your support. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The accommodations are of a five-star hotel, the location is prime, a short walk to Harrods and Chelsea in west London, and it makes for a delightful stay. Staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating from making the reservation to serving the best meal,drinks and company especially George at the breakfast, This hotel is provides guests with everything they could possibly need, the location is excellent and secure, It was the perfect place anyone to stay, and we will recommend it highly to others. You really cannot go wrong with this hotel and we’ll definitely come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edgar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. It is always wonderful to read when our team have exceeded our guest’s expectations. I have shared your comments with our team , they were delighted that they were able to make your stay so memorable. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Kensington Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Alessandro the bar manager and George were the greatest host that i have ever encountered they were really welcoming and made me feel at home. The booking and check-in process was smooth and flawless. The room was perfect, exactly like the photographs. It was very clean and had a great view of queen’s gate the hotel is within walking distance of all of the great places to visit in London and no more than a 3 minute walk to south Kensington station. I would highly recommend this room to couples and solo travelers.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magic9ners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you! What an amazing review and fantastic Kensington experience.
We were thrilled to read about how much you enjoyed your stay from start to finish and particularly pleased to know that you found our service to be so excellent. To know that you felt truly at home and cared for is incredibly motivating for all of us here. George, Alessandro and all our team look forward to welcoming you back to you London home again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I totally enjoyed staying at The Kensington Hotel, the location is very good, the staff is helpful , food delicious, the hotel's coziness and comfort makes a guest's stay a pleasure.
I am very satisfied with the service and recommend the hotel to all who plan to stay in the centre of London.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TikaMumladze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all and we are delighted to know that you liked our chefs creations so much. Your personal recommendation means a lot and we are very grateful for your support. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

This is my first time checking into this hotel. Was very pleasantly surprised by the setting, cleanliness and coziness of this hotel. Do not let the simplicity of the exterior of this hotel fool you. The staffs are very friendly and quite humorous at times. A special mention should go to the restaurant staffs during breakfast time. They really make you feel at home. And the free chocolates that come with the weather report leaflet every night adds a nice touch to the already pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank Paramalingam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our team who all hope this will be the first of many stays here at The Kensington Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#35 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Doyle Collection and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing