We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High tea in a private mansion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High tea in a private mansion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

On my mums birthday we went to have tea at the kensington hotel/ private mansion because of the looks inside, it was a fantastic experience in one of the few hotels which provide this level of value. Saorise is amazing and a great server, we are no.1 fan of this fantastic hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank francis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion and for taking the time to write about your experience. It is wonderful to know that Saoirse and our team were able to create such fabulous memories for you and your Mum. We all hope that next time you are in our neighbourhood; you will have the time to come and dine in our beautiful Aubrey restaurant or indeed stay with us here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,962
    511
    113
    29
    13
See reviews for
487
1,085
191
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

my parents came over to visit me and we had a blast together at this fantastic irish hotel which is part of the doyle collection group of hotels Staff are the greatest asset in this hotel with especially saoirse,George and another italian girl in the lounge dining area. we all had a great time had a great time and well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aiden r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your parents visit to London, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you. It is fabulous to read such wonderful praise for our staff, especially for George and Saoirse. We are delighted that you had such a great time staying with us and we all hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

This warm and comfortable hotel has everything you would need for your stay from morning newspapers to free wireless internet. We stayed here on our last London visit but this hotel was a home away from home for us. It’s centrally located and reasonably Quiet Street. Walking distance from many attractions and also subway stations are only five minutes away. Thanks to all your staff for being great and also for storing our luggage as our flight home was late in the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel. It is incredibly motivating for all of the staff at the hotel to read such a wonderful review. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a brilliant hotel to come home to - quiet and peaceful. The hotel is incredible and the beds are lusciously comfortable after roaming the city.Concierge have a brilliant list of cafes, restaurants, and bars in the neighbourhood – even with a map to each. at the western end of the street is for all your food needs and We would stay here again without a moment’s hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jake d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you. We are very grateful that you took the time to write such a fantastic review. It is fabulous to read that you found our beds to be perfect for relaxing in after a long day of roaming around London. It is always a pleasure to hear your desire to return to us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I loved staying at this hotel The room was great, spacious with lots of light. The hotel is adorable and in the cutest neighborhood in south kensington. If you're exploring the london you really can’t beat this location- its in the center of everything!
Saorise was awesome!. This is my first time in this hotel and so I was skeptical going in but I got so lucky having Saoirse as a hostess. She was so welcoming and easy to talk to. I felt so much at home and comfortable. I had such a positive experience. I would stay here again in a second.re

Room Tip: great service ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of your recent stay with us, we are truly grateful for your feedback. We are all delighted to read that your experience with us was so positive and it is always a pleasure to read such wonderful praise for our staff, Saoirse will be delighted to read such kind words. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I ahve experienced this hotel for a 3 days business trip in London and it has been a very good experience.
Quiet Classy and elegant hotel in the South Kensigton area.
VEry good Atmosphere... felling like at home!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Pier Luigi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you during your business trip. It is fantastic to read such a wonderful review of the hotel and that you found the hotel to have a homely atmosphere. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

MEMORY OF A LIFE TIME
My friend and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights. The hotel was great, especially the fact that there were plenty of sights to see. The hotel was clean and tidy and when we arrived there were plenty of towels and blankets for all of us. The breakfast in the morning is at the ground floor and has everything you need to keep you energetic and healthy. The location is great as it is a very short walk (5min or less) to south Kensington station which is a major tube stop, and It is also a leisurely walk down to the museum, and there are a lot of restaurants down on Brompton road, I Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Freya3van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you and your friend. It is fantastic to read that our breakfast was a great way to start you day off. We were all delighted to read that you would recommend the hotel to others and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#122 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Doyle Collection and Priceline so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing