We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kensington
Ranked #30 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I was staying here on business and was blown away by how GENUINELY nice the staff were. Not a "have-a-nice-day-sir" style nice, but a real, friendly and helpful bunch of people. Especially the restaurant staff, made me feel very at home. What with an awesomely comfortable bed, a real coffee machine in the room and great air con, this was one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've ever experienced.

If you're visiting London, don't even think about staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms are gorgeous and comfortable - but very small. If you need space, ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,655 - 1,661 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We loved the Kensington, stylish hotel, fabulous location, easy walking distance to the tube and many attractions of London. Rooms and bathroom not overly large but beautifully appointed with lovely furnishings and amenities. Nespresso machine in room was a lovely touch. We loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Kylie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We used this as a base to visit several museums and exhibitions in Kensington and it was a good experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was good and the room was small but comfortable. I wouldn't have called it a 'Superior Room' myself but I don't suppose a hotel is going to describe rooms as "Nice but with an iffy view Room".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pmforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our travel agent arranged for our stay at the Kensington Hotel. (Our paperwork had it as the Doyle Kensington for some reason.) We had an issue with noise from the air conditioner in the room to which we were assigned. After the maintenance man was unable to fix the problem, we were moved to another room. The staff was wonderful in making certain that we were satisfied. The rooms are small but nice. There are great options for breakfast and it is served in a very attractive setting. The location is close to Kensington Palace and Gardens, good restaurants, and the underground train. The concierge was most helpful as well. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stew6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

If staying here, you will not be disappointed. Stayed in London a couple times now and have got to say this was the best for overall location (lovely area), location of underground (easy to get to most areas from South Kensingston station) and general quality of the hotel. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Kensington Hotel is beautiful. The service is top notch and the location is terrific for getting around London. Plus the Concierge Staff were wonderful at helping us figure out where we needed to go and even finding us tickets for the theatre our last night in town. Also, the buffet breakfast is very good. My only complaint is that the room was really small. Basically it fit the bed and that was all. There wasn't a dresser so I couldn't unpack my clothes. I put my suitcase in the closet below our hanging stuff while my husbands was in the room next to the bed. However, to end on a positive note: the bed was super comfortable and the linens lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room. Ours was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeanineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed staying with us. Vincent and his Concierge team were over the moon with your lovely comments, we are indeed very lucky to have such a great bunch of guys and it makes such a difference to have some local knowledge. Here at The Kensington Hotel we have a range of different room types, the next time your travelling to London please feel free to contact me directly as I am sure I will be able to find a room category to suite your budget. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Andrea Doyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Unlike other reviewers, I didn't comment to reception on the size of the room we were given and I rather wish we had, as it did spoil what otherwise would have been an outstanding experience. The room was very comfy and well appointed but only just big enough to get between the wardrobe and the bed. Annoyed at myself really for being so British about it. If you're given room 333 I hope that you speak your mind and try your luck at getting moved. The evening bar was lovely, the staff delightful and breakfast was perfect.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ESilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea D, Manager at The Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted that you enjoyed our stay with us, particularly that you found our team "delightful”. It was disappointing to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your bedroom room .Please feel free to contact me directly the time you are travelling to London as I would personally like to look after your booking for you. Once again many thanks for your kind comments and your recommendation, this means a lot to us and we look forward to welcoming you to The Kensington Hotel again soon. Kind Regards,
Andrea Doyle andrea_doyle@doylecollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,077 in London
3,490 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#51 of 1,077 in London
3,299 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#15 of 1,077 in London
3,368 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kensington

Address: 109 - 113 Queen's Gate, London SW7 5LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in London
#23 Family Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
#50 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £173 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kensington 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in leafy South Kensington and just moments from Knightsbridge, Hyde Park and Sloane Square, The Kensington offers 150 unique and stylish guestrooms and suites. London's largest townhouse suite (approx 2,000 sq ft), roll top baths and four-poster beds are truly befitting of this Regency quarter. The Town House bar & restaurant and a magnificent lounge area comprised of period drawing rooms offer a traditional but contemporary setting for afternoon tea, lunch or evening dinners. Our guestrooms are individually decorated in an elegant townhouse style, using sumptuous fabrics, deep upholstery and an eclectic mix of contemporary art and furnishings. The atmosphere is relaxed throughout, with the engaging and innovative service creating the ambiance of a smart private members club. All rooms include flat screen TVs, air conditioning, luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products, Nespresso coffee machines and complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Doyle Collection, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing