We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could have opened both wardrobe doors it would have been a 5*”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #36 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If I could have opened both wardrobe doors it would have been a 5*”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I have been privileged to stay at quite a few 5 star hotels thanks to my job, however too often they are high in standards of decor, food and prices but average in warm welcoming service. This hotel should have a very special award for its staff. Whether at reception, the concierge desk, the bar, restaurant or housekeeping all of the staff seem to genuinely enjoy talking with and serving their guests.
My only gripe was the aforementioned wardrobe. I was astonished that in a hotel of this standard that due to the room size and the bed that I could only open one of the doors on my wardrobe.....to be frank it was a bit of a pain. I didn't complain as I literally only slept in my room as I had a packed social calendar but if I return I will be sure to ask for a room where I can open both doors of my wardrobe!

Room Tip: Avoid room 129 if you like to access your wardrobe and if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CazzaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of The Kensington Hotel.
All of our team are very proud to know that you would like to nominate them for” a very special award”; this is very kind of you and extremely motivating for all of us. We are very blessed to have a great team who love to say “yes” and genuinely care for all of our guests. In relation to the issue you encountered in your bedroom I would like to assure you that this matter has been addressed. Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle. andrea_doyle@doylecollection.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,084
    528
    118
    30
    14
See reviews for
522
1,152
197
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here with my mum after booking it on secaret escapes and we loved it. The hotel is so classy and perfectly located 5 minutes from the tube in zone1. We had a great weekend and having such a lovely hotel as a base really added something special. We were a little disapointed with the room as we had paid for an upgrade - dread to think what it would have like without one. The bed was comfy and the room was nicely decorated. Nothing too fancy about it. The staff at the hotel were amazing and offered us guidence and a free bottle of water everytime we left the hotel. We were then greated by name asnd asked how our day had been (they remebered what we had planned to do). If the hotel was on offer again we would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at The Kensington. We are so pleased that you have found us now. South Kensington is such a hidden gem, not only is it very well connected for travelling into the city but it also offers a great shopping, the best museums and art galleries and all in a elegant village style only 5 minutes walk from Knightsbridge. Thank you also for you kind words about our service and team, we are genuinely very proud of each one of them. We hope to have the opertunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I, and our little 2 1/2 year old son, stayed here for the weekend in January and had a fabulous time. This hotel is a shooting star - a very special place to stay right in the heart of beautiful Kensington. From the moment we arrived, to the time we left, we felt truly at home - with added comfort and good sense of style and decor. The room was spotless - but what makes this place stand out from the crowd of other luxury hotels is the staff. They were sincere, friendly and not least, very efficient - able to resolve any issue - big or small in no time and alway with a smile. The concierges have to be some of the best in London and this meant that our precious time was perfectly spent. When did you last stay at a hotel where you felt that your custom was highly appreciated and people were working hard to make you feel in heaven? We will come back to this little gem again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polyhymnia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you very much; this is a very beautiful review.
To know that you felt “truly at home” here at The Kensington Hotel has delighted all of us as this is exactly what we strive to achieve for our guests. You have really made our concierge teams day with you kind words and they are very proud to be given the title of “the best in London”. To know that you thought so highly of our hotel, our team and our service in particular is incredibly motivating for us all and we are also delighted to know that you liked our rooms so much. Having Your personal recommendation means a lot and we are very grateful for your support. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to your London home again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

On my mums birthday we went to have tea at the kensington hotel/ private mansion because of the looks inside, it was a fantastic experience in one of the few hotels which provide this level of value. Saorise is amazing and a great server, we are no.1 fan of this fantastic hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank francis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion and for taking the time to write about your experience. It is wonderful to know that Saoirse and our team were able to create such fabulous memories for you and your Mum. We all hope that next time you are in our neighbourhood; you will have the time to come and dine in our beautiful Aubrey restaurant or indeed stay with us here at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

my parents came over to visit me and we had a blast together at this fantastic irish hotel which is part of the doyle collection group of hotels Staff are the greatest asset in this hotel with especially saoirse,George and another italian girl in the lounge dining area. we all had a great time had a great time and well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aiden r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your parents visit to London, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you. It is fabulous to read such wonderful praise for our staff, especially for George and Saoirse. We are delighted that you had such a great time staying with us and we all hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This warm and comfortable hotel has everything you would need for your stay from morning newspapers to free wireless internet. We stayed here on our last London visit but this hotel was a home away from home for us. It’s centrally located and reasonably Quiet Street. Walking distance from many attractions and also subway stations are only five minutes away. Thanks to all your staff for being great and also for storing our luggage as our flight home was late in the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel. It is incredibly motivating for all of the staff at the hotel to read such a wonderful review. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

What a brilliant hotel to come home to - quiet and peaceful. The hotel is incredible and the beds are lusciously comfortable after roaming the city.Concierge have a brilliant list of cafes, restaurants, and bars in the neighbourhood – even with a map to each. at the western end of the street is for all your food needs and We would stay here again without a moment’s hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jake d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Kensington Hotel, it was a pleasure to have been able to look after you. We are very grateful that you took the time to write such a fantastic review. It is fabulous to read that you found our beds to be perfect for relaxing in after a long day of roaming around London. It is always a pleasure to hear your desire to return to us and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
3,236 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,069 in London
3,698 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,069 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,177 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing