We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really exciting hotel”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #37 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“A really exciting hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

it’s a great place to stay both for short and long trip. It is a family friendly hotel plus it has everything you need and it is very comfortable and convenient. The hotel is very secure & without keycards you cannot access the doors
It is situated in a nice neighbourhood with shops all around,Oh, and for those who love clubbing, downstairs in the same neighbourhood, there is one of the hottest clubs called the buji’s club which regularly hosts famous DJs and as well as celebrities.
All in all a great place to stay and if I came back to London I wouldn't want to be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonn174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,050
    525
    116
    30
    14
See reviews for
510
1,137
196
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is on one of the best streets in the south Kensington City. Lots of hip shops and sophisticated restaurants just minutes away.
-Quiet location; almost forget you are in a huge city
-Cool view from the windows
-Good Internet connection
-Adequately furnished for our needs
-Good for families with kids
-Nice refrigerator
The service from the staff is brilliant and they exceed your expectation, overall this a hotel /home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off - location. It's only about a 5-minute walk from the South Kensington tube station, and along the way there are lots of restaurants and bakeries. What I enjoyed about the area is that one almost feels like going back to a neighborhood, with small independent shops, instead of being in a commercial area.
Rooms - okay, they are small, but the decor is nice and the place is well-maintained. I've stayed there twice and even being only on the 2nd floor it was always quiet at night.
Service - Concierge and front desk are helpful and pleasant.

That's why I titled this 'a good, solid choice' - you won't find much to quip about, but it also isn't a big 'wow' hotel. I definitely would go back again because I find it reliable and consistent in both stays.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanSuprecian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we have nothing negative to say about this hotel ! we stayed only 2 nights in London :( ….but this hotel helped our stay to be very enjoyable…We totally enjoyed London & the Kensington hotel….also think the location is excellent


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a fantastic time here we felt like we could really make ourselves feel 'at home' with use of the lobby, gym. it was nice to look outside each morning to see the fresh blue skies for the day ahead. The bed was comfortable and nice linen was soft. There was plenty of space to hang clothes and some space for suitcase. We enjoyed the Irish welcome and staff gave us some good local drinking and dining recommendations. The hotel also was very kind to leave a surprise fruits and chocolates. The local area is absolutely fabulous – Old brompton street is part of the thriving south Kensington and also has great bars and restaurants meaning you could easily get back after a late night. The hotel is also close to two different subway stations. Despite this, the hotel was very quiet and we always slept well. We would definitely consider staying here again for our next visit to London! Thanks for your great Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippatrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The staff is very helpful and welcomed us with face towels since we had just landed from a very long trip. Felt great! The concierges are the best and most helpful!!!! The room and the bathroom were quite small but I loved the Aromatherapy products! The location is quiet and close to the tube and wonderful restaurants and attractions. Close to several museums, Kensington Park and Royal Albert Hall (all must sees). All in all it's a very elegant hotel with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tili49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was a terrific place to stay we had a wonderful time! The hotel was clean, stylish and very conveniently located, was very nice, room and bathroom was clean and marbled. Sylvia, George and other staff were helpful, friendly. I would definitely recommend this posting to my friends and family and I would also come back here myself whenever visiting england.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sabrenas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
3,179 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,067 in London
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,134 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Property: The Kensington
Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing