We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gran place with nice staff”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #33 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

wonderful location, boutique hotel, bit pricy, very nice staff, tasty breakfast in stylish room around fireplace. I ve been redirected here from Melia White House Hotel because of booking system error and found out this hotel is beautiful but not worth the money for me as they charge 320 GBP per room. However I enjoyed the stay here

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Vondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so please to know how much you enjoyed staying with us. Here at The Kensington Hotel we have a range of different room types, the next time your travelling to London please feel free to contact me directly as I am sure I will be able to find a room category to suite your budget. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Kensington, and what a stay we had! Great hotel - elegant and classy hotel which felt like home from the moment we arrived. Warm and cosy atmosphere throughout. The staff are EXCELLENT! Very friendly, warm, genuine, helpful, so service minded. Martyn, George and Elisa deserve a special mention. They made our stay so memorable! I can't fault the hotel one bit, and I've stayed at many hotels! Very comfortable bed and the little extras that came with the turndown service was a very nice touch. Great location near the underground and close to many restaurants and shops. Fantastic breakfast and the afternoon tea was great too. Don't miss the eggs royale for breakfast and the scones are homemade and really delicious! I highly recommend this hotel , and would stay here again on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tdstay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you, thank you, thank you! What an amazing review. Our team are over the moon with your comments and the chef is delighted to know that you found our breakfast to be "fantastic".
I hope that on your next visit to London I will have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
We all look forward to your next visit to The Kensington Hotel. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a secret hotel deal on Last Minute and was very happy when the hotel name was revealed as the location was perfect for the weekend in London. From the moment of check in I knew this hotel was going to be a delight, the staff were friendly and very professional and check in was a delight. The rooms were great, not the biggest rooms I have had in London but everything you need and were clean and well kept. I did not have breakfast but the bar area was very comfortable and as I meet friends there was perfect as was quite and impressive with the decor. Internet was free as I had booked an executive room and was fast and reliable again not always the norm. I loved staying here and hope to again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go2mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Kensington Hotel with all of our Trip Advisor friends. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, particularly that you found our location so great and our staff to be so attentive. I hope it wont be long until you come and see us again.
Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Had a wonderful two nights stay at this hotel. Fantastic room. Amazingly comfortable bed. Really high quality toiletries. Turn down service in the evening and nice touch of a chocolate mint on the pillow. Superb service. Great breakfasts. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. All in all a wonderful experience. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 229!fabtastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We were delighted to receive such wonderful feedback .We hope you will stay longer too on your next visit to your London home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Quality hotel in desirable location. The rooms were reasonable size and adequate bathroom with shower. The service was exceptionable. Good location close to underground, Kensington gardens, and museums and a 20 minute walk to Herrod's.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rkrhld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Kensington Hotel for the third leg of our anniversary trip to Europe. The staff were exceptionally friendly. I was well rested every night with no comfort or noise issues. Breakfast was absolutely delicious every day. The afternoon tea service is a must! Great way to relax and recharge after travelling.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

What an amazing review, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing The Kensington Hotel for such a special occasion. It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your comments with our team and they were all very proud and are all looking forward to welcoming you back to your London home.
Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just spent two nights at this hotel and I must say the staff are super. Special mention to the porter who supplied cold bottles of water following our morning run. Nice touch. Reception staff were also excellent. Internet worked without the usual fuss fo some hotels. Room was clean as you would expect.. Coffee machine, nice bed linen and a comfortable bed. Our room 521 was very small and more like a single room than a double which was disappointing. The neighborhood is great for restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Also very convenient to the tube for District and Piccadilly line so a good spot to stay for getting around. Didn't eat there so can't comment.

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice_J37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for writing such a great review following your recent visit. We are so pleased to have exceeded your expectations. I have passed your comments onto our team who were delighted to look after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
3,393 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#62 of 1,076 in London
3,799 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,076 in London
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Family Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £188 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Doyle Collection, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing